Supportive Professional Staff Awards

The five Supportive Professional Staff (SPS) Awards recognize those who have made outstanding contributions to the university in special fields of expertise:

  • Advocacy
  • Cultural competency
  • Excellence in supervision
  • Institutional advancement
  • Partnership and collaboration

Each recipient is given a plaque in honor of their accomplishments. An individual can receive each SPS Award only once. View past recipients.

Nomination deadline: Friday, March 21, 2022.

If you have any questions, contact Megan Woodruff at 815-753-1327 or


Candidates for SPS Awards must:

  • Be employed as SPS when nominated.
  • Be employed at least 50 percent time.
  • Not hold rank or tenure.
  • Not have received the award in the past (view a list of recipients).

The candidate must also meet award-specific criteria:

  • SPS Award for Advocacy: Must have advocated for policies and practices that helped create a positive environment for students, faculty and/or staff.
  • SPS Award for Cultural Competency: Must have shown leadership in creating a more culturally competent and diverse NIU community.
  • SPS Award for Excellence in Supervision: Must have demonstrated outstanding leadership and ethical practices when supervising professional and student staff.
  • SPS Award for Institutional Advancement: Must have shown leadership in activities, programs and/or research that helped advance their department and the university.
  • SPS Award for Partnership and Collaboration: Must have cooperated and collaborated for the betterment of the NIU community. Recipients may be individuals or groups (departments, offices, etc.). Recipients are not limited to SPS employees.

Nomination Process

You can nominate someone by filling out the online nomination form. You'll upload a nomination letter that explains how the nominee meets the award criteria and a second letter of support through the form. We encourage you to consider nominating SPS staff at all levels.

Nomination Form