#### MINUTES

# FACULTY SENATE Wednesday, February 19, 2020, 3 p.m. Holmes Student Center Sky Room

#### **Full Transcript**

**VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:** Arado, Beyer, Buck, Burton, J. Chen, Chomentowski, Clark, Collins, Creed, Demir, Duffin, Dzurian (for Riley), Farrell, Grund, Hanna, Horn (for Zheng), Hua, Jaekel, Johnson, Jong, Joy (for Hanley), Keddie, Kuehl, Lampi, Littauer, Macdonald, Millhorn, Montana, Pendergrass, Penrod, Petgas, Polansky, Powell, Qin, Schatteman, Scherer, Schraufnagel, Sharp, Shi, Siegesmund, Sirotkin, Skarbinski, Slotsve, Staikidis, Subramony, Surjadi, Tatara, Than, Thu, Vahabzadeh, Villanueva, Whedbee, Wilson, York

**VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT:** Bateni, Bennardo, Bujarski, G. Chen, Chmaissem, Duffrin (for McCarthy), Fredericks, Gau, Hanley, Ito, Johnston-Rodriguez, Konen, Koss, Martin, Mayer, McCarthy, McGowan, Millis, Mooney, Moraga, Nelson, Newman, Rau, Riley, Weffer, Zheng

OTHERS PRESENT: Bryan, Edghill-Walden, Groza, Klaper, Royce, Salmon, White

OTHERS ABSENT: Doederlein, Falkoff, Ferguson, Gelman, Marsh, Kortegast, Woodruff

# I. CALL TO ORDER

Faculty Senate President **K. Thu** called the meeting to order at 3 p.m.

### II. ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

T. Arado moved to adopt the agenda, seconded by R. Siegesmund. Motion passed.

# III. APPROVAL OF THE JANUARY 22, 2020 MINUTES

P. Skarbinski moved to approve the minutes, seconded by R. Siegesmund. Motion passed.

#### **IV. PRESIDENT'S ANNOUNCEMENTS**

### V. ITEMS FOR FACULTY SENATE CONSIDERATION

- A. The Bob Lane Faculty Advocacy Award Faculty Senate will vote on the recipient during the February 19 Faculty Senate meeting. The recipient will be honored at the March 25 Faculty Senate meeting.
  - 1. Nomination Richard Siegesmund

2. Nomination – Fred Markowitz

**R. Siegesmund** withdrew his nomination. **J. Wilson** moved to approve the nomination of Fred Markowitz to receive the 2020 Bob Lane Faculty Advocacy Award, seconded by **K. Jaekel**. Motion passed.

- B. Conceptualizing Equity at NIU Vernese Edghill-Walden
  Senior Associate Vice President for Academic Diversity and Chief Diversity Officer
- C. CENSUS 2020 Jeffrey Salmon Dean of Students Office Military and Post-Traditional Student Services

### VI. CONSENT AGENDA

# VII. REPORTS FROM ADVISORY COMMITTEES

- A. Faculty Advisory Council to IBHE Linda Saborío report
- B. University Advisory Committee to the Board of Trustees report Jeffry Royce, Cathy Doederlein, Kendall Thu Alex Gelman, Sarah Marsh, Jason Hanna

# VIII. REPORTS FROM STANDING COMMITTEES

- A. Faculty Rights and Responsibilities Committee Katy Jaekel, Chair no report
- B. Academic Affairs Committee Peter Chomentowski, Chair no report
- C. Rules, Governance and Elections Committee Keith Millis, Liaison/Spokesperson report
  - 1. President of Faculty Senate/Executive Secretary of University Council Call for nominations

Per University Council election results, an updated list of those eligible to be nominated will be provided as a walk-in item during the February 19 Faculty Senate meeting.

Nominations will be taken from the Faculty Senate floor during the March 25 Faculty Senate meeting.

Letters of acceptance of nomination are due in the Office of University Council and Faculty Senate by Friday, April 10. Letters of acceptance of nomination will be provided to faculty senators via email by Wednesday, April 15, and also will be included in the April 22 Faculty Senate agenda packets.

Election of final nominee will be held during the April 22 Faculty Senate meeting.

2. Faculty Personnel Advisor – Call for self-nominations

Letters of self-nomination are due in the Office of University Council and Faculty Senate by **Tuesday, March 17**, and will be included in the March 25 FS agenda packets. **Election will take place during the April 22 FS meeting.** The faculty personnel advisor must be a full-time, tenured faculty member, but does not need to be a member of Faculty Senate or University Council.

D. Resources, Space and Budget Committee – George Slotsve, Liaison/Spokesperson – report

# IX. UNFINISHED BUSINESS

- A. Reimagining Shared Governance
  - 1. Academic Governance ONGOING DISCUSSION
  - 2. University Council Governance

# X. NEW BUSINESS

# XI. PUBLIC COMMENT

# XII. INFORMATION ITEMS

- A. <u>Policy Library</u> Comment on Proposed Policies (right-hand column on web page)
- B. <u>Minutes</u>, Academic Planning Council
- C. <u>Minutes</u>, Athletic Board
- D. <u>Minutes</u>, Baccalaureate Council
- E. <u>Minutes</u>, Board of Trustees
- F. <u>Minutes</u>, Campus Security and Environmental Quality Committee
- G. <u>Minutes</u>, Comm. on the Improvement of the Undergraduate Academic Experience
- H. <u>Minutes</u>, General Education Committee
- I. <u>Minutes</u>, Graduate Council
- J. <u>Minutes</u>, Graduate Council Curriculum Committee
- K. <u>Minutes</u>, Honors Committee

- L. <u>Minutes</u>, Operating Staff Council
- M. <u>Minutes</u>, Student Senate
- N. <u>Minutes</u>, Supportive Professional Staff Council
- O. <u>Minutes</u>, University Assessment Panel
- P. <u>Minutes</u>, University Benefits Committee
- Q. <u>Minutes</u>, Univ. Comm. on Advanced and Nonteaching Educator License Programs
- R. <u>Minutes</u>, University Committee on Initial Educator Licensure
- S. 2019-20 Faculty Senate meeting dates:
  - Sep 4, Oct 2, Oct 30, Nov 20, Jan 22, Feb 19, Mar 25, Apr 22
- T. <u>2018-19 Annual Report</u> Office of the Ombudsperson
- U. HSC Fire Alarm Response from Chief Thomas Phillips
  - General fire safety evacuation information is available in the <u>NIU Emergency</u> <u>Response Guide</u>.
  - Access to the guide is also available via the new NIUSafe App at: <u>Subscribe</u> to Safety Notifications - NIU - Emergency Information
  - A list of evacuation points for the campus is maintained by EH&S, which also publishes an <u>Annual Fire Safety Report</u>.

# XIII. ADJOURNMENT

**W. Penrod** moved to adjourn, seconded by **R. Scherer**. Motion passed. Meeting adjourned at 4:17 p.m.