Department of Physics

We offer B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. programs in physics.  The B.S degree has emphases in Professional Physics, Applied Physics and Physics Secondary Education (teacher licensure). The M.S. program has specializations in Basic Physics, Applied Physics and Physics Teaching. Our faculty have close links with Fermilab and Argonne National Lab, and often involve undergrad and graduate students in research.

You will experience traditional classroom instruction as well as laboratory courses. All undergraduate physics majors also complete a capstone research project as part of their degree.

In The News

(January 22, 2020) Professor Larry Lurio has been elected for the Executive Committee, vice-chair of American Physical Society (APS) Priarie section.

(December 17, 2019) Spring 2020 Masters qualifying exam and Ph.D. candidacy examination information have been updated.

(October 28, 2019) NIU Graduate Council Recognizes Two Physics Students, M. Krogstad, PhD and L. Rice, M.S., with Outstanding Dissertation and Thesis Awards of 2018/19 in the STEM and health sciences category.

(March 4, 2019) Professor Carol Thompson and collaborators at Argonne National Lab have published an article in Nature Physics.

News Archive

Contact Us

Department of Physics

La Tourette Hall, Room 202

Department Chair
Vishnu Zutshi, Ph.D.

Asst. Chair/Director of Undergraduate Studies
Yasuo Ito, Ph.D.

Director of Graduate Studies
Jahred Adelman, Ph.D. (from 7/1/2020)


Physics Help Room
Faraday Hall Rm 251
Mon-Thu 9 am - 5 pm, Fri 9 am - 3 pm