2013-14 Committees of the University

Presidential Commission on Persons with Disabilities

Membership of Presidential Commission on Persons with Disabilities



A.  Every effort will be made to maintain a membership of no fewer than 15. Members shall be appointed by the President from nominations or volunteers solicited by the President from major university constituencies.

a. Membership on the Commission of those in the following positions is required:

i.    Human Resource Services' identified ADA Coordinator

ii.   Division of Student Affairs and Enrollment Management's identified 504 Coordinator

iii.  Director, Disability Resource Center

iv.  Coordinator, Library Services for Persons with Disabilities

v.   Student Association representative

b.  At least one representative from the following areas should be appointed to the Commission:

i.    Academic Affairs

ii.    Affirmative Action

iii.    Finance and Facilities

iv.    Housing and Dining

v.    Information Technology Services

vi.    Student Affairs.

c.  Efforts shall be made to seek representation for students with hearing, learning, visual, and mobility disabilities.

B.  Every effort will be made to ensure membership includes representation from all facets of the university community, including those with and those without disabilities. It is expected that each representative will report back to his or her constituents about activities of the Commission. In keeping with the Northern Illinois University Constitution and Bylaws, Section 16.7.1, the Commission shall include minority representation.

C.  Specific positions noted above will hold permanent appointments to the Commission. Other faculty and staff members shall serve three-year staggered terms. Student members shall serve one-year terms. All members shall be eligible for reappointment.

D.  Membership will be reviewed annually by the Commission in spring for the following fall. Deficiencies in participation by constituency shall be noted and communicated to the President. Nominations for new members will be solicited by the middle of spring semester via an advertising campaign sponsored by the President’s office. Applications and nominations should be sent to the President’s office by the end of spring semester and include a letter of interest from the nominee summarizing how his or her participation will benefit the Commission.

E.  Letters of appointment will be sent from the President to new Commission members prior to the fall semester.

[Excerpted from PCPD Bylaws, Section III. Membership.]


Roles and Duties

 A.  The Commission shall advise the President on issues pertaining to people who have disabilities and the accessibility of the university and university programs. This will include informing the President about issues defined by the Commission itself, by other units, or individuals within the university community, or by the President.

B.  The Commission shall make recommendations to the President on studies, reports, or other actions needed to address particular issues related to the status of people with disabilities.

C.  The Commission may hold hearings to collect information or may request information from units or individuals within the University.

D.  The Commission may suggest and sponsor programs that carry out its mission.

E.  With prior knowledge of the President, the Commission, in carrying out its charge, may establish subcommittees whose membership may be drawn from non-Commission members.

[Excerpted from PCPD Bylaws, Section II. Roles and Duties.]


Presidential Commission on Persons with Disabilities

The PCPD typically meets on the third Thursday of the month during the academic year.

Susan Dalton Susan Dalton
Susan Dalton
  *Greg Long *Greg Long
Greg Long
Jennifer Likeum Leanne VandeCreek Leanne VandeCreek Leanne VandeCreek
  Christina Papadimitriou Christina Papadimitriou Christina Papadimitriou
  Ben Bingle Maria Barnes Maria Barnes Maria Barnes
Daniel Cabrera Daniel Cabrera  
  Stephanie DeCicco
(for Gautcher)
Stephanie DeCicco (for Gautcher)  
  Phyllis Dupre
(for Kuvalic)
Phyllis Dupre
(for Kuvalic)
  David Long David Long
Sheila Milan
(for Thompson)
Sheila Milan Sheila Milan Sheila Milan
Debra Miller Debra Miller
  TBD for Scott Peska Catherine Doederlein Catherine Doederlein Catherine Doederlein
Paula Root Paula Root Paula Root
Lisa Stocksdale Lisa Stocksdale Lisa Stocksdale
  Katy Whitelaw Katy Whitelaw  
Charles Schumann
Phillip Young
Guy Smith
Alexander Fireman  
Tracy Tittelbach
Dale Sczweck  
  Megan Milz Parshva Shah    
Megan Milz
A.a.i. ADA Coordinator Emily Murray
A.a.ii. 504 Coordinator  Melanie Thompson Melanie Thompson
A.a.iii. Director, Disability Resource Center Randall Ward Randall Ward
A.a.iv. Library Services for Persons with Disabilities Leanne VandeCreek Ladislava Khailova
Student Association  
A.b.i. Academic Affairs - 
Executive Vice President and Provost
Anne Birberick
Anne Birberick    
A.b.ii. Affirmative Action -
Affirmative Action & Diversity Resources
Emily Murray
Emily Murray    
Finance and Facilities
Angela Bollinger
Angela Bollinger    
Housing and Dining
Information Technology Services 
Nick Choban
A.b.vi. Student Affairs
Student Affairs and Enrollment Management
John Jones
Parking Services
TBD (for Mommsen)
Scott Kangas

* chair