FACULTY SENATE MEETING MINUTES Wednesday, January 27, 2016, 3 p.m. Holmes Student Center Sky Room

VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT: Arado, Baker, Bateni, Beamer, Bishop, Brubaker, Carlson, Cefaratti, Chakraborty, Conderman, Demir, Downing, Dugas, Gilson, Glatz, Goldenberg, Grund, Hathaway, Hou, Hunt, Irwin, Jaekel, Kidder, Kim, Konon, Long, Macdonald, Manning, May, McHone-Chase, Millis, Montana, Mooney, Moraga, Naples, Nejdl, Novak, Pitney, Riley, Rosenbaum, Ryu, Sagarin, Schatteman, Schraufnagel (for Streb), Shin, Siegesmund, Slotsve, Stoddard, Than, VanderSchee, Xie

VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT: Abdel-Motaleb, Allori, Bujarski, Campbell, Chen, Deng, Farrell, Hanley, Jaffree, Khoury, Lee, Mogren, Patro, Pavkov, Penrod, Rodgers, Saborio, Scherer, Staikidis, Stephen, Streb, Thu

OTHERS PRESENT: Bryan, Crase, Falkoff, Hoffman, Klaper, Montgomery, Phillips

OTHERS ABSENT: Builta, Doederlein, Gebo, Nicholson, Shortridge, VandeCreek

I. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 3:10 p.m.

II. ADOPTION OF AGENDA

Novak moved to accept the agenda, seconded by T. Arado. Motion passed.

III. APPROVAL OF THE <u>MINUTES</u> OF THE NOVEMBER 18, 2015 FS MEETING

T. Arado moved to approve the minutes, seconded by D. Macdonald. Motion passed.

IV. PRESIDENT'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

For complete comments, see the <u>meeting transcript</u>.

V. ITEMS FOR FACULTY SENATE CONSIDERATION

A. <u>Laboratory Safety Committee</u> to supersede Chemical Safety Committee – Pages 3-7

G. Slotsve moved to support the creation of the Laboratory Safety Committee which will supersede the Chemical Safety Committee as presented, seconded by **M. Riley**. Motion passed.

- B. The Bob Lane Faculty Advocacy Award <u>call for nominations</u> Page 8
 Written letters of nomination should be submitted to Faculty Senate President
 Greg Long no later than noon Wednesday, February 10, 2016.
- C. Faculty Security Issues Tom Phillips, NIU Chief of Police

For complete comments, see the meeting transcript.

VI. CONSENT AGENDA

VII. UNFINISHED BUSINESS

 A. Proposed revisions to Faculty Senate Bylaws <u>Article 2</u>, Officers of the Faculty Senate – Pages 9-10
 SECOND READING – ACTION ITEM

W. Pitney moved to approve the proposed revisions, seconded by **G. Slotsve**. Motion passed 41-2-0.

VIII. NEW BUSINESS

IX. REPORTS FROM ADVISORY COMMITTEES

- A. FAC to IBHE Sonya Armstrong report <u>Novmber 20, 2015</u> – Page 11 <u>December 11, 2015</u> – Pages 12-14 January 15, 2016 – report
- B. University Advisory Committee to the Board of Trustees no report Greg Long, Dan Gebo, Rebecca Shortridge, Leanne VandeCreek, Steve Builta, Holly Nicholson

X. REPORTS FROM STANDING COMMITTEES

- A. Faculty Rights and Responsibilities Committee Paul Stoddard, Chair no report
- B. Academic Affairs Committee Jimmie Manning, Chair no report
- C. Economic Status of the Profession Committee no report
- D. Rules, Governance and Elections Committee Therese Arado, Chair report
 - Selection of a committee for the evaluation of the President of Faculty Senate and Executive Secretary of University Council – See Faculty Senate Bylaws, <u>Article 7</u> and NIU Bylaws, <u>Article 14.6.3.10</u> – Pages 15-16

The following names were drawn by lot:

Tharaphi Than, FS Jimmie Manning, FS Jozef Bujarski, FS alternate Barbara Jaffee, UC Linda Saborio, UC Virginia Naples, UC alternate Kylee Wagenecht, UC Student Jorge Jemison, UC Student alternate Cathy Doederlein, UC-SPSC Patricia Liberty-Baczek, UC-OSC

2. Selection of a committee for the evaluation of the Faculty and SPS Personnel Advisor – see Faculty Senate Bylaws, <u>Article 7</u> and NIU Bylaws, <u>Article</u> <u>14.6.3.10</u> – Pages 17-18

The following names were drawn by lot:

Reinaldo Moraga, Faculty Katy Jaekel, Faculty Eric Mogren, Faculty Jana Brubaker, Faculty alternate Steve Builta, SPS Council

E. Resources, Space and Budget Committee – Laura Beamer, Liaison/Spokesperson – report

XI. COMMENTS AND QUESTIONS FROM THE FLOOR

XII. INFORMATION ITEMS

- A. <u>Minutes</u>, Academic Planning Council
- B. <u>Minutes</u>, Admissions Policies and Academic Standards Committee
- C. <u>Minutes</u>, Athletic Board
- D. <u>Minutes</u>, Board of Trustees
- E. <u>Minutes</u>, Campus Security and Environmental Quality Committee
- F. <u>Minutes</u>, Committee on the Improvement of Undergraduate Education
- G. <u>Minutes</u>, Committee on the Undergraduate Academic Experience
- H. <u>Minutes</u>, Committee on the Undergraduate Curriculum
- I. <u>Minutes</u>, General Education Committee
- J. <u>Minutes</u>, Graduate Council
- K. <u>Minutes</u>, Graduate Council Curriculum Committee
- L. <u>Minutes</u>, Honors Committee
- M. <u>Minutes</u>, Operating Staff Council

- N. <u>Minutes</u>, Supportive Professional Staff Council
- O. <u>Minutes</u>, Undergraduate Coordinating Council
- P <u>Minutes</u>, University Assessment Panel
- Q. <u>Minutes</u>, University Benefits Committee
- R. <u>Minutes</u>, Univ. Comm. on Advanced and Nonteaching Educator License Programs
- S. <u>Minutes</u>, University Committee on Initial Educator Licensure
- T. <u>Annual Report</u>, University Benefits Committee
- U. Advocacy and Lobbying Guidelines Pages 19-20

XIII. ADJOURNMENT

D. Macdonald moved to adjourn, seconded by G. Slotsve. Motion passed.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:30 p.m.