Skip navigation

Faculty and Staff Directory


Administrative Staff

Name Title Email Office
James Schmidt Department Chair jschmidt@niu.edu   Zulauf 713
E. Taylor Atkins Assistant Department Chair etatkins@niu.edu   Zulauf 702
Sean Farrell Director of Graduate Studies sfarrel1@niu.edu  Zulauf 726
Valerie Garver Director of Undergraduate Studies vgarver@niu.edu   Zulauf 607
Andrea Smalley Director, History & Social Sciences Educator Licensure  asmalley@niu.edu   Zulauf 605
Nicole Henryson Department Office Manager ncappelli@niu.edu   Zulauf 715
Rave Meyer Graduate Office Manager

rmeyer@niu.edu

Zulauf 715
Department Email history@niu.edu 
Department Phone 815-753-0131
Department FAX 815-753-6801

Faculty and Instructors

Name Specialization Email Office
John Alcalde History & Social Sciences Educator Licensure Advisor  jalcalde1@niu.edu  Zulauf 626
Anita Andrew China anzhu1980@gmail.com  Zulauf 606
Stanley Arnold 20th Century U.S., Sport sarnold@niu.edu  Zulauf 608
E. Taylor Atkins Japan & Korea etatkins@niu.edu  Zulauf 702
Frank Bell History & Social Sciences Educator Licensure Advisor fbell@niu.edu  Zulauf 624
Andy Bruno Russia, Environmental abruno2@niu.edu  Zulauf 720
Kenton Clymer U.S. Foreign Relations kclymer@niu.edu  Zulauf 701
Sundiata Djata Africa, African-American sdjata@niu.edu  Zulauf 602
Sean Farrell Britain & Ireland sfarrel1@niu.edu  Zulauf 726
Heide Fehrenbach Modern Germany hfehrenbach@niu.edu  Zulauf 601
Damian Fernandez Ancient dfernandez@niu.edu  Zulauf 724
Rosemary Feurer 20th Century U.S., Labor rfeurer@niu.edu  Zulauf 618
Aaron Fogleman Early America, Atlantic World aaronfogleman@niu.edu  Zulauf 613
Valerie Garver Medieval vgarver@niu.edu  Zulauf 607
Anne Hanley Brazil, Economic ahanley@niu.edu  Zulauf 707
Beatrix Hoffman 20th Century U.S., Medicine beatrix@niu.edu  Zulauf 704
Kristin Huffine Colonial Latin America khuffine@niu.edu  Zulauf 716
Trude Jacobsen Mainland Southeast Asia tjacobsen1@niu.edu  Zulauf 615
Eric Jones Island Southeast Asia iloveroti@gmail.com  Zulauf 714
Natalie Joy Antebellum U.S. njoy@niu.edu  Zulauf 708
Emma Kuby Modern France ekuby@niu.edu  Zulauf 710
Vera Lind Early Modern Germany vlind@niu.edu  Zulauf 610
Amanda Littauer Gender Studies, U.S. alittauer@niu.edu  Zulauf 614
Eric Mogren 20th CenturyU.S., Environmental mogren@niu.edu  Zulauf 712
Ismael Montana Africa montana@niu.edu  Zulauf 616
Brian Sandberg Early Modern France bsandberg@niu.edu  Zulauf 706
James Schmidt 19th Century U.S., Law and Society jschmidt@niu.edu  Zulauf 713
Andrea Smalley U.S. Environmental asmalley@niu.edu  Zulauf 605

Faculty Emeritus

Name Field of Study Email Phone
Joe Burchfield burchfield@niu.edu  828-298-8413
Stephen Foster Colonial Empires, Religion sfoster@niu.edu  773-465-0374
Michael Gonzales Latin America mgonzales@niu.edu 
Stephen Haliczer European, Modern Europe, Spain shaliczer1@comcast.net 
Samuel Kinser sakinser@aol.com 
Barbara Posadas US Immigration, Ethnicity, Women bposadas@niu.edu 
Marvin Powell 815-732-4700
Albert Resis resis@niu.edu  815-756-8994
Elaine Spencer Modern Europe, Germany espencer@niu.edu 
George Spencer Asia, Religion, Comparative/Transnational gspencer@niu.edu 
David Wagner dwagner@niu.edu 
Nancy Wingfield Gender & Sexuality, Habsburg Central Europe nwingfield@niu.edu 
Christine Worobec Imperial Russia, Modern Ukraine worobec@niu.edu 

Contact Us

Northern Illinois University
Department of History
Zulauf 715
DeKalb, IL 60115
815-753-0131
history@niu.edu
Faculty and Staff Directory
Advising Staff

Facebook