MINUTES

FACULTY SENATE Wednesday, April 21, 2021, 3 p.m. Microsoft Teams Meeting Northern Illinois University DeKalb, Illinois

All Faculty Senate members will receive an Outlook invitation to this Teams meeting. Others wishing to join the meeting, please send your request to Pat Erickson at <u>pje@niu.edu</u>.

Full transcript

VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT: Akst, Allori, Aygen, Berke, B. Beyer, Blomquist, Books, Borre, Buck, Carpenter, Chen, Cheyney, Chomentowski, Collins (for A. Johnson), Creed, Dmitruk, Doederlein, Duffin, Fredericks, Furr, Glas, Grund, Hu, Hua, Hunter, Ito, L. Johnson, N. Johnson, Jong, Kasper, Keddie, Konen, Liberty, Maki, Mayer, McCarthy, McConkie, McGowan, Mellon, Miguel, Montana, Nesterov, Nicholson (for Royce), Onder, Palese, Petges, Qin, Richter, Riggs, Sharp, Sirotkin, Slotsve, Smith, Subramony, Sullivan, Surjadi, Tatara, Thu, Vahabzadeh, Valentiner, Whedbee

VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT: Bujarski, Demir, Fanara, A. Johnson, Lampi, Penkrot, Royce

OTHERS PRESENT: Barnhart, Bohanon, Boston, Bryan, Douglass, Falkoff, Frazier, Gorman, Groza, Halverson, Henningsen, Henry, Howell, Ingram, Jaekel, Klaper, McEvoy, Rhode, Saborío, Schatteman, Weffer

OTHERS ABSENT: G. Beyer, Marsh

I. CALL TO ORDER

Faculty Senate President **K. Thu** called the meeting to order at 3 p.m.

II. VERIFICATION OF QUORUM

A quorum was established.

III. ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

C. Doederlein moved to adopt the agenda, seconded by **J. Akst**. Motion passed.

IV. APPROVAL OF THE MARCH 24, 2021 MINUTES – Pages 4-7

D. Valentiner moved to approve the minutes, seconded by **I. Montana**. Motion passed.

- V. PUBLIC COMMENT
- VI. FACULTY SENATE PRESIDENT'S ANNOUNCEMENTS
- VII. ITEMS FOR FACULTY SENATE CONSIDERATION
- VIII. FS-UC RULES, GOVERNANCE AND ELECTIONS COMMITTEE report Ben Creed, FS Liaison/Spokesperson
 - A. Nominations for 2021-22 FS president/UC chair Page 8
 - 1. Peter Chomentowski Pages 9-10

Yes - 37 No - 2 Abstain - 2

- P. Chomentowski is elected.
- B. Approve faculty candidates running unopposed to serve on committees of the university walk-in
 - **D. Valentiner** moved to approve, seconded by **Y. Ito**. Motion passed.
- C. Approve 2021-22 FS-Social Justice Committee membership roster Page 11
 - **P. Chomentowski** moved to approve, seconded by **G. Aygen**. Motion passed.
- D. Elect faculty representative to serve on the Police Chief Search Committee Page 12
 - 1. Jodi Lampi 20
 - 2. Lisa Liberty 12
 - 3. Rich Grund 13
 - **J. Lampi** is elected.
- E. Committees of the University 2021-22 Election of faculty candidates who are running opposed and must be selected by Faculty Senate. Following the meeting, a Qualtrics ballot will be distributed to the tenured/tenure track faculty, clinical faculty and instructor members of Faculty Senate.
- F. Election of Faculty Senate Personnel Committee representatives for terms to begin in fall 2021. Only CHHS and CVPA have vacancies to fill. Those elected must be tenured faculty members of Faculty Senate. Following the meeting, a Qualtrics ballot will be distributed to the tenured/tenure-track faculty members of Faculty Senate, from CHHS and CVPA, respectively.

IX. UNFINISHED BUSINESS

A. Ad Hoc Social Justice Committee recommendations
 <u>View draft report</u>
 Ismael Montana, Chair
 Kendall Thu, Faculty Senate President

G. Slotsve moved that the Faculty Senate endorse this report of the Ad Hoc Social Justice Committee and direct the Faculty Senate Social Justice Committee to continue its work moving forward into the future, seconded by **Y. Ito**. Motion passed.

Yes - 43 No - 1 Abstain - 5

X. NEW BUSINESS

- A. Proposed amendment to Faculty Senate Bylaws, Article 1, Membership of the Faculty Senate Pages 13-14 FIRST READING
- B. Five-Year Review of <u>Student Evaluation of Instruction</u> report Chad McEvoy, Chair, Faculty Senate Personnel Committee Mary Lynn Henningsen, Member, SEI Ad Hoc Committee
- C. Student Learning Outcomes Assessment report Marc Falkoff, Assistant Chair, Academic Planning Council

XI. REPORTS FROM COUNCILS, BOARDS AND STANDING COMMITTEES

- A. Faculty Advisory Council to the IBHE Linda Saborío report
- B. University Advisory Committee to the Board of Trustees report Natasha Johnson, Cathy Doederlein, Kendall Thu Katy Jaekel, Sarah Marsh, Greg Beyer
- C. Faculty Rights and Responsibilities Committee Peter Chomentowski, Chair no report
- D. Student Government Association report
 Antonio Johnson, President
 Bradley Beyer, Speaker of the Senate
- E. Operating Staff Council Natasha Johnson, President report

F. Supportive Professional Staff Council – Cathy Doederlein, President – report

XII. INFORMATION ITEMS

- A. Policy Library Comment on Proposed Policies (right-hand column on web page)
- B. Minutes, Academic Planning Council
- C. Minutes, Athletic Board
- D. Minutes, Baccalaureate Council
- E. Minutes, Board of Trustees
- F. Minutes, Campus Security and Environmental Quality Committee
- G. Minutes, Comm. on the Improvement of the Undergraduate Academic Experience
- H. Minutes, General Education Committee
- I. Minutes, Graduate Council
- J. Minutes, Honors Committee
- K. Minutes, Operating Staff Council
- L. <u>Minutes</u>, Supportive Professional Staff Council
- M. Minutes, University Assessment Panel
- N. Minutes, University Benefits Committee
- O. Minutes, Univ. Comm. on Advanced and Nonteaching Educator License Programs
- P. <u>Minutes</u>, University Committee on Initial Educator Licensure
- Q. FS 2021-22 dates: Sep 1, Sep 29, Oct 27, Nov 17, Jan 26, Feb 23, Mar 30, Apr 27
- R. Email Authentication Upcoming Changes Page 15
- S. Summary of Service Faculty Senate President Pages 16-17
- T. Summary of Service Faculty Personnel Advisor Page 18

XIII. ADJOURNMENT

P. Chomentowski moved to adjourn, seconded by D. Valentiner. Motion passed.

Meeting adjourned at 4:36 p.m.