Emeritus Faculty

Harold I. Brown, Distinguished Research Professor Emeritus (Ph.D., Northwestern)
philosophy of science, epistemology
hibrown@niu.edu

James Dye, Professor Emeritus (Ph.D., Tulane)
ancient Greek philosophy, 18th century philosophy, philosophy of religion
jdye@niu.edu

C. Michael Gelven, Distinguished Research Professor Emeritus (Ph.D., Washington University)
metaphysics, Heidegger, Kant, Nietzsche, philosophy in literature, philosophy of war

James Hudson, Associate Professor Emeritus (Ph.D., Johns Hopkins)
ethics, social and political philosophy, analytic philosophy
jhudson@niu.edu

Tomis Kapitan, Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus (Ph.D., Indiana)
metaphysics, philosophy of language, international ethics
kapitan@niu.edu

James King, Professor Emeritus (Ph.D., Notre Dame)
ethics, philosophy of law, modern philosophy
jtking@niu.edu

Theodore Kisiel, Distinguished Research Professor Emeritus (Ph.D., Duquesne)
phenomenology, hermeneutics of natural science, history of philosophy, metaphysics
tkisiel@niu.edu

E. W. van Steenburgh, Associate Professor Emeritus (Ph.D., Michigan)
philosophy of mind


Adjunct Faculty

Dorothy Coleman, Adjunct Associate Professor (Ph.D., Penn State)
Hume, Kant, modern philosophy, epistemology, ethics
dcoleman@niu.edu

Contact Us

Department of Philosophy
Northern Illinois University
Zulauf Hall 915
DeKalb, IL 60115
Fax: (815) 753-0543

Jessica Williams, Office Staff
Phone: (815) 753-0331
Email: jwilliams4@niu.edu

Jonie Barshinger, Office Manager
Phone: (815) 753-0333
Email: jonie@niu.edu

David J. Buller, Chair
Phone: (815) 753-6299
Email: buller@niu.edu