Membership of Unity in Diversity Steering Committee

  1. The Unity in Diversity Steering Committee is directly responsible to the vice president for Student Affairs and shall consist of personnel as listed below under membership. Appointments will be made by the relevant campus student organization, administrative unit or entity. The faculty members at large shall be nominated by the Faculty Senate. The supportive professional staff representative and the operating staff representative shall be nominated by their respective councils.

    The vice president for Student Affairs may appoint up to three additional voting members in order to include under-represented university constituencies. Those members shall serve one-year renewable terms. Terms of service for all other members shall be two years not limited to one term, unless otherwise stated, and staggered to provide overlapping membership. All terms commence August 15. Each Unity in Diversity Steering Committee member shall have one vote.

    The vice president for Student Affairs shall appoint a chair in the spring for the succeeding two years. The student co-chair(s) shall be appointed by the Campus Activities Board/Unity in Diversity. One of the Student Association representatives shall be the Student Association Cultural Relations Adviser or designee.

    It is expected that the SA minority relations advisor or designee will represent the interests of such minority organizations as the LGBC, NATIONS, and others not specifically represented.

  2. The duties of the Unity in Diversity Steering Committee shall be to coordinate the university's Unity in Diversity activities and calendar of events designed to acknowledge, educate, and celebrate the diversity of the Northern Illinois University campus community relative to race, gender, sexual orientation, culture, religion, and physical ability.


Center for Southeast Asian Studies Julia Lamb  Julia Lamb
Center for Black Studies  Derrick Smith Derrick Smith 
Educational Services & Programs Joy Banks
Faculty-at-large (2) Linda Yasui Linda Yasui 
  Louise Ciallella Louise Ciallella
Operating Staff Elizabeth Buck Elizabeth Buck
Supportive Professional Staff Phinette Maszka Phinette Maszka 
University Libraries Byron Anderson Byron Anderson 
University Resources for Latinos Carolyn Anderson Carolyn Anderson 
University Resources for Women Judy Skorek Judy Skorek 
Campus Activities Board (2) DeVeeta Blackman

Rachel Purches
Sharece Johnson

Center for Accessibility Resources  Jennifer Montag
Division of Student Affairs (2) David Lochbaum David Lochbaum 
University Programming & Activities *Michelle Bringas Angela Dreesen 
Residence Hall Association Drumarie Krusenoski
Student Association (3) Rachel Powe Oliver Vasquez 
Presidential Commission on Sexual Oreientation and Gender Identity Margie Cook
or Pattie Garcia
Margie Cook 
Underrepresented University Constituencies (3) Wei Lou
Jolene Skinner
Bobby Wilkerson 
* Chair