faculty2

Regular Faculty

Valia Allori Valia Allori, Associate Professor (Ph.D., Rutgers)
philosophy of physics, philosophy of science, metaphysics, philosophy of mathematics
Office: Zulauf 920
Phone: 815-753-6412
vallori@niu.edu
   
Ampelmann David J. Buller, Distinguished Research Professor (Ph.D., Northwestern)
philosophy of science, truth, history of analytic philosophy
Office: Zulauf 902
Phone: 815-753-6299
buller@niu.edu
   
Lenny Clapp Lenny Clapp, Professor (Ph.D., MIT)
philosophy of language, philosophy of mind, history of analytic philosophy
Office: Zulauf 903
Phone: 815-753-6408
lclapp@niu.edu
   
Steven Daskal Steven Daskal, Associate Professor (Ph.D., Michigan)
moral and political philosophy, philosophy of action
Office: Zulauf 922
Phone: 815-753-6410
sdaskal@niu.edu
   
Mylan Engel Jr. Mylan Engel Jr., Professor (Ph.D., Arizona)
epistemology, philosophy of religion, metaphysics, Thomas Reid, animal rights
Office: Zulauf 901
Phone: 815-753-6405
mylan-engel@niu.edu
   
Alicia Finch Alicia Finch, Associate Professor (Ph.D., Notre Dame)
metaphysics, ancient Greek philosophy, philosophy of religion, feminist philosophy
Office: Zulauf 916
Phone: 815-753-6407
afinch@niu.edu
   
Carl Gillett Carl Gillett, Professor (Ph.D., Rutgers)
philosophy of mind, metaphysics, philosophy of science, philosophy of religion
Office: Zulauf 904
Phone: 815-753-6413
cgillett@niu.edu
   
Jason Hanna Jason Hanna, Assistant Professor (Ph.D., Colorado)
normative and applied ethics
Office: Zulauf 906
Phone: 815-753-6403
jhanna@niu.edu
   
Geoffrey Pynn Geoffrey Pynn, Assistant Professor (Ph.D., Yale)
epistemology, early modern philosophy, philosophy of language
Office: Zulauf 924
Phone: 815-753-6414
gpynn@niu.edu
   

Emeritus Faculty (Teaching Part Time)

Sharon Sytsma Sharon Sytsma, Associate Professor (Ph.D., Loyola)
ethical theory, biomedical ethics, ancient Greek philosophy
Office: Zulauf 913
Phone: 815-753-6411
ssytsma@niu.edu
   

Instructional Faculty

Nicoleta Apostol Nicoleta Apostol, Instructor (M.A., Northern Illinois University)
Office: Zulauf 1026
Phone: 815-753-6404
napostol@niu.edu
   
John Beaudoin John Beaudoin, Instructor (Ph.D., Iowa)
philosophy of religion, philosophy of science, philosophy of law
Office: Zulauf 1024
Phone: 815-753-6406
jbeaudoin@niu.edu
   
Laura Duhau Girola Laura Duhau Girola, Instructor (Ph.D., King's College London)
philosophy of psychology, philosophy of mind, cognitive science
Office: Zulauf 918
Phone: 815-753-6409
lduhaugirola@niu.edu
   
Robert M. Farley Robert M. Farley, Instructor (M.A., A.B.D., University of Illinois at Chicago)
epistemology, metaphysics, history of analytic philosophy
Office: Zulauf 1026
Phone: 815-753-6404
rfarley@niu.edu