AGENDA

FACULTY SENATE Wednesday, February 20, 2019, 3 p.m. Holmes Student Center Sky Room

I. CALL TO ORDER

II. ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

III. APPROVAL OF THE NOVEMBER 28, 2018 FACULTY SENATE MINUTES

IV. PRESIDENT'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

V. ITEMS FOR FACULTY SENATE CONSIDERATION

- A. <u>Strategic Enrollment Management Plan</u> Chris McCord, Acting Executive Vice President and Provost
- B. NIU Budget Development Sarah McGill, Chief Financial Officer
- C. The Bob Lane Faculty Advocacy Award <u>call for nominations</u> Page 4 Faculty Senate will vote on the recipient during the February 20 Faculty Senate meeting. Recipient will be honored at the March 27 Faculty Senate meeting.
 - 1. Nomination <u>Jim Wilson</u> Page 5

VI. CONSENT AGENDA

VII. REPORTS FROM ADVISORY COMMITTEES

- A. Faculty Advisory council to the IBHE Linda Saborío report
- B. University Advisory Committee to the Board of Trustees report Holly Nicholson, Cathy Doederlein, Therese Arado, Alex Gelman, Sarah Marsh, Kendall Thu

VIII. REPORTS FROM STANDING COMMITTEES

- A. Faculty Rights and Responsibilities Committee Katy Jaekel, Chair no report
- B. Academic Affairs Committee Sarah Johnston-Rodriguez, Chair no report
- C. Committee on the Economic Status of the Profession no report

- D. Rules, Governance and Elections Committee Clanitra Stewart Nejdl, Liaison/Spokesperson – report
 - List of those eligible to be nominated to serve as the 2019-20 Executive Secretary of University Council/President of Faculty Senate – 1-year term – Page 6

Per UC election results, an updated list of those eligible to be nominated will be provided as a walk-in item during the February 20, Faculty Senate meeting.

Nominations will be taken from the Faculty Senate floor during the March 27 Faculty Senate meeting.

Letters of acceptance of nomination are due in the Office of University Council and Faculty Senate by Friday, April 12.

Letters of acceptance of nomination will be provided to faculty senators via email by Wednesday, April 17, and also will be included in the April 24 Faculty Senate agenda packets.

Election of final nominee will be held during the April 24 Faculty Senate meeting.

E. Resources, Space and Budget Committee – Kirk Duffin, Liaison/Spokesperson – report

IX. UNFINISHED BUSINESS

X. NEW BUSINESS

XI. PUBLIC COMMENT

XII. INFORMATION ITEMS

- A. <u>Minutes</u>, Academic Planning Council
- B. <u>Minutes</u>, Athletic Board
- C. <u>Minutes</u>, Baccalaureate Council
- D. <u>Minutes</u>, Board of Trustees
- E. <u>Minutes</u>, Campus Security and Environmental Quality Committee
- F. <u>Minutes</u>, Comm. on the Improvement of the Undergraduate Academic Experience
- G. <u>Minutes</u>, General Education Committee
- H. <u>Minutes</u>, Graduate Council
- I. <u>Minutes</u>, Graduate Council Curriculum Committee
- J. <u>Minutes</u>, Honors Committee
- K. <u>Minutes</u>, Operating Staff Council

- L. <u>Minutes</u>, Student Senate
- M. <u>Minutes</u>, Supportive Professional Staff Council
- N. <u>Minutes</u>, University Assessment Panel
- O. <u>Minutes</u>, University Benefits Committee
- P. Minutes, Univ. Comm. on Advanced and Nonteaching Educator License Programs
- Q. <u>Minutes</u>, University Committee on Initial Educator Licensure
- R. 2018-19 Faculty Senate future meeting dates: Mar 27, Apr 24
- S. FS-UC RSB Committee Illinois Open Meetings Act review
- T. Sexual Harassment, Assault and Relationship Experience (SHARE) Survey results

XIII. ADJOURNMENT

Bob Lane Faculty Advocacy Award

The Bob Lane Faculty Advocacy Award recognizes an NIU faculty member for special service to the faculty.

