COMMITTEE FOR THE IMPROVEMENT OF THE UNDERGRADUATE ACADEMIC EXPERIENCE

Monday, February 1, 2021 1:00-3:00 p.m. Zoom Meeting

Minutes

Present: Daryl Dugas, Elisa Fredericks, Brooke Lavite, Lee Sunderlein, Wendell Johnson, Trude Jacobsen, Tom Libert, Venu Korampally, Emma McMahon, Katja Wiemer, Amanda Newman, Jake Sommer, Jennifer Gray, Michaela Holtz, Jason Rivera, Michelle Nunez, Andrea Radasanu, Sinclair Bell, Jenna Pracht.

The meeting opened at 1:01pm.

Adoption of Agenda

Katja Wiemer motioned to approve the agenda, and Lee Sunderlein seconded, The motion was approved.

Approval of Minutes from December 7, 2020 meeting

Venu Korampally moved to approve the December 7, 2020 minutes, and Jake Sommer seconded the motion. The motion was approved.

Announcements

- Renique Kersh has resigned. The committee is waiting for a new representative from the Senior Vice Provost's Office.
- After today, there are only two meetings left for the year. Subcommittes should use their work time to lay groundwork for next year.
- Elections for next year's chair will be the April meeting, so nominations will be accepted at the March meeting. Campbell will let everyone know who will not be back in the fall. Others who do not wish to serve as the Chair should email Campbell.
- Dugas/Campbell will try to have student reps for fall identified before the end of this term.

Process for choosing award recipients

Information about the nominees and scoresheets will be distributed in the next few days.

Dugas reviewed scoring direction document that was sent out to everyone earlier today.

Clarifications on the directions:

• When scoring the nominees, reviewers should not worry about the scale others are using; they should just be consistent with themselves. While the scoring informs the discussion, awards are given based on the discussion held at the March meeting.

- Committee members are not eligible to receive any of the awards decided by this committee.
- Non-voting members are of this committee are Jake Sommmer, Tom Libert, Michaela Holtz, Amanda Newman, Andrea Radasanu, and Danielle Young. Campbell will send this information by email as well.
- For the David Raymond Award, P1 and P2 on the scoring rubric should be judged on a scale of 1 – 20.

<u>Guest Speaker Jenna Pracht, Director of Orientation and First Year Programs</u> Offices that might be able to assist with the goal of helping students feel more connected to the university:

Orientation and First Year Programs

- This unit focuses on the first year of programming for students. It partnered with the University of Chicago Poverty Lab to do a survey of student connectedness and belonging. The data is not ready, but Pracht is willing to come back to CIUAE to present when that data is available.
- The unit will soon be distributing a Huskies First survey that measures non-cognitive readiness for college. The individual results of the survey will be used to connect students to appropriate support services in the university.
- The common read will be used to increase a sense of social belonging, being used throughout the university and not just in the UNIV 101 class.
- Three of the NESSE studies could be used to inform new ideas for increasing students' sense of belonging. Social belonging is a university-wide focus.

Office of Community Relations - Jennifer Groce can help with campus/DeKalb relations to increase feeling of belonging.

Cultural Centers and Extra Support Areas have valuable information. They can all share what initiatives they are taking to keep students engaged and increase their sense of belonging.

- Anne Edwards (Center for Black Studies)
- Luis Santos Rivas (Latino Resource Center)
- Molly Holmes (Gender and Sexuality Resource Center)
- Amanda Newman & Debra Miller (Disability Resource Center)
- Michelle Bringas (Asian American Resource Center)
- Meg Junk (Student Organizations)
- Alex Pitner (Greek Life)
- Jen Manning & Kelly Olson (Evening and Late-Night Programming)

Subcommittee Work Time

The subcommittees reflected on the following questions:

- What are some directions we know we want to pursue?
- What offices might be helpful?

• Where are we stuck?

Wiemer and Rivera will each send a written report of their subcommittee's discussion.

<u>Adjournment</u>

Wendall Johnson moved to adjourn the meeting, and Jason Rivera seconded. The motion was approved. Campbell failed to record the adjournment time.

Respectfully Submitted,

Karen Campbell