Northern Illinois University FACULTY SENATE PERSONNEL COMMITTEE

November 7, 2023 2:00 p.m. Altgeld Hall Suite 203

MINUTES

Present: Cynthia Campbell, Brian Coller, Veysel Demir, Barbara Gonzalez, Lori Hartenhoff, Woody Johnson, Mark Mellon, Shane Sharp, Tomoyuki Shibata, David Valentiner, Bradley Wiles

Absent: Abul Azad (recused) Laurie Elish-Piper, Yvonne Harris, Virginia Naples, Jeanette Rossetti (recused)

Staff/Guests: Joan Parrish

Call to Order

Gonzalez called the meeting to order at 2:00 p.m.

Adoption of Agenda

Gonzalez requested a motion to approve the agenda. Valentiner moved. Coller seconded. The agenda was approved with no changes.

Approval of Minutes

Gonzalez requested a motion to approve the October 10, 2023 meeting minutes. Sharp moved. Valentiner seconded. There were 2 abstentions. The minutes were approved.

Public Comments

There were no requests for public comment.

Sabbatical

The committee reviewed 46 applications, approved 34 sabbaticals and ranked 12 alternates. The committee discussed using either a weighted number or random number process to rank the candidates. Gonzalez asked for a motion to approve using a weighted number process. Valentiner moved. Sharp seconded. The vote was as follows: Weighted process; 3. Random number process; 7. González asked for a motion to approve the sabbaticals. Valentiner moved. Sharp seconded. There was one abstention. The motion carried.

Clinical Faculty

Gonzalez asked if there were questions about the Faculty Senate bylaw edits that address clinical faculty that the committee has been reviewing. The committee discussed section

9.2.4.2., the last sentence points to an article that does not address what it should. González requested that Parrish bring this discrepancy to the attention of Patricia Erickson. González requested a motion to approve the clinical faculty edits. Sharp moved. Johnson seconded. There was one abstention. The motion was approved.

Meeting and Adjournment

Gonzalez advised the next meeting would be held on January 9, 2024. Gonzalez asked for a motion to adjourn. Hartenhoff moved. Mellon seconded. Hartenhoff moved. The motion to adjourn was approved. Committee adjourned at 3:00 p.m.