Placement Guidelines

We give college credit for AP and Seal of Biliteracy.

AP Exam Credit Scale

To ensure proper credit, send your high school transcripts NIU Recrods and Registration.

Spanish, French, German, Italian, Chinese, Japanese Score = 3 FL 101 and 102
Score - 4 FL 101, 102 201
Score = 5 FL 101, 102, 201,202

Seal of Biliteracy

Make sure that you ask for the credits to be applied. An advisor will help you. In order to do so, NIU Records and Registration will need a high school transcript indicating the Seal of Biliteracy or the Commendation.

  • Seal of Biliteracy = 12 language credits
  • Commendation = 9 language credits

Language Placement Tests

The Spanish placement exam is completed online. Please register to take the online Spanish placement test at the Testing Services website

ASL – Taylor Hartman thartman3@niu.edu

Burmese – Tharaphi Than, tthan@niu.edu

Indonesian – Rahmi Aoyama, rhartati1@niu.edu

Khmer – Kheang Leang kleang1@niu.edu

Russian – Joanna Kot jkot@niu.edu

Tagalog – Rhodalyne Gallo-Crail rgallocrail@niu.edu

Thai – Kanjana Thepboriruk kanjana@niu.edu 

 

Years in high school

Years since last taken a foreign language less than two

C-average or above

Register in

one or less

 n/a

n/a

101

one year

YES

YES

102

two years

YES

YES

201

three years

YES

YES

202

four years

n/a

YES

register in 300-level classes, you have fulfilled the B.A. Foreign Language requirement

Please contact either Professor Bentley (jbentley1@niu.edu for CHINESE / FRENCH / JAPANESE / RUSSIAN) or Professor Cooke-Plagwitz (jpcooke@niu.edu for GERMAN, ITALIAN, and LATIN) for assistance with signing up for the correct class.

For concerns about your placement or if you feel you have been incorrectly placed, contact your advisor no later than the first two weeks of the semeseter for correct placement.

Contact Us

World Languages and Cultures
Watson Hall 111
815-753-1501
askfl@niu.edu