FACULTY SENATE MEETING Wednesday, September 6, 2017, 3 p.m. Holmes Student Center Sky Room

I. CALL TO ORDER

- II. ADOPTION OF AGENDA
- III. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF THE APRIL 26, 2017 FS MEETING

IV. CONSENT AGENDA

- A. Approve the <u>2017-18 Faculty Senate Standing Committees</u> membership rosters per Faculty Senate Bylaws Article 3 Page 4
- B. Approve the <u>faculty members of the 2017-18 UC-Steering Committee</u> per NIU Bylaws Article 2.1.1 Page 5
- C. Approve LAS-COMM Professor Ferald Bryan to serve as the 2017-18 Faculty Senate parliamentarian per Faculty Senate Bylaws Article 2.2
- D. Approve EDU-KNPE Professor Zachary Wahl-Alexander to serve a two-year term in an at-large faculty seat on the Parking Appeals Committee per committee membership guidelines
- E. Approve HHS-AHCD Professor Hamid Bateni and LAS-FLAL Professor Tharaphi Than to serve on the 2017-18 Ombudsperson Review Committee per NIU Bylaws Article 20.5.1

V. REPORTS FROM STANDING COMMITTEES

- A. Faculty Rights and Responsibilities Committee Katy Jackel, Chair no report
- B. Academic Affairs Committee Clanitra Stewart Nejdl, Chair no report
- C. Committee on the Economic Status of the Profession Laura Beamer, Chair no report
- D. Rules, Governance and Elections Committee Keith Millis, Liaison/Spokesperson
 - 1. Election of University Council alternates ballots will be distributed at the FS meeting
 - 2. Election of Hearing Panel ballots will be distributed at the FS meeting

- 3. By-lot election of Faculty Grievance Panel members
- 4. Election of a Faculty Senate vice president per NIU Bylaws Article 2.2
- 5. Selection of one Faculty Senate member to serve as the Faculty Senate President's designee on the 2018 <u>BOT Professorship Award</u> Selection Committee.

Committee members review approximately 10 applications online, and the committee meets 2-3 times between November and February. <u>The person selected to serve on this committee cannot be a candidate for the award, nor have submitted a nomination for the award.</u> (Dhiman Chakraborty, Jimmie Manning and John Novak have served in previous years.)

E. Resources, Space and Budget Committee – Sarah McHone-Chase, Liaison/Spokesperson – no report

VI. PRESIDENT'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

- A. Welcome Remarks Acting President Lisa Freeman
- B. Discussion of presidential search process
 Board of Trustees Chair Wheeler Coleman
 Board of Trustees Vice Chair Dennis Barsema

VII. ITEMS FOR FACULTY SENATE CONSIDERATION

VIII. UNFINISHED BUSINESS

IX. NEW BUSINESS

X. REPORTS FROM ADVISORY COMMITTEES

- A. FAC to IBHE Paul Stoddard no report
- B. University Advisory Committee to the Board of Trustees no report Barbara Andree, Cathy Doederlein, Alex Gelman, Mark Riley, Linda Saborío, Kendall Thu

XI. COMMENTS AND QUESTIONS FROM THE FLOOR

A. United Faculty Alliance update

XII. INFORMATION ITEMS

- A. Minutes, Academic Planning Council
- B. Minutes, Athletic Board
- C. Minutes, Baccalaureate Council
- D. Minutes, Board of Trustees
- E. <u>Minutes</u>, Campus Security and Environmental Quality Committee
- F. Minutes, Comm. on the Improvement of the Undergraduate Academic Experience
- G. Minutes, General Education Committee
- H. Minutes, Graduate Council
- I. Minutes, Graduate Council Curriculum Committee
- J. <u>Minutes</u>, Honors Committee
- K. Minutes, Operating Staff Council
- L. Minutes, Supportive Professional Staff Council
- M. Minutes, University Assessment Panel
- N. <u>Minutes</u>, University Benefits Committee
- O. <u>Minutes</u>, Univ. Comm. on Advanced and Nonteaching Educator License Programs
- P. <u>Minutes</u>, University Committee on Initial Educator Licensure
- Q. 2017-18 Meeting Schedule Page 6

XIII. ADJOURNMENT

Faculty Senate Standing Committees – 2017-18

FS-Steering Committee

BUS	Elisa Fredericks, at-large		
EDU	Katy Jaekel, FRR Chair		
EET	Veysel Demir, at-large		
HHS	Laura Beamer, ESOTP Chair		
LAS	Linda Saborío, FS President		
LAS	George Slotsve		
LAW	Clanitra Stewart Nejdl, AA Chair		
VPA	John Novak		
ULIB	Sarah McHone-Chase, RSB Liaison		

