MINUTES

FACULTY SENATE Wednesday, April 24, 2019, 3 p.m. Holmes Student Center Sky Room

Full transcript

VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT: Arado, Bateni, Boughton, Buck, Burton, Chakraborty, J. Chen, Chomentowski, Collins, Demir, Duffin, Ezell, Fredericks, Hanna, Jaekel, Johnson, Johnston-Rodriguez, Jong, Kim, Koss, Lampi, Littauer, Liu, Macdonald, McCarthy (for Duffrin), McKee, McGowan, Millhorn, Millis, Montana, Naples, Nejdl, Nelson, Newman, Novak, Riley, Ryu, Saborio, Schoenbachler, Schraufnagel, Shi, Siegesmund, Slotsve, Staikidis, Subramony, Surjadi, Takai (for Tatara), Than, Thu, Vazquez, Whedbee, J. Wilson, M. Wilson, C. Zheng

VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT: Beamer, Briscoe, Bujarski, G. Chen, Chitwood, Chmaissem, Chung, Creed, Docking, Duffrin, Grund, Konen, Mogren, Moraga, Penrod, Powell, Scherer, Shibata, Sirotkin, Tatara

OTHERS PRESENT: Adzovic, Bryan, Doederlein, Falkoff, Klaper, Johnson, Miller, Underwood, Wallace

OTHERS ABSENT: Ferguson, Gelman, Groza, Kortegast, Marsh, Pietrowski

I. CALL TO ORDER

Faculty Senate President T. Arado called the meeting to order at 3:02 p.m.

II. ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

G. Slotsve moved to adopt the agenda, seconded by **J. Wilson. T. Arado** moved to amend the agenda by removing Item VIII. D. 3, seconded by **G. Slotsve.** Since no faculty members are running opposed for various committee seats, there is no need for the voting task described in Item VIII. D. 3. Motion to amend the agenda passed. Motion to adopt the agenda, as amended, passed.

III. APPROVAL OF THE MARCH 27, 2019 FACULTY SENATE MINUTES

K. Thu moved to approve the minutes, seconded by B. McGowan. Motion passed.

IV. PRESIDENT'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

V. EXECUTIVE SESSION

J. Novak moved to go into executive session, seconded by K. Thu. Motion passed.

- A. Report from the Committee to Evaluate the President of Faculty Senate/Executive Secretary of University Council, Therese Arado Kirk Duffin
- B. Report from the Committee to Evaluate the Faculty Personnel Advisor, Sarah McHone-Chase Mike Konen

VI. CONSENT AGENDA

A. Approve <u>list</u> of faculty candidates running unopposed to serve on committees of the university – walk-in

H. Bateni moved to approve the consent agenda, seconded by an unidentified faculty senator. Motion passed.

VII. REPORTS FROM ADVISORY COMMITTEES

A. Faculty Advisory council to the IBHE – Linda Saborío – report

Higher Education Benefits All of Us

Recommendations by the IBHE Faculty Advisory Council on Program Prioritization and Consolidation

B. University Advisory Committee to the Board of Trustees – no report Holly Nicholson, Cathy Doederlein, Therese Arado, Alex Gelman, Sarah Marsh, Kendall Thu

VIII. REPORTS FROM STANDING COMMITTEES

- A. Faculty Rights and Responsibilities Committee Katy Jaekel, Chair no report
- B. Academic Affairs Committee Sarah Johnston-Rodriguez, Chair no report
- C. Committee on the Economic Status of the Profession no report

- D. Rules, Governance and Elections Committee Clanitra Stewart Nejdl, Liaison/Spokesperson – report
 - 1. Nomination of the 2019-20 Executive Secretary of University Council, who shall also serve as President of Faculty Senate per NIU Bylaws <u>Article 14.5</u>
 - a. <u>Therese Arado</u>
 - b. <u>Kendall Thu</u>

C. Stewart Nejdl noted the two nominees for Executive Secretary of University Council/President of Faculty Senate. Voting took place by secret ballot (clickers).

Therese Arado -24 votes Kendall Thu -26 votes Abstain -1 vote

Kendall Thu was elected as the final nominee for the office of Executive Secretary of University Council/President of Faculty Senate for a one-year term.

- 2. Election of University Council Personnel Committee representatives for terms to begin in fall 2019. Ballots will be distributed at Faculty Senate meeting. Voting will be by college: BUS, HHS and LAS have vacancies to fill. Votes will be counted following the meeting and newly-elected UCPC members will be notified – walk-in
- E. Resources, Space and Budget Committee Kirk Duffin, Liaison/Spokesperson no report

IX. ITEMS FOR FACULTY SENATE CONSIDERATION

- A. Presentation of the Bob Lane Faculty Advocacy Award to Jim Wilson
- B. <u>Recognition</u> of faculty members who have completed their terms
- C. Faculty Development and Instructional Design <u>Presentation</u> Jason Underwood, Director of Instructional Design and Development Tracy Miller, Assistant Director of Operations, Quality Assurance and Compliance
- NIU Day of Giving <u>Presentation</u>
 Michael Adzovic, Director of the Northern Fund
 Kyleigh Wallace, Assistant Director, Northern Fund
 Natalie Troiani, Matching Gift Coordinator

E. United Faculty Alliance update Wendell Johnson, University Libraries President, United Faculty Alliance

X. UNFINISHED BUSINESS

- XI. NEW BUSINESS
- XII. PUBLIC COMMENT

XIII. INFORMATION ITEMS

- A. <u>Minutes</u>, Academic Planning Council
- B. <u>Minutes</u>, Athletic Board
- C. <u>Minutes</u>, Baccalaureate Council
- D. <u>Minutes</u>, Board of Trustees
- E. <u>Minutes</u>, Campus Security and Environmental Quality Committee
- F. <u>Minutes</u>, Comm. on the Improvement of the Undergraduate Academic Experience
- G. <u>Minutes</u>, General Education Committee
- H. <u>Minutes</u>, Graduate Council
- I. <u>Minutes</u>, Graduate Council Curriculum Committee
- J. <u>Minutes</u>, Honors Committee
- K. <u>Minutes</u>, Operating Staff Council
- L. <u>Minutes</u>, Student Senate
- M. <u>Minutes</u>, Supportive Professional Staff Council
- N. <u>Minutes</u>, University Assessment Panel
- O. <u>Minutes</u>, University Benefits Committee
- P. Minutes, Univ. Comm. on Advanced and Nonteaching Educator License Programs
- Q. Minutes, University Committee on Initial Educator Licensure
- R. <u>Documents</u>, Faculty Advisory Council to the IBHE
- S. <u>PCPD-sponsored student focus group</u>
- T. FS 2019-20 dates: Sep 4, Oct 2, Oct 30, Nov 20, Jan 22, Feb 19, Mar 25, Apr 22.

XIV. ADJOURNMENT

An unidentified faculty senator moved to adjourn, seconded by J. Wilson.

Meeting adjourned at 4:20 p.m.