People

Graduate Students


Tirzah AbbottTirzah Abbott

B.S., Beloit College
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Justin Dodd
Research interests: Paleoclimate, micropaleontology, and isotope geochemistry
E-mail: abbottt2@gmail.com


Mary BalesMary (Katie) Bales

B.S., The University of Texas at Austin – Geology
M.S., Texas A&M University – Geophysics
Degree Seeking: Ph.D.
Adviser: Dr. Nicole LaDue
Research interests: Geoscience education
E-mail: mbales1@niu.edu


William BugbeeWilliam Bugbee

B.S., Geology and Chemistry, University of Georgia
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Adviser: Dr. Reed Scherer
Research interests: Paleontology, Micropaleontology, Paleoclimatology
E-mail: floyd73@uga.edu


David CanovaDavid Canova

B.S., Fort Lewis College - Geology
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Mark Fischer
Research interests: Petroleum geology, structural geology, and paleo-hydrology of salt structures
E-mail: z1780569@students.niu.edu


Jason CoenenJason Coenen

B.S., University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh
Degree Seeking: Ph.D.
Advisor: Dr. Reed Scherer
Research interests: Micropaleontology, Biostratigraphy, Stratigraphy/Sedimentology, Paleontology
E-mail: jcoenen30@niu.edu


Sonny DivitaSonny Divita

B.S., Northeastern Illinois University, Earth Science
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Philip Carpenter
Research interests: Geophysics, geological engineering
E-mail: sdivita1@niu.edu


Joshua EhlichJoshua Ehlich

B.S., Geology, Grand Valley State University
Degree Seeking: Ph.D.
Advisor: Dr. Mark Frank
Research interests: Economic geology, magmatic-hydrothermal systems, metallic ore deposits, experimental mineralogy and petrology
E-mail: jehlich@niu.edu
Website: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/joshua-ehlich/5a/128/78b


Ty EnglerTy Engler

B.S., Geology, University of South Alabama
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Nathan Stansell
Research interests: Carbonate sedimentology/stratigraphy
E-mail: z1780008@students.niu.edu


Chris GreerChris Greer

B.S., Millsaps College, M.S., Wright State University
Degree Seeking: Ph.D.
Advisor: Dr. Colin Booth
Research interests: Hydrgeology - numerical modeling combined with field measurements and isotopic analysis to determine recharge pathways and volume into local glacial and regional bedrock aquifers
E-mail: cbgreer1138@yahoo.com


Micheal GrzybowskiMicheal Grzybowski

B.S., Oklahoma State University, Environmental Science - Water Resources
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Melissa Lenczewski
Research interests: Contaminant hydrogeology
E-mail: mgrzybowski1@niu.edu


Timothy HodsonTim Hodson

M.S. Northern Illinois University
Degree Seeking: Ph.D.
Advisor: Dr. Ross D. Powell
Research interests: Researching the glaciers of coastal Alaska
E-mail: tohodson@gmail.com


Cory HunterCory Hunter

B.S. in Geology, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Mark Fischer
Research interests: Structural and Petroleum Geology
E-mail: chunter@niu.edu


Bailey KreagerBailey (Zo) Kreager

B.S., Marietta College - Geology
M.S., University of Nebraska-Lincoln - Earth and Atmospheric Science
Degree Seeking: Ph.D.
Adviser: Dr. Nicole LaDue
Research interests: Geoscience education
E-mail: bkreager1@niu.edu


Audrina PryerAudrina Lehman

B.S., Chemistry, Northern Illinois University
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Adviser: Dr. Justin Dodd
Research interests: Geochemistry
E-mail: apryer@niu.edu


Garima LohaniGarima Lohani

B.S., Black Hills State University
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Adviser: Dr. Jim Walker
Research interests: Volcanology
E-mail: Z1807130@students.niu.edu


Sammy MallowSammy Mallow

B.S., Geology, Wheaton College (IL)
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Adviser: Dr. Melissa Lenczewski
Research interests: Cambodian Hydrogeology, Water resources in developing countries, International work
E-mail: sammy.mallow@my.wheaton.edu


