Department Directory

Faculty

Name Area Title Email Phone Office
Shannon Becker French Assistant Professor sbecker@niu.edu WH 115
John Bentley Japanese Professor and Chair jbentley1@niu.edu 815-753-1259 WH 111
Dennis Brain German Associate Professor dbrain@niu.edu 815-753-6445 WH 308
Jessamine Cooke-Plagwitz German and FL Tech Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies jpcooke@niu.edu 815-753-6448 WH 118
Mandy Faretta-Stutenberg Spanish Linguistics Assistant Professor and Director of Basic Language Program mfs@niu.edu 815-753-8396 WH 117
Frances Jaeger Spanish Associate Professor fjaeger@niu.edu WH 311
Joanna Kot Russian Professor jkot@niu.edu 815-753-6460 WH 312
Karen Lichtman Spanish Linguistics and Educator Licensure Associate Professor klichtman@niu.edu 815-753-6443 WH 112
Linda Saborío Spanish Associate Professor and Assistant Chair lsaborio@niu.edu 815-753-6441 AL 120
Matthew Smith French Assistant Professor msmith6@niu.edu 815-753-6462 WH 314
Francisco Solares-Larrave Spanish Associate Professor fsolares@niu.edu WH 311
Tharaphi Than Burmese Associate Professor tthan@niu.edu 815-753-6453 WH 122
Kanjana Thepboriruk Thai Assistant Professor kanjana@niu.edu 815-753-6535 WH 335
Laura Vilardell Spanish Assistant Professor lvilardell@niu.edu  WH 119
Stephen Vilaseca Spanish Associate Professor svilaseca@niu.edu 815-753-6463 WH 315

Instructors

Name Area Email Phone Office
Lucinda Alwa Classics lalwa@niu.edu 815-753-6464 WH 316
Rahmi Aoyama Indonesian rhartati1@niu.edu 815-753-6450 WH 119
Emilio Aviles-Casquet Spanish eaviles@niu.edu WH 313
Andrea Botero-Moriarty Spanish aboteromoriarty@niu.edu
James Byrd Spanish jbyrd@niu.edu WH 313
Lady Cohen Spanish lcohen2@niu.edu WH 309
Debra Currere Spanish dcurrere@niu.edu 815-753-6918 WH 301
Rhodalyne Gallo-Crail Tagalog rgallocrail@niu.edu 815-753-6457 WH 309
Taylor Hartman ASL thartman3@niu.edu WH 340
Emily Knudson-Vilaseca Portuguese eknudsonvilaseca@niu.edu 815-753-6450 WH 119
Kathy Kuschman Educator Licensure Assistant Coordinator kkuschman@niu.edu 815-753-6449 WH 112
Kheang Leang Khmer kleang1@niu.edu 815-753-6458 WH 310
Candace Medina Spanish cmedina@niu.edu 815-753-6464 WH 316
Dawn Rogodzinski-Lisa Spanish drogi@niu.edu 815-753-6918 WH 301
Lanhui Zhang Ryder Chinese lryder@niu.edu 815-753-6458 WH 310
Misato Sekita Japanese msekita@niu.edu WH 123
Laura Steele Classics lsteele@niu.edu WH 316
Friedemann Stuebing German fstuebing@niu.edu WH 123
Emily Teising French eteising@niu.edu WH 310
Dawn Westhoff ASL dwesthoff1@niu.edu WH 340

Teaching and Graduate Assistants

Name Area Title Email Office
Reza Fahlevi Indonesian Fulbright Teaching Assistant z1861250@students.niu.edu ZH 620/622
Claudia Matz Spanish Teaching Assistant csaucedo2@niu.edu DU 137
Edgar Morales-Villagrana Spanish Teaching Assistant emoralesvillagrana1@niu.edu DU 137
Fortunata Msilu Swahili Teaching Assistant fmsilu1@niu.edu DU 137
Lia Sanchez Spanish Teaching Assistant lsanchez7@niu.edu DU 137
Ashley Sands Spanish Teaching Assistant asands1@niu.edu DU 137
Maw Maw Tun Burmese Teaching Assistant z1757947@students.niu.edu ZH 620/622

Staff

Name Title Email Phone Office
Lynne Meyer Main Office Staff lmeyer@niu.edu 815-753-1501 WH 111
Karen Mantz Office Manager kmantz@niu.edu 815-753-6441 WH 111
Concepcion Gliesman Coordinator, Foreign Language Residence Program cgliesma@niu.edu 815-753-6452 WH 121

Emeritus

Name Language Email
Katharina Barbe German kbarbe@niu.edu
Louise Ciallella Spanish lciallella2@niu.edu 
Mary Lee Cozad Spanish mcozad@niu.edu
William Harrison Spanish and Portuguese wharrison@niu.edu 
John Hartmann Thai jhartmann@niu.edu 
Patricia Henry Indonesian phenry@niu.edu 
Maryline Lukacher French mlukache@niu.edu 
Eloy Merino Spanish emerino@niu.edu 
Chris Nissen Italian cnissen@niu.edu
Grant Olson Language Learning Center and Thai golson@niu.edu 
Greg Ross Foreign Language Residence Program and French gross@niu.edu 
Jack Weiner Spanish amalia1@rcn.com

Contact Us

World Languages and Cultures
Watson Hall 111
815-753-1501
askfl@niu.edu