NORTHERN ILLINOIS UNIVERSITY COMMITTEE FOR THE IMPROVEMENT OF THE UNDERGRADUATE ACADEMIC EXPERIENCE (CIUAE)

Monday, March 6, 2023 Microsoft Teams Meeting

Approved Minutes

Present:	L. Edwards, W. Gao, E. Garnett J. Gray, F. Ishaq, Y. Ito, W. Johnson, N. Knutson, T. Libert, R. Mazzolini, J-C Wang, K. Wiemer
Absent:	N. Bereolos, M. Christian, F. McClure, J. Rhode, K. Padron, A. Radasanu, N. Richards, R. Tork

Adoption of Agenda: The meeting started at 1:04 p.m. Y. Ito made a motion to approve the agenda; F. Ishaq seconded. Motion was approved unanimously.

Approval of Minutes: Motion to approve the February 6, 2023, minutes by L. Edwards, seconded by E. Garnett. The minutes were approved by unanimous vote.

Old Business: K. Wiemer presented a summary of the award rankings. The Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award (EUTA) rankings uses a wide variety of ratings and were very clear, giving them strong validity and reliability. There were six applicants and the committee agreed that Bill Cassidy, Department of Communication, and Scott Sibley, School of Family and Consumer Sciences, are the top two.

The Excellence in Undergraduate Instruction Award (EUIA) was like the EUTA. There were three applicants and the committee agreed that Taylor Hartman, Department of World Languages and Cultures, is first.

It was also observed that this year's committee rankings matched up nicely, which does not always happen. In discussion about teacher evaluation data E. Garnett noticed some differences by department in the scoring of candidates. Y. Ito suggested maybe developing some sort of scale to address this problem. K. Wiemer said the university is working on unifying the evaluations and scales across departments regarding this issue.

It was motioned by E. Garnett and seconded by Y. Ito to accept the rankings as presented, approved unanimously. William Cassidy and Scott Sibley for the EUTA Awards and Taylor Hartman for the EUIA are the 2023 recipients.

It was noted that Department Chairs, College Deans, and other administration be advised of best practices for nominating and supporting faculty.

J-C Wang said the College of Visual and Performing Arts (CVPA) faculty was not aware of these awards. R. Mazzolini responded the website updates were completed and the award announcements went out last fall, along with follow ups to those colleges from which no nominations were received. CVPA was one of these that indicated they had no nominees. K. Wiemer reviewed the award timeline and process, and L. Edwards confirmed the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (CLAS) has an Advisory Board that reviews applications. K. Wiemer advised that colleges should be contacted well in advance of the deadline to both remind them and follow up on nominations.

At the time of this meeting, there was one application for the David W Raymond Award for Use of Technology in Teaching. It was confirmed the deadline was extended to March 19, 2023, with the hope of receiving additional applicants, and the committee members were asked to advertise the award.

New Business: F. Ishaq was nominated for the CIUAE Chairperson for the 2023-2024 year, which was put to vote via a Qualtrics survey, with the results being announced later.

In other business, N. Knutson joined the meeting due to presenting at another meeting and, after a brief discussion, was updated on the meeting details.

Announcements: None

Adjournment: W. Johnson moved to adjourn, seconded by E. Garnett. The meeting was adjourned by unanimous vote at 1:38 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by Richard Mazzolini.