Department Directory

Department Staff

Name Title Email Phone Office
Ryan Damhoff Office Support Specialist rdamhoff@niu.edu 815-753-6855 Faraday Hall 323
Taesam Kim Research Technologist Manager kim@niu.edu 815-753-4199 Faraday Hall 314
Lydia Mueller Office Support Associate lmueller3@niu.edu 815-753-1131 Faraday Hall 321
Beth Reiter Lab Manager breiter@niu.edu 815-753-6854 Faraday Hall 362
Steve Swed Stores Supervisor sswed@niu.edu 815-753-6862 Faraday Hall 363A

Faculty

Full-time Faculty

Name Title Email Office
David S. Ballantine, Ph.D. Associate Dean, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences dballant@niu.edu La Tourette Hall 424
Yingwen Cheng, Ph.D. Assistant Professor ycheng@niu.edu La Tourette Hall 411
Elizabeth R. Gaillard, Ph.D. Distinguished Research Professor
Joint Appointment with Biological Sciences
gaillard@niu.edu La Tourette Hall 322
Thomas M. Gilbert, Ph.D. Associate Professor tgilbert@niu.edu La Tourette Hall 309
Timothy J. Hagen, Ph.D. Associate Professor thagen@niu.edu Faraday Hall 350
Oliver Hofstetter, Ph.D. Associate Professor ohofst@niu.edu La Tourette Hall 428
James R. Horn, Ph.D. Associate Professor jrhorn@niu.edu La Tourette Hall 432
Narayan S. Hosmane, Ph.D. Distinguished Research Professor and Board of Trustees Professor hosmane@niu.edu Faraday Hall 305
Douglas A. Klumpp, Ph.D. Presidential Research, Scholarship and Artistry Professor dklumpp@niu.edu Faraday Hall 356
Tao Li, Ph.D. Assistant Professor
Joint Appointment with Argonne National Laboratory
tli4@niu.edu La Tourette Hall 416
Evgueni E. Nesterov Professor een@niu.edu La Tourette Hall 318
Irina Nesterova, Ph.D. Assistant Professor inesterova@niu.edu La Tourette Hall 433
Victor Ryzhov, Ph.D. Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies
ryzhov@niu.edu La Tourette Hall 425
Lee S. Sunderlin, Ph.D. Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies
sunder@niu.edu La Tourette Hall 327
Ralph A. Wheeler, Ph.D. Professor and Chair rwheeler5@niu.edu Faraday Hall 320
Tao Xu, Ph.D. Presidential Research, Scholarship and Artistry Professor txu@niu.edu La Tourette Hall 412
Chong Zheng, Ph.D. Professor czheng@niu.edu La Tourette Hall 326

Adjunct and Visiting Faculty

Name Title Email Office
Marc J. Adler, Ph.D. Adjunct Professor mjadler@niu.edu Faraday Hall 343
Roxanna Fotovat, Ph.D. Instructor rfotovat1@niu.edu Faraday Hall 336
Heike N. Hofstetter, Ph.D. Adjunct Professor hofstetter@wisc.edu Faraday Hall 317
Nicole James, Ph.D. Instructor njames5@niu.edu Faraday Hall 343
Paul Munger Instructor pmunger@niu.edu Faraday Hall 334
Bao Linh Nguyen, Ph.D. Instructor bnguyen2@niu.edu La Tourette Hall 324
Nicole Potts, Ph.D. Instructor npotts1@niu.edu Faraday Hall 338

Emeritus Faculty

Name Title Email Office
Gary M. Baker, Ph.D. Professor Emeritus
Co-coordinator of Graduate Career and Professional Development
gbaker@niu.edu
Robert F. Cunico, Ph.D. Professor Emeritus rcunico1@niu.edu
James E. Erman, Ph.D. Distinguished Research Professor Emeritus jerman@niu.edu
Dennis N. Kevill, Ph.D. Distinguished Research Professor Emeritus dkevill@niu.edu Faraday Hall 328
Lidia B. Vitello, Ph.D. Adjunct Emerita lvitello@niu.edu
Chhiu-Tsu (C.T.) Lin, Ph.D. Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus and Distinguished Research Professor Emeritus ctlin@niu.edu La Tourette Hall 323
W. Roy Mason, Ph.D. Professor Emeritus wrmason@niu.edu Faraday Hall 356
Petr Vanýsek, Ph.D. Professor Emeritus petr.vanysek@niu.edu La Tourette Hall 418
Joe W. Vaughn, Ph.D. Professor Emeritus jvaughn@niu.edu Faraday Hall 404

Related Pages

Contact Us

Northern Illinois University
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faraday Hall, Room 319
DeKalb, IL  60115

815‐753‐1131