MINUTES

FACULTY SENATE

Wednesday, September 1, 2021, 3 p.m. Barsema Alumni & Visitors Center 231 N. Annie Glidden Road, DeKalb, IL Northern Illinois University DeKalb, Illinois

Full Transcript

VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT: Abdel-Motaleb, Akst, Bardolph, Books, Carpenter, Chen, Cheyney, Chomentowski, Clark, D. Collins, Creed, Douglass, Duffin, Duffrin, Fredericks, Grund, Hu, Hunter, Ito, N. Johnson, Jong, Keddie, Kim, Knoll, Lampi, Liberty, Maki, Marsh, McConkie, McGowan, Miguel, Nesterov, Penkrot, Petges, Qin, Richter, Sharp, Sirotkin, Slotsve, Smith, Staikidis, Sullivan, Vahabzadeh, Whedbee

VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT: Allori, Bohanon, Bujarski, Gorman, Montana, Montgomery, Palese, Royce, Valentiner

OTHERS PRESENT: Beyer, Bryan, Griffin, Holmes, Ingram, McEvoy, Saborío

OTHERS ABSENT: Groza, Jaekel

I. CALL TO ORDER

Faculty Senate President **P. Chomentowski** called the meeting to order at 3:05 p.m.

II. VERIFICATION OF QUORUM

A quorum was verified.

III. ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

G. Slotsve moved to adopt the agenda, seconded by **D. Bardolph.** Motion passed.

IV. APPROVAL OF THE APRIL 21, 2021 MINUTES – Pages 4-7

G. Slotsve moved to approve the minutes, seconded by **D. Douglass**. Motion passed.

V. PUBLIC COMMENT

VI. FACULTY SENATE PRESIDENT'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

VII. ITEMS FOR FACULTY SENATE CONSIDERATION

A. Cycles and Constellations: Reimagining Committee Participation in the Department, College, and University
Greg Beyer

Professor, School of Music

Member, University Council and University Advisory Committee to the BOT

VIII. CONSENT AGENDA

- A. Approve the 2021-22 Faculty Senate Standing Committee membership rosters per FS Bylaws, Article 3 Page 8
- B. Approve the 2021-22 University Advisory Committee to the Board of Trustees membership roster, confirming Karen Whedbee for a three-year term, per NIU Bylaws, Article 8.4.1.1 Page 9
- C. Approve Department of Communication Professor Ferald Bryan to serve as the 2021-22 Faculty Senate parliamentarian per FS Bylaws, Article 2.2
- D. Approve faculty candidates running unopposed to serve on committees of the university Page 10
- E. Approve FS President Peter Chomentowski to serve as NIU's academic representative to the <u>State Universities Retirement System Members Advisory Committee</u> (SURSMAC)
 - **D. Collins** moved to approve the consent agenda, seconded by **D. McConkie**. Motion passed.

IX. UNFINISHED BUSINESS

A. Proposed amendment to FS Bylaws, Article 1, Membership of the Faculty Senate – Pages 11-12

SECOND READING/VOTE

Jeffry Royce, Operating Staff Council

The proposal was approved.

Yes - 35

No - 1

Abstain -2

X. **NEW BUSINESS**

Proposed amendment to FS Bylaws, Article 2.1.3, Officers of the Faculty Senate A. Page 13

FIRST READING

Peter Chomentowski, President, Faculty Senate

B. Proposed amendment to FS Bylaws, Article 4.3, Academic Planning Council Page 14

FIRST READING

Omar Ghrayeb, Senior Vice Provost

XI. REPORTS FROM COUNCILS, BOARDS AND STANDING COMMITTEES

- Faculty Advisory Council to the IBHE Linda Saborío report A.
- B. University Advisory Committee to the Board of Trustees – report Felicia Bohanon, Holly Nicholson, Peter Chomentowski Katy Jaekel, Karen Whedbee, Greg Bever
- C. Faculty Rights and Responsibilities Committee – Nancy Petges, Chair – no report
- D. FS/UC Rules, Governance and Elections Committee – Ben Creed, FS Liaison/Spokesperson – report
 - 1. Election of 2021-22 Hearing Panel – A Qualtrics ballot will be distributed to FS tenured/tenure-track voting members following the meeting.
 - 2. By-lot drawing of 15 FS tenured faculty members to serve on the 2021-22 grievance panel for student grievances

The following faculty members were selected by lot:

Sarah Marsh, Management

Bette Montgomery, Family and Consumer Sciences

Kryssi Staikidis, Art and Design

David Maki, Music

Evgueni Nesterov, Chemistry and Biochemistry

Arlene Keddie, Health Studies

In-Sop Kim, Allied Health and Communicative Disorders

Dan McConkie, Law

Melani Duffrin, Interdisciplinary Health Professions

Rich Grund, Theatre and Dance

Lisa Liberty, Special and Early Education

Valia Allori, Philosophy

Yasuo Ito, Physics

David Gorman, English Larissa Garcia, University Libraries

- 3. Election of 2021-22 non-union faculty and staff grievance pool A Qualtrics ballot will be distributed to FS tenured/tenure-track voting members following the meeting.
- 4. Election of Faculty Senate vice president per Faculty Senate Bylaws, Article 2.2. Nominations will be taken from the FS Floor, and election will take place during the meeting.
 - **D.** McConkie nominated G. Slotsve. No other nominations were made. Members approved G. Slotsve to serve as Faculty Senate vice president by voice vote.
- 5. Selection of one FS tenured/tenure-track faculty member to serve as the Faculty Senate president's designee on the 2022 BOT Professorship Award Selection Committee. Nominations will be taken from the FS floor, and election will take place during the meeting.

Committee members review approximately 10 applications online, and the committee meets two to three times between November and February. The person selected to serve on this committee cannot be a candidate for the award, nor have submitted a nomination for the award.

No one volunteered. **P. Erickson** will recruit via email following the meeting.

- E. Social Justice Committee Ismael Montana, Chair report
- F. Student Government Association report Devlin Collins, President Dallas Douglass, Speaker of the Senate
- G. Operating Staff Council Holly Nicholson, President report
- H. Supportive Professional Staff Council Felicia Bohanon, President report

XII. INFORMATION ITEMS

- A. <u>Policy Library</u> Comment on Proposed Policies (right-hand column on web page)
- B. Minutes, Academic Planning Council
- C. Minutes, Athletic Board
- D. Minutes, Baccalaureate Council
- E. Minutes, Board of Trustees
- F. Minutes, Campus Security and Environmental Quality Committee

- G. <u>Minutes</u>, Comm. on the Improvement of the Undergraduate Academic Experience
- H. Minutes, General Education Committee
- I. Minutes, Graduate Council
- J. Minutes, Honors Committee
- K. Minutes, Operating Staff Council
- L. <u>Minutes</u>, Supportive Professional Staff Council
- M. Minutes, University Assessment Panel
- N. <u>Minutes</u>, University Benefits Committee
- O. Minutes, Univ. Comm. on Advanced and Nonteaching Educator License Programs
- P. Minutes, University Committee on Initial Educator Licensure
- Q. 2020-21 Annual Reports
- R. FS 2021-22 dates: Sep 1, Sep 29, Oct 27, Nov 17, Jan 26, Feb 23, Mar 30, Apr 27

XIII. ADJOURNMENT

G. Slotsve moved to adjourn, seconded by **D. Collins.** Motion passed.

Meeting adjourned at 4:06 p.m.