FS-Committee on the Economic Status of the Profession

Yao Zheng		
Benjamin Creed		
Sarah Johnston-Rodriguez		
Reinaldo Moraga		
Laura Beamer, Chair		
Alicia Schatteman		
Gleb Sirotkin		
Diane Rodgers		
Jozef Bujarski		
Scot Schraufnagel		
Clanitra Stewart Nejdl		
Fall-Todd Buck		
Spring-Richard Siegesmund		
Sarah McHone-Chase		

FS-Faculty Rights and Responsibilities Committee

BUS	Yipeng Liu
EDU	Katy Jaekel, Chair
EET	Ji-Chul Ryu
HHS	Florensia Surjadi
LAS	Ross Powell
LAS	Jason Hanna
LAS	Karen Whedbee
LAW	Clanitra Stewart Nejdl
VPA	Rich Grund
ULIB	Sarah McHone-Chase

FS-Academic Affairs Committee

BUS	Christine Mooney
EDU	Peter Chomentowski
EET	Veysel Demir
HHS	Hamid Bateni
LAS	Ismael Montana
LAS	Mike Konen
LAS	Andreas Glatz
LAS	Fall-TBD
	Spring-Mitch Irwin
LAW	Clanitra Stewart Nejdl, Chair
VPA	Rich Grund
VPA	John Novak
ULIB	Sarah McHone-Chase

FS/UC-Rules, Governance and Elections Committee

UC Faculty	BUS-Sukesh Patro		
UC Faculty	HHS-Lin Shi		
UC Faculty	LAS-Kendall Thu		
UC Faculty	LAW-Therese Arado, Chair		
FS Faculty	EDU-Laura Johnson		
FS Faculty	LAS-Gary Baker		
FS Faculty	LAS-Keith Millis, FS-RGE		
	Liaison		
FS Faculty	VPA-Fall-Todd Buck		
	Spring-Richard Siegesmund		
SPS	Aline Click		
OS	Holly Nicholson		
Dean	VPA-Paul Kassel		
Student	Rachel Jacob		

FS/UC-Resources, Space and Budget Committee

UC Faculty	EDU-Rebecca Hunt		
UC Faculty	Fall-LAS-Jim Wilson, Chair		
	Spring- TBD		
UC Faculty	LAS-Art Ward		
UC Faculty	VPA-Doug Boughton		
UC Faculty	ULIB-Jim Millhorn		
UC Faculty	LAW-Anita Maddali		
FS Faculty	ULIB-Sarah McHone-Chase, FS-		
	RSB Liaison		
FS Faculty	EET-Abul Azad		
FS Faculty	BUS-Mark Riley		
FS Faculty	LAS-George Slotsve		
FS Faculty	HHS-Hamid Bateni		
FS Faculty	LAS-Kirk Duffin		
Student	Christine Wang		
SPS	Cathy Doederlein		
OS	Holly Nicholson		
Dean	EET-Don Peterson		
CFO	Larry Pinkelton		
Sr Adm-	John Heckmann		
Facilities			
Sr Adm-	Larry Pinkelton		
Finance			

<u>Faculty Members of University Council Steering Committee – 2017-18</u>

LAS – Linda Saborío, Chair		
BUS – Terry Bishop		
EDU – Rebecca Hunt		
EET – Gary Chen		
HHS – Jie Chen		
LAS – Reed Scherer		
LAS – Jim Wilson		
LAW – Therese Arado		
VPA – Janet Hathaway		
ULIB – Jim Millhorn		

2017-2018 MEETING SCHEDULE

STEERING COMMITTEE OF THE FACULTY SENATE STEERING COMMITTEE OF THE UNIVERSITY COUNCIL FACULTY SENATE UNIVERSITY COUNCIL

FS-STEERING	FACULTY SENATE	UNIVERSITY COUNCIL
COMMITTEE 1 – 2:30 p.m.	3 - 5 p.m.	3 – 5 p.m.
UC-STEERING COMMITTEE 3 – 4:30 p.m. Altgeld Hall 225	Clara Sperling Sky Room Holmes Student Center	Clara Sperling Sky Room Holmes Student Center
August 30, 2017	September 6, 2017	September 13, 2017
September 27, 2017	October 4, 2017	October 11, 2017
October 25, 2017	November 1, 2017	November 8, 2017
November 15, 2017	November 29, 2017	December 6, 2017
January 17, 2018	January 24, 2018	January 31, 2018
February 14, 2018	February 21, 2018	February 28, 2018
March 21, 2018	March 28, 2018	April 4, 2018
April 18, 2018	April 25, 2018	May 2, 2018

Spring Break March 11-18, 2018