FACULTY SENATE MEETING MINUTES Wednesday, September 2, 2015, 3 p.m. Holmes Student Center Sky Room

Full Transcript

Voting Members Present: Allori, Arado, Arriola, Baker, Beamer, Bishop, Brubaker, Carlson, Cefaratti, Chen, Conderman, Demir, Downing, Feurer, Gilson, Glatz, Grund, Hanley, Hathaway, Hunt, Irwin, Jaekel, Jaffee, Johnson (for Lonergan), Konen, Long, Macdonald, Manning, May, Millis, Mooney, Moraga, Moremen, Naples, Novak, Patro, Pavkov, Pitney, Riley, Rodgers, Rosenbaum, Ryu, Saborio, Shin, Siegesmund, Slotsve, Staikidis, Stoddard, Than, Un, Xie

Voting Members Absent: Abdel-Motaleb, Azad, Bujarski, Campbell, Chakraborty, Deng, Farrell, Giese, Hedin, Hou, Khoury, Lee, Lonergan, Mogren, Penrod, Scherer, Stephen, Thu

Others Present: Adeboje, Armstrong, Bryan, Doederlein, Haliczer, Holly, Hulseberg, Klaper, Streb

Others Absent: Gebo, Shortridge, VandeCreek

I. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 3:10 p.m.

II. ADOPTION OF AGENDA

T. Arado moved to adopt the agenda, **V. Naples** seconded. Motion passed.

III. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF THE APRIL 22, 2015 FS MEETING

IV. PRESIDENT'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

For complete comments, see the meeting transcript.

V. ITEMS FOR FACULTY SENATE CONSIDERATION

VI. CONSENT AGENDA

- A. Faculty Senate Standing Committees Per Faculty Senate Bylaws, Article 3, approve the 2015-16 membership rosters Pages 4-5
- B. University Council Steering Committee Per NIU Bylaws, Article 2.1.1, approve the <u>faculty members of the 2015-16 UC-Steering Committee</u> Page 6

- C. Parliamentarian Per Faculty Senate Bylaws, Article 2.2, approve Professor Ferald Bryan, Department of Communication, to serve as the Faculty Senate parliamentarian for the 2015-16 academic year.
- **R. Siegesmund** moved to approve the Consent Agenda; **G. Slotsve** seconded. Motion passed.

VII. UNFINISHED BUSINESS

- A. Proposed revisions to Faculty Senate Bylaws <u>Article 3</u> Pages 7-8 Rules & Governance Committee and Elections & Legislative Oversight Committee **SECOND READING – ACTION ITEM**
- **G. Slotsve** moved to approve the proposal; W. Pitney seconded. Motion passed.

Yes - 46 No - 1 Abstain - 0

VIII. NEW BUSINESS

A. Proposed revisions to Faculty Senate Bylaws <u>Article 3.1</u> – Page 9
Faculty Senate Executive Committee revised to Faculty Senate Steering Committee
FIRST READING

IX. REPORTS FROM ADVISORY COMMITTEES

- A. FAC to IBHE Sonya Armstrong report

 May 15, 2015 Page 10

 June 19, 2015 Page 11
- B. University Advisory Committee to the Board of Trustees Greg Long, Dan Gebo, Rebecca Shortridge, Leanne VandeCreek, Deborah Haliczer, Holly Nicholson
 - BOT Academic Affairs, Student Affairs and Personnel Committee <u>May 28, 2015</u> – Page 12
 - 2. BOT Finance, Facilities, and Operations Committee May 28, 2015 Page 13
 - 3. BOT Enrollment Ad Hoc Committee June 15, 2015 Page 14
 - 4. BOT Governance Ad Hoc Committee June 15, 2015 Page 15

5. Board of Trustees

```
May 7, 2015 – special meeting – Page 16
May 28, 2015 – special meeting – Page 17
June 18, 2015 – meeting – Page 18-19
```

X. REPORTS FROM STANDING COMMITTEES

- A. Faculty Rights and Responsibilities Paul Stoddard, Chair no report
- B. Academic Affairs Jimmie Manning, Chair no report
- C. Economic Status of the Profession no report
- D. Rules and Governance no report
- E. Resources, Space and Budget Laura Beamer, Liaison/Spokesperson no report
- F. Elections and Legislative Oversight Therese Arado report
 - 1. Election of a Faculty Senate Vice President per NIU Bylaws 2.2
- **T. Arado** called for nominations from the floor. **R. Hunt** nominated **G. Slotsve**. No other nominations were made and nominations were closed. **G. Slotsve** was approved to serve as Vice President of Faculty Senate.
 - 2. Hearing Panel elections ballots will be distributed at FS meeting.
- **T. Arado** advised members to complete the ballots at their seats to be collected and counted following adjournment.
 - 3. By-lot election of Faculty Grievance Panel members
- **T. Arado** selected the following members by lot: Joseph Stephen, Minmei Hou, Sean Farrell, Xiaolin Xie, Therese Arado, Kryssi Staikidis, Mark Riley, Jozef Bujarski, Michael Konen, Valia Allori, Greg Conderman, Linda Saborio, Richard Siegesmund, Gary Baker.

[Following the meeting, it was determined that only 14 names had been drawn. Pat Erickson randomly selected a 15th name which was Mark Rosenbaum.]

- 4. Election of University Council alternates ballots will be distributed at FS meeting.
- **T. Arado** distributed ballots to members from the College of Business and from the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences to be collected and counted following adjournment. Only these two colleges were required to vote in this process as they were the only colleges where the pool of potential alternates was greater than the number of University Council seats.

- 5. Selection of one Faculty Senate member to serve on the 2016 BOT Professorship Award Selection Committee. Committee members review approximately 10 applications online and the committee meets 2-3 times (November/December and January/February). The person selected to serve on this committee cannot be a candidate for the award, nor have submitted a nomination for the award.
- **T. Arado** called for nominations. **J. Manning** self-nominated and was approved.

XI. COMMENTS AND QUESTIONS FROM THE FLOOR

For complete comments, see the meeting transcript.

XII. INFORMATION ITEMS

- A. Minutes, Academic Planning Council
- B. Minutes, Admissions Policies and Academic Standards Committee
- C. Minutes, Athletic Board
- D. Minutes, Board of Trustees
- E. Minutes, Campus Security and Environmental Quality Committee
- F. Minutes, Committee on the Improvement of Undergraduate Education
- G. Minutes, Committee on the Undergraduate Academic Experience
- H. Minutes, Committee on the Undergraduate Curriculum
- I. Minutes, General Education Committee
- J. Minutes, Graduate Council
- K. Minutes, Graduate Council Curriculum Committee
- L. Minutes, Honors Committee
- M. Minutes, Operating Staff Council
- N. Minutes, Supportive Professional Staff Council
- O. Minutes, Undergraduate Coordinating Council
- P Minutes, University Assessment Panel
- Q. Minutes, University Benefits Committee
- R. Minutes, Univ. Comm. on Advanced and Nonteaching Educator License Programs
- S. <u>Minutes</u>, University Committee on Initial Educator Licensure
- T. Meeting Schedule 2015-16 Page 20
- U. Annual Report, Athletic Board
- V. Annual Report, Academic Planning Council
- W. Annual Report, Campus Security and Environmental Quality Committee
- X. Annual Report, Graduate Council
- Y. Annual Report, University Assessment Panel
- Z. Annual Report, University Council Personnel Committee

XIII. ADJOURNMENT

J. Hathaway moved to adjourn; **M. Riley** seconded. Motion passed.

Meeting adjourned at 4:45 p.m.