Chemistry Club

2168-picnic

Join the Club!

The NIU Chemistry Club is a student affiliate chapter of the American Chemical Society and is open to anyone with an interest in Chemistry. The purpose of this organization is to:

  • Promote interest in chemistry and the chemical professions
  • Aid understanding of the field of chemistry
  • Provide interaction among individuals engaged in the study of chemistry

The Chem Club sponsors several outreach events each year, including the Chem Demo Night, a public favorite. The club organizes and presents an evening of chemistry demonstrations at least once a year, always offering a different theme. The Chem Club also participates in STEMFest every fall, interacting with young people and their parents from across the Northern Illinois region to explore the STEM fields and to consider future careers.

If you are looking for more information on Chemistry Club or would like to join, please email our president, Alyssa at amohr@niu.edu, to become part of our emailing list to receive news and updates on everything Chemistry Club!

Executive Board Meetings
(second Wednesday of every month in LaTourette Hall 300 at 5 p.m.)
General Meetings
(fourth Wednesday of every month in Faraday Penthouse at 5 p.m.)
September 11, 2019 August 28, 2019
October 9, 2019 September 25, 2019
November 13, 2019 October 23, 2019
December 4, 2019 November 20, 2019
January 15, 2020 January 22, 2020
February 12, 2020 February 26, 2020
March 4, 2020 March 25, 2020
April 8, 2020 April 22, 2020

2019-20 Officers

President and Student Advisory Council Representative
Alyssa Mohr
amohr@niu.edu

Vice President
Kylie Zawisza
kzawisza@niu.edu

Treasurer
Kari Kress
kkress@niu.edu

Secretary
Elaina Kinney
ekinney@niu.edu

Event Coordinator
Corey Weinberg
cweinberg1@niu.edu

Graduate Student Liason
Kevin Parker
kparker9@niu.edu

Faculty Advisor
Oliver Hofstetter
La Tourette Hall 428
815-753-6898

ACS Logo

Contact Us

Northern Illinois University
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faraday Hall, Room 319
DeKalb, IL  60115

815‐753‐1131