FACULTY SENATE MEETING MINUTES Wednesday, February 21, 2018, 3 p.m. Holmes Student Center Sky Room

Full Transcript

VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT: Arado, Baker, Beamer, Bishop, Boughton, Carlson, G. Chen, J. Chen, Chomentowski, Chung, Creed, Crowley, Duffin, Fredericks, Glatz, Gray, Grund, Guo, Haji-Sheikh, Hanna, Hathaway, Irwin, Jaekel, Johnson, Johnston-Rodriguez, Liu, Maddali, McHone-Chase, Millhorn, Millis, Montana, Mooney, Naples, Nejdl, Newman, Novak, Pluim, Powell, Rheineck, Riley, Rodgers, Ryu, Saborío, Schatteman, Schraufnagel, Siegesmund, Slotsve, Surjadi, Than, Thu, Whedbee, Zheng

VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT: Bateni, Briscoe, Bujarski, Chitwood, Chmaissem, Hanley, Hunt, Konen, Krmenec, Lampi, Li, Luo, Mogren, Moraga, Patro, Penrod, Scherer, Shi, Sirotkin, Song, Staikidis, Stephen

OTHERS PRESENT: Barnhart, Bryan, Click, Doederlein, Groza, Heckmann, Kassel, Klaper, Phares, Torres

OTHERS ABSENT: Andree, Gelman, Kortegast, Falkoff

I. CALL TO ORDER

Faculty Senate President L. Saborío called the meeting to order at 3 p.m.

II. ADOPTION OF AGENDA

L. Beamer moved to adopt the agenda, seconded by **R. Siegesmund**. Motion passed by voice vote.

III. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF THE JANUARY 24, 2018 FS MEETING

G. Slotsve moved to approve the minutes, seconded by **T. Arado**. Motion passed by voice vote.

IV. PRESIDENT'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

V. ITEMS FOR FACULTY SENATE CONSIDERATION

 A. The Bob Lane Faculty Advocacy <u>Award</u> – Page 4
 Faculty Senate will vote on the recipient during the February 21 meeting. Recipient will be honored at the March 28 Faculty Senate meeting.

- 1. Nomination <u>Kendall Thu</u> Page 5
- 2. Nomination <u>Michael Haji-Sheikh</u> Page 6-8

The Faculty Senate voted using clickers.

K. Thu – 25 votes **M. Haji-Sheikh** – 13 votes

K. Thu was selected to receive the Bob Lane Faculty Advocacy Award.

- B. Art Annex Update
 Paul Kassel, Dean, College of Visual and Performing Arts
 John Heckmann, AVP, Facilities Management and Campus Services
- C. Textbook Affordability presentation Fred Barnhart, Dean, University Libraries
 DeeAnna Phares, Library Assistant and Chair of the University Libraries' Textbook Task Force
 Ian Crone, Director, Holmes Student Center
 Stephanie Torres, Director, Academic Affairs, Student Association

VI. CONSENT AGENDA

VII. REPORTS FROM STANDING COMMITTEES

- A. Faculty Rights and Responsibilities Committee Katy Jaekel, Chair report
- B. Academic Affairs Committee Clanitra Stewart Nejdl, Chair no report
- C. Committee on the Economic Status of the Profession Laura Beamer, Chair report
- D. Rules, Governance and Elections Committee Keith Millis, Liaison/Spokesperson
 - Nomination for Executive Secretary of University Council/ President of Faculty Senate – 1-year term NIU Constitution and Faculty Senate Bylaws <u>citations</u> – Page 9 <u>List</u> of University Council members eligible for election – Page 10 Nominations will be taken during the Feb. 21 Faculty Senate meeting.

Letters of acceptance of nomination are due in the Office of University Council and Faculty Senate by **Friday**, **March 16**, and will be included in the March 28 and April 25 FS agenda packets. **Election of final nominee will take place at the April 25 FS meeting**. The following members were nominated to serve as executive secretary of University Council/president of Faculty Senate:

T. Arado M. Haji-Sheikh A. Hanley J. Wilson

E. Resources, Space and Budget Committee – Sarah McHone-Chase, Liaison/Spokesperson – report

VIII. UNFINISHED BUSINESS

IX. NEW BUSINESS

X. REPORTS FROM ADVISORY COMMITTEES

- A. FAC to IBHE Linda Saborío <u>report</u> Page 11
- B. University Advisory Committee to the Board of Trustees no report Barbara Andree, Cathy Doederlein, Alex Gelman, Mark Riley, Linda Saborío, Kendall Thu

XI. PUBLIC COMMENT

XII. INFORMATION ITEMS

- A. <u>Minutes</u>, Academic Planning Council
- B. <u>Minutes</u>, Athletic Board
- C. <u>Minutes</u>, Baccalaureate Council
- D. <u>Minutes</u>, Board of Trustees
- E. <u>Minutes</u>, Campus Security and Environmental Quality Committee
- F. <u>Minutes</u>, Comm. on the Improvement of the Undergraduate Academic Experience
- G. <u>Minutes</u>, General Education Committee
- H. <u>Minutes</u>, Graduate Council
- I. <u>Minutes</u>, Graduate Council Curriculum Committee
- J. <u>Minutes</u>, Honors Committee
- K. <u>Minutes</u>, Operating Staff Council
- L. <u>Minutes</u>, Supportive Professional Staff Council
- M. <u>Minutes</u>, University Assessment Panel
- N. <u>Minutes</u>, University Benefits Committee
- O. <u>Minutes</u>, Univ. Comm. on Advanced and Nonteaching Educator License Programs
- P. <u>Minutes</u>, University Committee on Initial Educator Licensure

XIII. ADJOURNMENT

L. Beamer moved to adjourn, seconded by J. Novak.

Meeting adjourned at 4:35 .m.