#### **MINUTES**

# FACULTY SENATE Wednesday, February 20, 2019, 3 p.m. Holmes Student Center Sky Room

### **Full transcript**

VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT: Arado, Aygen (for Macdonald), Beamer, Boughton, Buck, Bujarski, Burton, Chakraborty, J. Chen, Chomentowski, Chung, Collins, Creed, Demir, Duffin, Duffrin, Ezell, Grund, Hanna, Jaekel, Johnson, Jong, Kilaparti (for Tatara), Konen, Koss, Lampi, Littauer, McKee, McGowan, Millhorn, Millis, Montana, Naples, Nejdl, Newman, Novak, Powell, Ryu, Saborío, Schoenbachler, Schraufnagel, Siegesmund, Sirotkin, Slotsve, Staikidis, Subramony, Surjadi, Than, Thu, Vazquez, Whedbee, J. Wilson, M. Wilson, Zheng

**VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT:** Bateni, Briscoe, G. Chen, Chitwood, Chmaissem, Docking, Fredericks, Johnston-Rodriguez, Kim, Liu, Macdonald, Mogren, Moraga, Nelson, Penrod, Riley, Rodgers, Scherer, Shi, Shibata, Stephen, Tatara

OTHERS PRESENT: Bryan, Falkoff, Groza, Klaper, McCord, McGill

OTHERS ABSENT: Doederlein, Ferguson, Gelman, Kortegast, Marsh, Pietrowski

### I. CALL TO ORDER

Faculty Senate President **T. Arado** called the meeting to order at 3:01 p.m.

### II. ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

**G. Slotsve** moved to adopt the agenda, seconded by **V. Naples**. Motion passed.

## III. APPROVAL OF THE NOVEMBER 28, 2018 FACULTY SENATE MINUTES

**G. Slotsve** moved to approve the minutes, seconded by **L. Saborío**. Motion passed.

### IV. PRESIDENT'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

### V. ITEMS FOR FACULTY SENATE CONSIDERATION

A. Strategic Enrollment Management Plan
Chris McCord, Acting Executive Vice President and Provost
Presentation
National Student Clearinghouse Research Center

- B. NIU Budget Development
  Sarah McGill, Chief Financial Officer
  Presentation
- C. The Bob Lane Faculty Advocacy Award <u>call for nominations</u>
  Faculty Senate will vote on the recipient during the February 20 Faculty Senate meeting. Recipient will be honored at the March 27 Faculty Senate meeting.
  - 1. Nomination <u>Jim Wilson</u>

**K.** Thu moved to nominate Jim Wilson, seconded by **G.** Slotsve. Motion passed.

### VI. CONSENT AGENDA

### VII. REPORTS FROM ADVISORY COMMITTEES

- A. Faculty Advisory council to the IBHE Linda Saborío report
- B. University Advisory Committee to the Board of Trustees report Holly Nicholson, Cathy Doederlein, Therese Arado, Alex Gelman, Sarah Marsh, Kendall Thu

### VIII. REPORTS FROM STANDING COMMITTEES

- A. Faculty Rights and Responsibilities Committee Katy Jaekel, Chair no report
- B. Academic Affairs Committee Sarah Johnston-Rodriguez, Chair no report
- C. Committee on the Economic Status of the Profession no report
- D. Rules, Governance and Elections Committee Clanitra Stewart Nejdl, Liaison/Spokesperson report
  - 1. <u>Updated list</u> of those eligible to be nominated to serve as the 2019-20 Executive Secretary of University Council/President of Faculty Senate 1-year term

Per UC election results, an updated list of those eligible to be nominated will be provided as a walk-in item during the February 20, Faculty Senate meeting.

Nominations will be taken from the Faculty Senate floor during the March 27 Faculty Senate meeting.

Letters of acceptance of nomination are due in the Office of University Council and Faculty Senate by Friday, April 12.

Letters of acceptance of nomination will be provided to faculty senators via email by Wednesday, April 17, and also will be included in the April 24 Faculty Senate agenda packets.

Election of final nominee will be held during the April 24 Faculty Senate meeting.

E. Resources, Space and Budget Committee – Kirk Duffin, Liaison/Spokesperson – report

### IX. UNFINISHED BUSINESS

### X. NEW BUSINESS

### XI. PUBLIC COMMENT

### XII. INFORMATION ITEMS

- A. <u>Minutes</u>, Academic Planning Council
- B. Minutes, Athletic Board
- C. Minutes, Baccalaureate Council
- D. Minutes, Board of Trustees
- E. Minutes, Campus Security and Environmental Quality Committee
- F. Minutes, Comm. on the Improvement of the Undergraduate Academic Experience
- G. Minutes, General Education Committee
- H. Minutes, Graduate Council
- I. Minutes, Graduate Council Curriculum Committee
- J. Minutes, Honors Committee
- K. Minutes, Operating Staff Council
- L. Minutes, Student Senate
- M. Minutes, Supportive Professional Staff Council
- N. Minutes, University Assessment Panel
- O. Minutes, University Benefits Committee
- P. <u>Minutes</u>, Univ. Comm. on Advanced and Nonteaching Educator License Programs
- Q. <u>Minutes</u>, University Committee on Initial Educator Licensure
- R. 2018-19 Faculty Senate future meeting dates: Mar 27, Apr 24
- S. FS-UC RSB Committee Illinois Open Meetings Act <u>review</u>
- T. Sexual Harassment, Assault and Relationship Experience (SHARE) Survey results

## XIII. ADJOURNMENT

G. Slotsve moved to adjourn, seconded by K. Jaekel.

Meeting adjourned at 4:55 p.m.