Northern Illinois University COMMITTEE FOR THE IMPROVEMENT OF THE UNDERGRADUATE ACADEMIC EXPERIENCE (CIUAE) 2019-2020 MEETING #2 Monday, October 7, 2019

MINUTES

APPROVED

- Present: Sheila Barrett (HHS); Jeanne Baxter (Alumni Association Rep., Ex-officio); Zac Birch (Housing & Dining rep, Ex-officio); Daryl Dugas (COE); Elisa Fredericks (COB); Cindy Hellyer-Heinz (CVPA); Sarah Holmes (ULIB); Trude Jacobsen (CLAS); Ed Klonoski (Associate Vice Provost, Ex-officio); Isabella Lamarre (CLAS student); Brooke Lavite (CLAS student); Angela Lobdell (COE student); Andrea Radasanu (Acting Honors Director, Ex-officio); Brittany Secor (HHS student); Andrea Swofford (CVPA student); Amari White (SA representative)
- Absent: Michelle Bringas (AARC Director, Ex-officio); Venumadhav Korampally (CEET); Kelly Olson VP Student Affairs-designee, Ex-officio)

I. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

E. Fredericks made a motion to approve the agenda, seconded by T. Jacobsen. **Motion passed unanimously.**

II. INTRODUCTIONS

Members introduced themselves.

III. APPROVAL OF MINUTES FROM September 9, 2019 minutes

E. Fredericks made a motion to approve the minutes from the September 9, 2019 meeting, seconded by T. Jacobsen. **Motion passed unanimously.**

IV. OLD BUSINESS

D. Dugas explained the duties and purpose of the committee for the new members present.

D. Dugas explained the EUIA/EUTA awards were developed to be a student-initiated process. The applications were reviewed and updates made where appropriate, particularly to the timeline. EUIA/EUTA applications will available to campus on October 15th. Notification will also go to Deans and department chairs.

There was discussion regarding how to increase the number of applicants for the David Raymond Technology in Teaching Award. Direct mailing to faculty was one idea. Having flyers for student organizations and departments to display. Committee members were encouraged to identify qualifying faculty and make them aware of the award. Student members were also encourage to let their professors know about the award. Once flyers were designed, students would be able to pick them up from the Provost's office. There was discussion about the work the committee had done last year as it pertains to textbook affordability. S. Holmes talked about how University Libraries set aside \$5000 to assist. All textbooks cannot be purchased and are therefore prioritized. She spoke about open educational resources. Subject specialist are also available to assist faculty. Typically books with access codes cannot be purchased however if the access code can be purchased separately then the book could be purchased. E. Klonoski talked about the presentation that CENGAGE made to the committee last year. Students can purchase a CENGAGE subscription that would give them access to all the textbooks that are part of that company. He also mentioned that financial aid could be used to purchase books.

The committee wants to focus on the dissemination of the textbook information gathered last year. Representatives from Enrollment Management and Marketing Communications will be invited to the next meeting.

V. NEW BUSINESS

D. Dugas is interested in increasing collaboration and networking with the campus community. He will be meeting with the Curricular Deans soon. He will also be attending the Student Association Town Hall meeting next week.

D. Dugas talked about changing the recruitment of student members. Typically, student members are recruited in the fall semester, the suggestion was to have the student recruitment done in the spring for the upcoming fall.

VI. BYLAW CORRECTION UPDATE

The current Bylaws of the committee indicate that the committee ... recommend to the University Council policies and programs... however, this is believed to be a typo. Based on the reporting structure of the two committees that were combined to create this committee, the Baccalaureate Council (BC) is the appropriate reporting line. This matter will be taken to the BC and then to the University Council for correction.

VII. ADJOURNMENT

Z. Birch made a motion to adjourn at 1:56 p.m., seconded by S. Holmes. **Motion passed** unanimously.

Respectfully submitted, Jeanne Ratfield Administrative Support Office of the Vice Provost for Undergraduate Studies