Department News

The department is proud to announce that Professor Geoffrey Pynn is a recipient of the 2014 Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award. More >

The department is pleased to announce that Derek Brown has received the 2014 College of Liberal Arts & Sciences Deans' Award for having made contributions to the academic community and achieving scholastic excellence while an undergraduate in the Department of Philosophy.
More >

The Department of Philosophy is pleased to announce that Emma Duncan has been chosen the winner of the Rafalson Essay Contest for 2014. More >

The Department of Philosophy is pleased to announce that Griffin Klemick has been awarded the C. Mason and Madeline Myers Graduate Philosophy Award for 2013. More >

Andrew Chapman (M.A., 2009) has become Project Editor of 1000-Word Philosophy, "an ever-growing set of original 1000-word essays on philosophical topics."

Andy Carson (M.A., 2012) has received coverage in The Chronicle of Higher Education for his study of job placement by doctoral programs in philosophy. He has now published a follow-up study reporting on the placement records of M.A. programs in philosophy.

M. T. Daffenberg (B.A., 2001) has published a new novel, An American Gospel, with Publerati. An American Gospel is available for Kindle from Amazon.

Renee Jorgensen Bolinger (M.A., 2012), who created the above picture of the Philosophy Department faculty, is receiving attention for her Philosopher Portraits series. Renee is currently enrolled in the Ph.D. program in philosophy at University of Southern California.

Upcoming Events


Anjan Chakravartty, (University of Notre Dame)
"Structures, Causation, and the Metaphysics of Physics"
Friday, September 19, 2014
3:30 p.m., Davis Hall, Room 116

More >


Troy Cross, (Reed College)
Friday, October 17, 2014
3:30 p.m., Altgeld 315

More >


Michael Glanzberg, (Northwestern University)
"Experiences and Taste Properties"
Friday, October 24, 2014
3:30 p.m., Altgeld 315

More >

8th Annual Northern Graduate Philosophy Conference

Keynote Address

Dean Zimmerman, (Rutgers University)
"The Metaphysics of Qualia"
Friday, November 21, 2014
3:00 p.m., HSC--University Suite

More >