Submit written letters of nomination, identifying the reasons why the nominee should receive the award, to Faculty Senate President Therese Arado no later than noon Wednesday, February 13, 2019. Those letters will be included in the February 20, 2019 meeting agenda packet, and the Faculty Senate will vote on the recipient at that meeting. The recipient will be honored at the March 27, 2019 meeting.

Award recipients are commemorated on a permanent plaque displayed in the Holmes Student Center, which includes the names of all recipients.

Bob Lane Award Recipients

Dave Ripley - 1995-1996 Ken Bowden – 1996-1997 Lorys Oddi – 1997-1998 Sherman Stanage – 1998-1999 Herbert Rubin - 1999-2000 Robert Suchner – 2000-2001 James King – 2001-2002 David Wagner – 2002-2003 Elizabeth Miller – 2003-2004 Joseph "Buck" Stephen – 2004-2005 Rosemary Feurer – 2009-2010 Charles Cappell – 2011-2012 George Slotsve - 2015-2016 Therese A. Clarke Arado – 2016-2017 Donna Munroe – 2017-2018 Kendall Thu – 2018-2019



northern illinois university
Department of Anthropology

Therese Arado Faculty Senate President Northern Illinois University

Dear Therese,

It gives me great pleasure to nominate Dr. Jim Wilson for this year's Bob Lane Faculty Advocacy award. Jim has been a faculty member in the Department of Geographic and Atmospheric Sciences since the fall of 2009. During his ten year tenure at NIU, Jim has exemplified the spirit of the Bob Lane award through his faculty service and contributions. I have had the opportunity to work with Dr. Wilson through Faculty Senate and University Council work and can say, without question, he bears the highest standards of faculty leadership.

Dr. Wilson initially served three terms in the Faculty Senate and the Faculty Senate Steering Committee from 2012-2015. During that time, he also served as a Faculty Senate Liaison to the University Council Resources, Space, and Budget Committee. He was elected to University Council in 2017-2018 and is currently in his second year of a three year term. During that time he has assumed leadership or the Resources, Space, and Budget Committee. I also serve on that Committee and have first-hand experience with Jim's leadership in working with President Freeman, and Vice Presidents Chris McCord and Sarah McGill to develop and nurture a transparent and collaborative budgeting process. Having served on this Committee over ten year ago when budgeting was much more top down, the budgeting climate has been much more faculty and staff collaborative and Jim has played a central role in that effort. He is prepared, deliberative, fair, and collegial in this important role and I expect to see him in shared governance positions in the future. In addition to his shared governance work, Jim is also a Council member in the Center for Southeast Asian Studies and a Faculty Associate in Institute for the Study of Sustainability, the Environment, and Energy.

I highly recommend Jim for the Bob Lane award for which he is richly deserving.

Regards,

Kendall Thu, Chair Presidential Engagement Professor Department of Anthropology Northern Illinois University

Faculty Eligible to Serve as Executive Secretary of University Council/President of Faculty Senate 2019-20

James Burton, Business Sukesh Patro, Business William Penrod, Education Melanie Koss, Education Vicki Collins, Education So-Yeun Kim, Education Gary Chen, Engineering and Engineering Technology Lin Shi, Health and Human Sciences Hamid Bateni. Health and Human Sciences Jie Chen, Health and Human Sciences Therese Arado, Law Sharon Nelson, Law Anne Hanley, Liberal Arts and Sciences Jie Song, Liberal Arts and Sciences *Amy Newman, Liberal Arts and Sciences Reed Scherer, Liberal Arts and Sciences Jim Wilson, Liberal Arts and Sciences Joseph Stephen, Liberal Arts and Sciences Amanda Littauer, Liberal Arts and Sciences Kendall Thu, Liberal Arts and Sciences Omar Chmaissem, Liberal Arts and Sciences Jim Millhorn, University Libraries Kryssi Staikidis, Visual and Performing Arts Richard Siegesmund, Visual and Performing Arts Doug Boughton, Visual and Performing Arts

*If re-elected to University Council in election currently underway. Updated chart will be distributed at the February 20, 2019 Faculty Senate meeting.