#### **MINUTES**

# FACULTY SENATE Wednesday, October 3, 2018, 3 p.m. Holmes Student Center Sky Room

## **Full Transcript**

**VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:** Arado, Baker, beamer, Buck, Burns, Burton, J. Chen, Chitwood, Chmaissem, Chomentowski, Chung, Collins, Creed, Demir, Duffin, Fredericks, Haji-Sheikh, Hanley, Hanna, Jaekel, Johnson, Johnston-Rodriguez, Koss, Lampi, Liu, Macdonald, Mayer, Millhorn, Millis, Montana, Myers, Naples, Nejdl, Nelson, Newman, Njue, Novak, Powell, Riley, Ryu, Saborío, Shi, Shibata, Siegesmund, Sirotkin, Sprong, Staikidis, Subramony, Tatara, Than, Thu, Whedbee, Wilson, Zheng

**VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT:** Bateni, Boughton, Briscoe, Bujarski, Chakraborty, G. Chen, Grund, Irwin, Kim, Konen, Mogren, Moraga, Penrod, Rodgers, Schatteman, Scherer, Schraufnagel, Slotsve, Song, Stephen,

OTHERS PRESENT: Bryan, Doederlein, Falkoff, Johnson, Klaper, Marsh, Royce

OTHERS ABSENT: Ferguson, Gelman, Groza, Kortegast, Pietrowski

# I. CALL TO ORDER

Faculty Senate President **T. Arado** called the meeting to order at 3:04 p.m.

# II. ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

**J. Novak** moved to adopt the agenda, seconded by **R. Siegesmund.** Motion passed.

# III. APPROVAL OF THE SEPTEMBER 5, 2018 MINUTES

**T. Buck** moved to approve the minutes, seconded by **L. Beamer**. Motion passed.

### IV. ITEMS FOR FACULTY SENATE CONSIDERATION

A. United Faculty Alliance update – Wendell Johnson

#### V. PRESIDENT'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

## VI. CONSENT AGENDA

**M. Haji-Sheikh** moved to approve the consent agenda, seconded by **R. Siegesmund**. Motion passed.

- A. Approve Department of Communication Professor Betty La France to serve one year (2018-19) on the Campus Parking Committee, replacing Professor Eric Zeemering who resigned from NIU leaving one year remaining on his term.
- B. Approve Department of Accountancy Professor Linda Matuszewski to serve one year (2018-19) on the Student Conduct Board, replacing Professor Akshay Bhagwatwar who resigned from NIU leaving one year remaining on his term.
- C. Approve College of Law Professor Matt Timko to serve one year (2018-19) on the University Press Board, replacing Professor Amy Widman who is unable to complete her term.
- D. Approve Department of Engineering Technology Professor William Mills to serve a three-year term (2018-19, 2019-20, 2020-21) on the Student Conduct Board.
- E. Approve School of Nursing Professor Laura Beamer to serve a three-year term (2018-19, 2019-20, 2020-21) on the University Benefits Committee.

### VII. REPORTS FROM ADVISORY COMMITTEES

- A. FAC to IBHE Linda Saborío report

  IBHE Data Points Transfer Success in Illinois
- B. University Advisory Committee to the Board of Trustees no report Holly Nicholson, Cathy Doederlein, Therese Arado, Alex Gelman, Sarah Marsh, Kendall Thu

#### VIII. REPORTS FROM STANDING COMMITTEES

- A. Faculty Rights and Responsibilities Committee Katy Jaekel, Chair no report
- B. Academic Affairs Committee Sarah Johnston-Rodriguez, Chair no report
- C. Committee on the Economic Status of the Profession Alicia Schatteman, Chair no report

- D. Rules, Governance and Elections Committee Clanitra Stewart Nejdl, Liaison/Spokesperson report
  - 1. Motion to approve Laura Beamer to serve as NIU's alternate representative to the Faculty Advisory Council to the IBHE, completing Rebecca Hunt's term (2017-18, 2018-19, 2019-20).
    - **C. Nejdl** moved to approve Laura Beamer to serve as NIU's alternate representative to the Faculty Advisory Council to the IBHE, seconded by **K. Jaekel.** Motion passed.
  - 2. Selection of one Faculty Senate member to serve as a nonvoting member of the Baccalaureate Council.

The BC meets monthly on Thursdays, 12:30-3 p.m. in Altgeld Hall 125. Meeting dates are: Oct 11, Nov 8, Dec 6 (HSC 306), Dec 13 (only if needed), Feb 14, Mar 21, Apr 11, May 2. This is a one-year term (2018-19) only.

- **K. Jaekel** self-nominated to serve as the Faculty Senate nonvoting representative to the Baccalaureate Council. **C. Nejdl** moved to approve the self-nomination, and the motion was seconded. Motion passed.
- E. Resources, Space and Budget Committee Kirk Duffin, Liaison/Spokesperson report

# IX. UNFINISHED BUSINESS

A. Review of university-wide promotion policies

## X. NEW BUSINESS

# XI. PUBLIC COMMENT

# XII. INFORMATION ITEMS

- A. Minutes, Academic Planning Council
- B. Minutes, Athletic Board
- C. Minutes, Baccalaureate Council
- D. Minutes, Board of Trustees
- E. <u>Minutes</u>, Campus Security and Environmental Quality Committee
- F. Minutes, Comm. on the Improvement of the Undergraduate Academic Experience
- G. Minutes, General Education Committee
- H. Minutes, Graduate Council
- I. Minutes, Graduate Council Curriculum Committee
- J. Minutes, Honors Committee
- K. Minutes, Operating Staff Council

- L. <u>Minutes</u>, Supportive Professional Staff Council
- M. Minutes, University Assessment Panel
- N. <u>Minutes</u>, University Benefits Committee
- O. <u>Minutes</u>, Univ. Comm. on Advanced and Nonteaching Educator License Programs
- P. <u>Minutes</u>, University Committee on Initial Educator Licensure
- Q. 2018-19 Faculty Senate remaining meeting dates: Oct 3, Oct 31, Nov 28, Jan 23, Feb 20, Mar 27, Apr 24
- R. NIU liaison to <u>State Universities Retirement System Members Advisory Committee</u>
  SURSMAC <u>sample meeting agenda</u>
  SURSMAC <u>Constitution and Bylaws</u>

NIU HRS is recruiting one academic and one non-academic employee to serve as liaisons to the State Universities Retirement System Members Advisory Committee. To learn more, contact Celeste Latham or Liz Guess.

S. At large Committee Vacancies

Several university committees currently have at large faculty vacancies, which can be filled by faculty from any college (as opposed to specific college representation). If you have interest in serving, or know someone who does, please contact <a href="Pat">Pat</a> <a href="Erickson">Erickson</a>.

<u>Campus Parking Committee</u> – one vacancy, one-year term. Meets monthly on Thursdays at 1 p.m.

<u>Parking Appeals Committee</u> – one vacancy, three-year term. Meets second and fourth Tuesday of the month, 1:30-3:30 p.m.

T. Nominations for Honorary Degrees – Page 4

## XIII. ADJOURNMENT

M. Haji-Sheikh moved to adjourn, seconded by R. Siegesmund.

Meeting adjourned at 3:50 p.m.