Professorial Faculty

Valia Allori Valia Allori, Associate Professor (Ph.D., Rutgers)
Philosophy of Physics, Philosophy of Science, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Mathematics
vallori@niu.edu
   
Alfred Tarski David J. Buller, Professor (Ph.D., Northwestern)
Distinguished Research Professor
Philosophy of Science, Truth, History of Analytic Philosophy
buller@niu.edu
   
Lenny Clapp Lenny Clapp, Professor (Ph.D., MIT)
Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Mind, History of Analytic Philosophy
lclapp@niu.edu
   
Steven Daskal Steven Daskal, Associate Professor (Ph.D., Michigan)
Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award Winner, 2015
Moral and Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Action
sdaskal@niu.edu
   
Mylan Engel Jr. Mylan Engel Jr., Professor (Ph.D., Arizona)
Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award Winner, 2009
Epistemology, Philosophy of Religion, Metaphysics, Thomas Reid, Animal Rights
mylan-engel@niu.edu
   
Alicia Finch Alicia Finch, Associate Professor (Ph.D., Notre Dame)
Metaphysics, Ancient Greek Philosophy, Philosophy of Religion, Feminist Philosophy
afinch@niu.edu
   
Carl Gillett Carl Gillett, Professor (Ph.D., Rutgers)
Philosophy of Mind, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Religion
cgillett@niu.edu
   
Jason Hanna Jason Hanna, Associate Professor (Ph.D., Colorado)
Normative and Applied Ethics
jhanna@niu.edu
   
Geoffrey Pynn Geoffrey Pynn, Associate Professor (Ph.D., Yale)
Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award Winner, 2014
Epistemology, Early Modern Philosophy, Philosophy of Language
gpynn@niu.edu
   
Craig Warmke Craig Warmke, Assistant Professor (Ph.D., UNC Chapel Hill)
Metaphysics, Philosophical Logic, Philosophy of Mathematics
warmke@niu.edu
   

Emeritus Faculty (Teaching Part Time)

Sharon Sytsma Sharon Sytsma, Associate Professor (Ph.D., Loyola)
Ethical Theory, Biomedical Ethics, Ancient Greek Philosophy
ssytsma@niu.edu
   

Instructional Faculty

Nicoleta Apostol Nicoleta Apostol, Instructor (M.A., Northern Illinois University)
napostol@niu.edu
   
John Beaudoin John Beaudoin, Instructor (Ph.D., Iowa)
Philosophy of religion, Philosophy of science, Philosophy of law
jbeaudoin@niu.edu
   
Laura Duhau Girola Laura Duhau Girola, Instructor (Ph.D., King's College London)
Philosophy of psychology, Philosophy of mind, cognitive science
lduhaugirola@niu.edu

Contact Us

Department of Philosophy
Northern Illinois University
Zulauf Hall 915
DeKalb, IL 60115
Fax: (815) 753-0543

Jessica Williams, Office Staff
Phone: (815) 753-0331
Email: jwilliams4@niu.edu

Jonie Barshinger, Office Manager
Phone: (815) 753-0333
Email: jonie@niu.edu

David J. Buller, Chair
Phone: (815) 753-6299
Email: buller@niu.edu