Department of Communication


What We Offer

We offer a B.A. or B.S. in both communication studies and journalism as well as a Master of Arts in communication studies. Our degree programs provide a broad study of the field of communication while giving students an opportunity to focus on a chosen area of emphasis. Through engaged-learning curricula, our programs prepare a diverse spectrum of students to enter a wide range of professions in communication, journalism and related fields.

Students in all degree programs study with distinguished faculty who excel in teaching, research, artistry and engagement. The department has fully updated labs available to all majors to support student research and artistry. Each student has access to personalized advising, one-on-one faculty mentorship and numerous engaged-learning opportunities.

Contact Us

Department of Communication
Northern Illinois University
Watson Hall 210
DeKalb, IL 60115
Phone: 815-753-1563
Fax: 815-753-7109

Acting Department Chair

Mehdi Semati
Phone: 815-753-7028
Email: msemati@niu.edu

COMS 100 Advising

Ferald Bryan
Watson Hall 216
815-753-7100
fbryan@niu.edu

Undergraduate Advising

Laura Vazquez
Director of Undergraduate Studies
Watson Hall 213
815-753-7107
lvazquez@niu.edu 

Nathan Rice
Office Support Specialist
Watson Hall 209
815-753-1712
nrice1@niu.edu

Ryan Pumroy
815-753-5354
Watson Hall 217
pumroy@niu.edu

Graduate Advising

Kathleen Valde
Director of Graduate Studies
Watson Hall 205
815-753-7106
kvalde@niu.edu