COMMITTEE FOR THE IMPROVEMENT OF THE UNDERGRADUATE ACADEMIC EXPERIENCE

Monday, March 1, 2021 1:00-3:00 p.m. Zoom Meeting

AGENDA

Present: Venu Korampally, Tom Libert, Daryl Dugas, Elisa Fredericks, Wendell Johnson, Brooke Lavite, Emma McMahon, Lee Sunderlin, Danielle Young, Amanda Newman, Katja Weimer, Jason Rivera, Sinclair Bell, Michelle Nunez Salas, Jennifer Gray, Trude Jacobsen, Guest Jason Rhode

The meeting began at 1:02pm.

Adoption of Agenda

Venu Korampally motioned to adopt the meeting agenda, and Elisa Fredericks seconded. Daryl Dugas asked to amend the agenda to add V New Business b., Nomintations for '21 – '22 CIUAE Chair. The amended motion passed.

Approval of Minutes from February 1, 2021

Elisa Fredericks moved to approve the minutes from February 1, 2021, and Katja Wiemer seconded. The motion was approved.

Announcements

No announcements were made.

Old Business

There was no old business.

New Business

Presentation on Center for Innovative Teaching and Learning:

Jason Rhode shared <u>https://citl.niu.edu/belonging</u> and discussed the parts of the page as they relate to student engagement.

How CIUAE can help:

- Continue to raise awareness among faculty and colleges of importance of student sense of belonging
- Encourage continued to use technology to increase engagement even when COVID protocols are over

Follow-up questions:

Do some students prefer the online environment and is NIU fearful of losing those students? There is no hard data, but anecdotally, some students like it and others would prefer a traditional college experience. Probably among undergraduates, a majority of them would prefer the traditional experience. Rhode does anticipate a slightly larger population of online learners post-COVID, expecially among adult learners, but not a mass exodus from NIU to online-only universities.

Is there any plan for faculty development programs about how to create a sense of belonging in an online environment? There have not been any such programs yet because of limited resources vs. great needs. However, in the future there will be programming that supports faculty in creating a sense of belonging in their classes. Rhode invited CIUAE to help with this by presenting on this topic.

Nominations for '21 – '22 CIUAE Chair:

No one agreed to be nominated, so the issue was tabled. Nomination and election will take place at the April meeting. Campbell will check with the Administrative Assistant to the University Council to see whether co-chairs will be allowed.

Selection of recipients of the EUTA, the EUIA, and the David Raymond Grant:

Considerations

- Give more weight to deliberation instead of the tally of the evaluation numbers than in the past (use numbers for guidance only).
- Allow this to be a student-led process as the EUTA & EUIA awards are intended to be student-led. This is not as important for the Raymond Grant, though student voices are still essential to that award.

Process

- Deliberation will begin in small groups to accommodate those considerations. One break-out group will be students only to give a unified and strong student voice to the decisions.
- The committee will deliberate in small group for EUTA, then come back to full committee to make decision; then deliberate in small groups for EUIA, then make a full group decision, then deliberate in small groups for the David Raymond Grant, then make decision as a full committee.

Awards

EUTA

- Jason Rivera moved to nominate Beatrix Hoffman for one of the awards. Trude Jacobsen seconded the motion. After discussion, the motion carried.
- Trude Jacobsen moved to nominate Allison Gladfelter for another award. Jennifer Gray seconded the motion. This was tabled to discuss other candidates.

- Venu Korampally moved to nominate Karen Whedbee. No second, so this did not progress.
- Lee Sunderlin moved to nominate Leonard Clapp. Katja Wiemer seconded. After discussion, the motion was approved.
- Because several people cited Jeffrey Chan as a possible better alternative during the Gladfelter discussion, Dugas opened the floor for discussion of the distinction between the two.
- No motion was offered to nominate Chan for the award, so Dugas returned to the tabled motion to award the final EUTA to Alison Gladfelter. The motion carried.
- Final results: EUTA awards go to Beatrix Hoffman, Leonard Clapp, and Allison Gladfelter

EUIA

Elisa Fredericks nominated Theresa Annis for this year's EUIA, and Lee Suderlin seconded. The motion passed. [Note: there was no small group deliberation for this award because of time constraints, even though the original plan was to have small group time].

Raymond David Grant

Two considerations when thinking about this award:

- There two ways to interpret innovative use of technology are using innovative technolgy in the classroom, or using everday technology in innovative ways in the classroom.
- Be mindful not to let this become a STEM award.

What are the most important criteria?

- Greater weight given to innovations that can be applied more broadly to other universities (more important than whether innovations can be applied to other disciplines).
- Greater weight given to community impact.

Trude Jacobsen moved to give the award to Nathan Stansell and Venu Korampally seconded the motion. Dugas amended the motion to consider Stansell as one of the top three. The motion passed.

Jennifer Gray moved to nominate Christine Nguyen as a top three nominee. Jason Rivera seconded. The motion passed.

Katja Wiemer moved to nominate Gregory Beyer as a top three nominee, but there was no second.

Katja Wimer moved to include Thomas Bough as a top three nominee, and Jennifer Gray seconded. The motion passed.

Dugas called for a vote among Professors Stansell, Nguyen, and Bough, to narrow down the top two candidates. Stansell and Nguyen were chosen.

Trude Jacobsen moved to name Nathan Stansell as the top candidate. Elisa Fredericks seconded. The vote was tied.

Lee Sunderlin motioned to split the award if possible, or award to Nguyen if not possible because the students agreed on Nguyen. Jason Rivera Seconded. The motion passed.

[Editorial note: After the meeting, Campbell discovered that the award may NOT be split. Therefore, the award goes to Christine Nguyen as agreed at the meeting.]

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 3:01pm.

Respectfully submitted, Karen Campbell