People

Graduate Students


Steven BattagliaSteven Battaglia

B.S., Atmospheric Sciences and Geology, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Paul Stoddard
Research interests: Planetary Geology
E-mail: battagl1@niu.edu
Web page: sites.google.com/site/battagliastevenm


Sarah BrokusSarah Brokus

B.A., Hope College
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Justin Dodd
Research interests: Contaminant Hydrology, Environmental and Isotope Geochemistry
E-mail: sbrokus1@niu.edu


Marco CastilloMarco Castillo

B.S., Geology, Northern Illinois University
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Mark Frank
Research interests: Petrology and Mineralogy
E-mail: mcastillo1@niu.edu


Jason CoenenJason Coenen

B.S., University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Reed Scherer
Research interests: Micropaleontology, Biostratigraphy, Stratigraphy/Sedimentology, Paleontology
E-mail: jcoenen30@niu.edu


Emily DeversEmily Devers

B.S., Northern Illinois University
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Mark Frank
Research interests: Petrology
E-mail: z1656795@students.niu.edu


Matt FlemingMatt Fleming

B.S., Geology, Bowling Green State University
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Mark Fischer
Research interests: Petroleum/natural gas geology and other economic deposits, structural geology
E-mail: mfleming3@niu.edu


Andrea Xamplas RasmussenAndrea Greer

B.S. Northern Illinois University
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Melissa Lenczewski
Research interests: Environmental Geosciences, Geomicrobiology
E-mail: arasmus4@niu.edu


Chris GreerChris Greer

B.S., Millsaps College, M.S., Wright State University
Degree Seeking: Ph.D.
Advisor: Dr. Colin Booth
Research interests: Hydrgeology - numerical modeling combined with field measurements and isotopic analysis to determine recharge pathways and volume into local glacial and regional bedrock aquifers
E-mail: cbgreer1138@yahoo.com


Hal HackettHal Hackett

B.S., Geology, Wheaton College, IL
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Justin Dodd
Research interests: Paleoclimate through isotopes; glacial lacustrine sedimentation
E-mail: halwhackett@gmail.com


John HankeJohn Hanke

B.S., Geology, Northern Illinois University
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Mark P. Fischer
Research interests: Fracture mechanics and kinematics, Reservoir Geomechanics, Fluid flow in porous media, remote sensing techniques, Structural diagenesis
E-mail: jhanke2@niu.edu


Rachael HinesRachael Hines

B.S., Geology, University of Nebraska-Omaha
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Jim Walker
Research interests: Volcanology and Tectonics
E-mail: rhines@niu.edu


Timothy HodsonTim Hodson

M.S. Northern Illinois University
Degree Seeking: Ph.D.
Advisor: Dr. Ross D. Powell
Research interests: Researching the glaciers of coastal Alaska
E-mail: tohodson@gmail.com


Cory HunterCory Hunter

B.S. in Geology, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Mark Fischer
Research interests: Structural and Petroleum Geology
E-mail: chunter@niu.edu


Richard JayneRichard Jayne

B.S., Environmental Biology, Environmental Geology, Kutztown University
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Phil Carpenter
Research interests: Geophysics and Hydrogeology
E-mail: z1691794@students.niu.edu


Christine KnudsonChristine Knudson

B.S., Geology, Northern Illinois University
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. James Walker
Research interests: Volcanology
E-mail: cknudson@niu.edu


Carolyn KoebelCarolyn Koebel

B.S. in both Geoscience and Environmental Science, University of Iowa
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Phil Carpenter
Research interests: Geophysics
E-mail: ckoebel@niu.edu


Colby LubanowskiColby Lubanowski

B.S., Geology/Geography, GIS Certificate at Northern Illinois University
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Mark Frank
Research interests: Economic Geology; Gold/Copper partitioning in Sulfide minerals in magmatic hydrothermal environments
E-mail: z172640@niu.edu


April MarraraApril Marrara

B.S., Geology, West Virginia University
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Melissa Lenczewski
Research interests: Hydrogeology
E-mail: amarrara@niu.edu


Matthew MayerleMatthew Mayerle

B.S., Western Illinois University
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Ross Powell
Research interests: Sedimentology
E-mail: mwmayerle@gmail.com


Christine MooreChristine Moore

B.S. University of Central Missouri
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Adviser: Dr. Mark Frank
Research Interests: Mineralogy, economic geology, and rare earth elements
E-mail: ccrawford2@niu.edu


Elizabeth OlsonElizabeth Olson

B.A., Geology/Anthropology, University of Florida
M.S., Climate and Quaternary Studies, University of Maine
Degree Seeking: Ph.D.
Adviser: Dr. Justin Dodd
Research Interests: Environmental Geochemistry and Paleoclimate
E-mail: ejolson@niu.edu


Rebecca PuttkammerRebecca Puttkammer

B.A., Political Science, Northwestern University
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Adviser: Dr. Ross Powell
Research Interests: Glacial Geology, Sedimentology
E-mail: rputtkammer@niu.edu


Kathryn QuesnellKathryn Quesnell

B.S. Biology and Environmental Studies from Knox College
Degree Seeking: M.S. in Geology
Adviser: Dr. Melissa Lenczewski
Research Interests: Geomicrobiology and the Environment
E-mail: kquesnell@niu.edu



Ellen RaimondiEllen Raimondi

B.S., Northern Illinois University
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Adviser: Dr. Melissa Lenczewski
Research Interests: Geomicrobiology and Environmental Impact
E-mail: eraimondi@niu.edu



Cait RandersonCait Randerson

B.S., Saint Norbert College
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Ross Powell
Research interests: Glacial Geology
E-mail: cranderson@niu.edu


Angela ReddickAngela Reddick

B.S. degrees in Geoscience and Mathematics
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisors: Dr. Karen Samonds and Dr. Reed Scherer
Research interests: Any kind of Dinosaur, but looking specifically at Allosaurus
E-mail: areddick@niu.edu


Justin RosenblumeJustin Rosenblume

B.S., Geology & Economics, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Ross Powell
Research interests: Sedimentology, Well Logging, and evaluating core samples from the Gulf of Alaska
E-mail: jrosenblume@niu.edu


Lauren SchroederLauren Schroeder

B.S., Northern Illinois University
Degree seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Phil Carpenter
Research interests: Geophysics and Structural Geology
E-mail: lschroeder1@niu.edu


Ann ShillaberAnn Shillaber

B.S., Geology, Wheaton College
Degree seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Ryan Pollyea
Research interests: Contaminant Hydrogeology and Water Resources
E-mail: ashillaber1@niu.edu


Vito ValerioVito Valerio

B.S., Environmental Geoscience, NIU
Degree seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Justin Dodd
Research interests: Environmental Geochemistry and Geophysics
E-mail: vvalerio@niu.edu


Erik Van DudenErik Van Dusen

B.S., Geology, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Degree seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Mark P. Fischer
Research interests: Structural and Petroleum geology
E-mail: evandusen1@niu.edu


Wilson WiedenheftWilson Wiedenheft

B.S., Electrical Engineering, Illinois Institute of Technology
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Justin Dodd
Research interests: Paleoclimate through geochemistry and isotopic analysis
E-mail: wiednhft@gmail.com


Shawn WikeShawn Wike

B.S., Geology, Northern Illinois University
Degree seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Phil Carpenter
Research interests: Geophysics, Geoarchaeology
E-mail: Swike1@niu.edu


Joshua ZodareckyJoshua Zodarecky

B.S., Geology, SUNY - Brockport
Degree seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Mark Fischer
Research interest: Petroleum geology
E-mail: z1714125@students.niu.edu