Northern Illinois University

COMMITTEE FOR THE4 IMPROVEMENT OF THE UNDERGRADUATE ACADEMIC EXPERIENCE (CIUAE) 2018-2019 MEETING #5

Monday, March 4, 2019

MINUTES

APPROVED

Present: Zac Birch (Housing & Dining rep.-Ex-officio); Dhiman Chakraborty (CLAS); Daryl

Dugas (COE); Angela Grippo (CLAS); Cindy Hellyer-Heinz (CVPA); Trude Jacobsen (CLAS); Michael Kane (CLAS-SAC); Ed Klonoski (Associate Vice Provost, Ex-officio);

Kelly Olson (VP SAEM designee-Ex-officio); Cassandra Pilcher (CLAS-SAC)

Absent: Pat Anderson (Alumni Association-Ex-officio); Sheila Barrett (HHS); Brianno Coller

(CEET); Elisa Fredericks (COB); Todd Gilson (Honors Director, Ex-officio); Sarah

Holmes (ULIB); Emilie Nkangu (HHS-SAC)

Guest: Renique Kersh, Associate Vice Provost for Student Engagement and Success

I. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

A motion was made by C. Hellyer-Heinz to approve the agenda, seconded by M. Kane adding an update by Associate Vice Provost Renique Kersh prior to the award selection. **Motion passed unanimously.**

II. STRATEGIC ENROLLMENT MANAGEMENT UPDATE – R. Kersh

Associate Vice Provost Kersh spoke about the Strategic Enrollment Management (SEM) group and its strategic plan. The group is looking at recommending that UNIV 101 be required course. There is evidence supporting the success and perseverance of students who have taken the course.

She talked about academic advising and the desire to follow the NACADA (National Academic Advising Association) recommendation advisor to student ratio of 1:300. This is not the current situation throughout campus. Michelle Pickett, director of the Academic Advising Center, has been tasked with looking into advisor training and development as well as assessment of advising at NIU. There has not been an institution-wide assessment of advising. There is a desire for standardization of advisement on campus. The advising council wishes to have a formal recognition program for advisors, which is still being developed and vetted.

III. NEW BUSINESS

Selection of EUIA/EUTA Recipients

Chair T. Jacobsen presented the committee with a spreadsheet of the combined scores for all the individuals nominated for each type of award. It was clear from those evaluations that Natalie Young from SEED was the clear winner for EUIA. For the EUTA, the top three ranking individuals were Timothy Ryan from ENGL, Kate Cady from COMM and Myoung Jung from SEED. A. Grippo made a motion, seconded by Z. Birch to make the awards to these individuals. **Motion passed unanimously.**

There was a brief discussion regarding the course evaluations and ensuring that the submissions included the number of evaluations received.

VI. ADJOURNMENT

D. Dugas made a motion to adjourn at 1:41 p.m., seconded by Z Birch. **Motion passed unanimously.**

Respectfully submitted, Jeanne Ratfield Administrative Support Office of the Vice Provost for Undergraduate Studies