Our Commitment to Teaching Excellence

The Department of Communication is highly regarded within both NIU and the greater academic community for its commitment to teaching excellence. Our faculty are among the finest teachers on campus. Several department faculty have been recognized with the most prestigious teaching awards bestowed by the university.

Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Awards

Excellence in Undergraduate Instruction Awards

Matt Swan

Matt Swan (2012)

Kim Gatz

Kimberly Gatz (2014)

Jason Akst

Jason Akst (2016)

Distinguished Teaching Professors*

*Formerly Presidential Teaching Professorships


Jeffrey Chown (2005-2009)

David Gunkel Photo

David Gunkel (2009-2013)

Joseph Scudder

Joseph Scudder (2012-2016)

Board of Trustees Professorships

Jeffrey Chown (2011)

Laura Vazquez (2014)