Matthew MannMatthew Mann

B.S., Environmental Science, University of Virginia
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Mark Frank
Research interests: Economic Geology
E-mail: mmann2@niu.edu


Justin MooreJustin Moore

B.S., Purdue University - Computer Science
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Nicole LaDue
Research interests: Technology integration with geoscience visualization and education
E-mail: itsmoore@gmail.com


Philip MoorePhilip Moore

B.S., Geology - University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Jim Walker
Research interests: Volcanology, Geophysics
E-mail: Z1806315@students.niu.edu


Peter MortensenPeter Mortensen

B.S., University of Wisconsin - Anthropology
M.A., University of Minnesota - Anthropology
Degree Seeking: Ph.D.
Advisor: Dr. Nathan Stansell
Research interests: Quaternary climate change
E-mail: mortensen.peter@outlook.com


Elizabeth OlsonElizabeth Olson

B.A., Geology/Anthropology, University of Florida
M.S., Climate and Quaternary Studies, University of Maine
Degree Seeking: Ph.D.
Adviser: Dr. Justin Dodd
Research interests: Environmental Geochemistry and Paleoclimate
E-mail: ejolson@niu.edu


Steve PerdziolaSteve Perdziola

B.S., University of Pittsburgh
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Nathan Stansell
Research interests: Paleoclimatology
E-mail: sperdziola1@niu.edu


Angela ReddickAngela Reddick

B.S. degrees in Geoscience and Mathematics
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisors: Dr. Karen Samonds and Dr. Reed Scherer
Research interests: Any kind of Dinosaur, but looking specifically at Allosaurus
E-mail: areddick@niu.edu


George ReoGeorge Reo

B.S., Northern Illinois University
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisors: Dr. Mark Frank
Research interests: Economic geology and petrology
E-mail: greo1@niu.edu


Marley RockMarley Rock

B.S., Kutztown University of Pennsylvania
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisors: Dr. Mark Frank
Research interests: Geochemistry and petrology
E-mail: rock.marlena@gmail.com


Amber SandersonAmber Sanderson

B.S., University of South Alabama, Geology
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Mark Frank, Dr. Jim Walker, and Dr. Justin Dodd
Research interests: Geochemistry and volcanology
E-mail: z1779965@students.niu.edu


Josh SchwartzJosh Schwartz

B.S., Nuclear Engineering Technology, Thomas Edison State College
B.S., Geology, Northern Illinois University
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Research interests: Isotope Geochemistry, Geophysics, Paleontology
E-mail: joshua.schwartz@niu.edu


Andrew SchwoererAndrew Schwoerer

B.S., St. Norbert College, Geology
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Jim Walker
Research interests: Volcanology
E-mail: aschwoerer1@niu.edu


Rebecca PuttkammerRebecca Tarbutton

B.A., Political Science, Northwestern University
Degree Seeking: Ph.D.
Adviser: Dr. Ross Powell
Research interests: Glacial Geology, Sedimentology
E-mail: rputtkammer@niu.edu


Vito ValerioVito Valerio

B.S., Environmental Geoscience, Northern Illinois University
Degree seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Justin Dodd
Research interests: Environmental Geochemistry and Geophysics
E-mail: vvalerio@niu.edu


Shawn WikeShawn Wike

B.S., Geology, Northern Illinois University
Degree seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Phil Carpenter
Research interests: Geophysics, Geoarchaeology
E-mail: Swike1@niu.edu


Nick WilliamsNicholas Williams

B.A., Geology, DePauw University
Degree seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Mark Fischer
Research interests: Structural geology
E-mail: nwilliams6@niu.edu


Scott WoodsScott Woods

B.S., University of Iowa
Degree seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Phil Carpenter
Research interests: Geophysics and hydrogeology
E-mail: z1737291@students.niu.edu


Joshua ZodareckyJoshua Zodarecky

B.S., Geology, SUNY - Brockport
Degree seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Mark Fischer
Research interest: Petroleum geology
E-mail: z1714125@students.niu.edu