Northern Illinois University

COMMITTEE FOR THE IMPROVEMENT OF THE UNDERGRADUATE ACADEMIC EXPERIENCE (CIUAE) 2019-2020 MEETING #6

Monday, March 2, 2020

MINUTES

UNAPPROVED

Present: Sheila Barrett (HHS); Zac Birch (Housing & Dining rep, Ex-officio); Daryl Dugas (COE);

Elisa Fredericks (COB); Janet Hathaway (for Cindy Hellyer-Heinz of CVPA); Trude Jacobsen (CLAS); Venumadhav Korampally (CEET); Isabella Lamarre (CLAS student);

Brooke Lavite (CLAS student); Andrea Swofford (CVPA student)

Absent: Jeanne Baxter (Alumni Association Rep., Ex-officio); Michelle Bringas (AARC Director,

Ex-officio); Evadne Bowlin (COE student); Sarah Holmes (ULIB); Renique Kersh (Associate Vice Provost, Ex-officio); Andrea Radasanu (Honors Director, Ex-officio);

Amari White (SA representative)

I. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

S. Barrett made a motion to approve the agenda, seconded by T. Jacobsen. **Motion passed unanimously.**

II. APPROVAL OF MINUTES FROM February 3, 2020 minutes

T. Jacobsen made a motion to approve the minutes from the February 3, 2020 meeting, seconded by S. Barrett. **Motion passed unanimously.**

III. OLD BUSINESS

Selection of EUTA, Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award

D. Dugas presented the committee with the spreadsheet of combined scores for all the individuals nominated for the award. T. Jacobsen motioned to select Alicia Finch from the Department of Philosophy, seconded by B. Lavite. V. Korampally motioned to select Jamie Mayer from the School of Allied Health & Communicative Disorders, seconded by E. Fredericks. T. Jacobsen motioned to select Douglas Wallace from the Department of Psychology seconded by B. Lavite. **Motion passed unanimously.**

Selection of EUIA, Excellence in Undergraduate Instruction Award

D. Dugas presented the committee with the spreadsheet of combined scores for all the individuals nominated for the award. E. Fredericks motioned to select Kerry Sagebiel from the Department of Anthropology, A. Swofford seconded. **Motion passed unanimously.**

Selection of David W. Raymond Grant for the Use of Technology in Teaching

The committee received one application for the Raymond Grant, Dr. Shanthi Muthuswamy. V. Kormpally motioned to award to Dr. Muthuswamy, seconded by T. Jacobsen. **Motion passed unanimously.**

IV. NEW BUSINESS

Selection of Chair in May

The committee discussed the need for a chair to be selected in May for the next academic year to provide continuity. It was agreed that Mia Hannon would send out an email of eligible faculty (faculty already on the committee and continuing next year) to be nominated. M. Hannon will collect the nominations, which will be discussed at the April meeting and voting would be conducted at the May meeting. T. Jacobsen motioned, E. Fredericks seconded. **Motion passed unanimously.**

Meeting Location

There was discussion if a change in meeting location would be beneficial to the committee members? After much discussion T. Jacobsen made a motion to keep the meetings in Altgeld Hall, seconded by I. Lamarre. **Motion passed unanimously.**

Research Similar Committees at Comparable Universities, Subcommittees, Role of Non-voting Members

There was discussion but no definitive decisions were made. These topics will require further discussion at the next meeting.

ADJOURNMENT

S. Barrett made a motion to adjourn at 2:14 p.m., seconded by E. Fredericks. **Motion passed unanimously.**

Respectfully submitted,
Mia Hannon
Administrative Support
Office of the Vice Provost for Undergraduate Studies