Contact Department of English

Coronavirus (COVID-19) Response

During the worldwide outbreak of COVID-19, our priority remains the health and safety of NIU study abroad students. Our physical offices remain closed during the fall 2020 semester, but office staff will be working remotely and will address questions and queries as quickly as possible.

Please consult the following directory to best direct your questions. If you do not find an appropriate contact, please email askenglish@niu.edu with your questions.

General Department Mailing Address
     Department of English
     Northern Illinois University
     Dekalb IL 60115

Department Office, Reavis 215
Phone: 815-753-0611
Fax: 815-753-0606


Department

Department Chair, Lara Crowley
Reavis Hall 216B 
815-753-0615
lcrowley@niu.edu

Email us your questions! askEnglish@niu.edu


Graduate Studies

Director, Scott Balcerzak
Reavis Hall 215A 
815-753-6602
sbalcerzak@niu.edu

Office Support Specialist, Dawn Sibley
Reavis Hall 215 
815-753-1608
dsibley@niu.edu

Job Placement Advisor, Tim Ryan
Zulaf Hall 1006 
tryan@niu.edu  


Undergraduate Studies Program   

Director, Melissa Adams-Campbell
Reavis Hall 214B 
815-753-6601
madamscampbell@niu.edu

Office Support Specialist, Dawn Sibley
Reavis Hall 215 
815-753-1608
dsibley@niu.edu

Advising
Book your virtual advising appointment


First Year Composition Program   

Director, Michael Day
Reavis Hall 215B 
815-753-6603    
mday@niu.edu

Office Support Specialist, Dawn Galbreath 
Reavis Hall 215 
815-753-1607
dgalbreath@niu.edu

 

Who to Contact

Undergraduate

Graduate

First-Year Composition

  • Questions related to a First-Year Composition course (ENGL 102, 103, 103P, 203, or 204)? Email Dawn Galbreath at dgalbreath@niu.edu.
  • Questions related to the Writer’s Workshop? Email Rosalind Bowers at rbowers@niu.edu

English as a Second Language (ESL) Center

Questions related to the ESL Center or ESL courses? Email Patricia Rickett at prickett@niu.edu.

Other Inquiries

  • Want to schedule a virtual meeting with someone? Locate that person's email in our directory and email them directly to schedule a mutually convenient time. 
  • Questions about another matter? Not sure whom to contact? Email askenglish@niu.edu or call 815-753-0612.