# Northern Illinois University FACULTY SENATE PERSONNEL COMMITTEE

First Meeting of 2020-2021 October 20, 2020 2:00 p.m. Microsoft Teams Meeting

#### **MINUTES**

Present: Beth Ingram, Chad McEvoy, George Slotsve, Elisa Fredericks, Gregory

Conderman, Daniel Boutin, Charles Petersen, Sinclair Bell, Yasuo Ito, Laurel Rigertas, Rich Grund, Robert Tatara, Laura Johnson, Veysel Demir, Jamie

Mayer, Nestor Osorio

Absent: Gerald Blazey, Virginia Naples

Staff/Guests: Joan Parrish, Mia Hannon, Greg Brady

#### Call to Order

Chad called the meeting to order at 2:01 p.m.

#### Adoption of Agenda

McEvoy requested a motion to approve the agenda. Fredericks moved. Conderman seconded. The agenda was approved with no changes.

#### Approval of Minutes

McEvoy requested a motion to approve the March 31, 2020 meeting minutes. Fredericks moved. Grund seconded. The March minutes were approved.

#### **Public Comments**

There were no public comment requests.

#### **FSPC SharePoint Site Overview**

McEvoy discussed the SharePoint site set up for this committee and advised members to contact Joan Parrish is assistance is needed.

#### **Election of Assistant Chair**

Chad requested volunteers or nominations for the committee Assistant Chair. Rigertas volunteered. Petersen seconded. Rigertas was elected Assistant Chair.

## **Special Hearing Board Committee Selection Process**

McEvoy explained the process for nominating candidates from colleges and SPS Council and advised that the list of Special Hearing Board Committee members would be prepared and presented to this committee at the November meeting.

## Overview of Sabbatical Application Review Process

McEvoy explained the Sabbatical applications from the colleges. They will be up on SharePoint within the next couple of weeks in advance of the November meeting. The number that has been approved for sabbatical slots is 36, last year the number was 38.

## <u>Hires with Tenure and Promotion (closed session)</u>

McEvoy explained the two tenure and promotion applications that were submitted. Gwen Gregory as submitted, was approved and this body is being made aware of it for informational purposed only. McEvoy advised that we the committee now needed to go into closed session and read bylaws pertaining to closed session to the committee. McEvoy requested a motion to approve closed session. Petersen moved. Boutin seconded. McEvoy requested a role call vote.

Nester Osorio: Yes Sinclair Bell: Yes

Virginia Naples: Not present

Laurel Rigertas: Yes Daniel Boutin: Yes Veysel Demir: Yes

Gregory Conderman: Yes Charles Petersen: Aye

Rich Grund: Yes Yasou Ito: Yes

George Slotsve: Yes Jamie Mayer: Yes Robert Tatara: Yes Laura Johnson: Yes Elisa Fredericks: Yes

Committee entered closed session at 2:21 pm.

The committee went back to open session at 3:10 pm.

McEvoy asked for a motion to approve tenure for Dr. Diallo to the Provost. Brady asked if there were objections to the candidate being offered the rank of Associate Professor. McEvoy responded that is not a question that is being decided by the FSPC, the issue of rank has already been agreed upon. McEvoy asked for a recommendation to the Provost

to approve tenure for Dr. Diallo. Boutin moved. Conderman seconded. McEvoy requested a role call vote.

Nester Osorio: No Sinclair Bell: No

Virginia Naples: Not present

Laurel Rigertas: Yes Daniel Boutin: No Veysel Demir: Abstain Gregory Conderman: Yes Charles Petersen: No

Rich Grund: Yes Yasuo Ito: No

George Slotsve: Yes Jamie Mayer: No Robert Tatara: No Laura Johnson: Yes

Elisa Fredericks: Not present

## **Next Meeting and Adjournment**

FSPC is scheduled to meet again on November 17<sup>th</sup>. McEvoy asked for a motion to adjourn. Conderman moved. Ito seconded. The motion was approved. Committee adjourned at 3:18 p.m.