AGENDA

FACULTY SENATE Wednesday, March 27, 2019, 3 p.m. Holmes Student Center Sky Room

T	CAT	T	$\Gamma \cap A$	UD.	DER
ı.	CAL	4L/ .	11)	UN.	DER

- II. ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA
- III. APPROVAL OF THE FEBRUARY 20, 2019 FACULTY SENATE MINUTES
- IV. PRESIDENT'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

V. ITEMS FOR FACULTY SENATE CONSIDERATION

A. Food Insecurity, Coping Strategies, and Academic Risk Among NIU Students: A Preliminary Report

Kristen Borre, Department of Anthropology Courtney Gallaher, Department of Geographic and Atmospheric Sciences

B. Multi Factor Authentication for Faculty and Staff Matt Parks, Chief Information Officer

VI. CONSENT AGENDA

VII. REPORTS FROM ADVISORY COMMITTEES

- A. Faculty Advisory council to the IBHE Linda Saborío report
- B. University Advisory Committee to the Board of Trustees report Holly Nicholson, Cathy Doederlein, Therese Arado, Alex Gelman, Sarah Marsh, Kendall Thu

VIII. REPORTS FROM STANDING COMMITTEES

- A. Faculty Rights and Responsibilities Committee Katy Jaekel, Chair no report
- B. Academic Affairs Committee Sarah Johnston-Rodriguez, Chair no report
- C. Committee on the Economic Status of the Profession no report

- D. Rules, Governance and Elections Committee Clanitra Stewart Nejdl, Liaison/Spokesperson report
 - Nomination for Executive Secretary of University Council/ President of Faculty Senate, 1-year term
 <u>List</u> of University Council members eligible for election – Page 4

Letters of acceptance of nomination are due in the Office of University Council and Faculty Senate by Friday, April 12.

Letters of acceptance of nomination will be provided to faculty senators via email by Wednesday, April 17, and also will be included in the April 24 Faculty Senate agenda packets.

Election of final nominee will be held during the April 24 Faculty Senate meeting.

E. Resources, Space and Budget Committee – Kirk Duffin, Liaison/Spokesperson – no report

IX. UNFINISHED BUSINESS

X. NEW BUSINESS

XI. PUBLIC COMMENT

XII. INFORMATION ITEMS

- A. Minutes, Academic Planning Council
- B. Minutes, Athletic Board
- C. Minutes, Baccalaureate Council
- D. Minutes, Board of Trustees
- E. Minutes, Campus Security and Environmental Quality Committee
- F. Minutes, Comm. on the Improvement of the Undergraduate Academic Experience
- G. Minutes, General Education Committee
- H. Minutes, Graduate Council
- I. Minutes, Graduate Council Curriculum Committee
- J. Minutes, Honors Committee
- K. Minutes, Operating Staff Council
- L. Minutes, Student Senate
- M. Minutes, Supportive Professional Staff Council
- N. Minutes, University Assessment Panel
- O. Minutes, University Benefits Committee

- <u>Minutes</u>, Univ. Comm. on Advanced and Nonteaching Educator License Programs <u>Minutes</u>, University Committee on Initial Educator Licensure <u>NIU Day of Giving</u>, May 7-8 P.
- Q.
- R.

XIII. ADJOURNMENT

Faculty Eligible to Serve as Executive Secretary of University Council/President of Faculty Senate 2019-20

James Burton, Business

Sukesh Patro, Business

William Penrod, Education

Melanie Koss, Education

Vicki Collins, Education

So-Yeun Kim, Education

Gary Chen, Engineering and Engineering Technology

Lin Shi, Health and Human Sciences

Hamid Bateni, Health and Human Sciences

Jie Chen, Health and Human Sciences

Therese Arado, Law

Sharon Nelson, Law

Anne Hanley, Liberal Arts and Sciences

Jie Song, Liberal Arts and Sciences

Amy Newman, Liberal Arts and Sciences

Reed Scherer, Liberal Arts and Sciences

Jim Wilson, Liberal Arts and Sciences

Joseph Stephen, Liberal Arts and Sciences

Amanda Littauer, Liberal Arts and Sciences

Kendall Thu, Liberal Arts and Sciences

Omar Chmaissem, Liberal Arts and Sciences

Jim Millhorn, University Libraries

Kryssi Staikidis, Visual and Performing Arts

Richard Siegesmund, Visual and Performing Arts

Doug Boughton, Visual and Performing Arts