Northern Illinois University

COMMITTEE FOR THE IMPROVEMENT OF THE UNDERGRADUATE ACADEMIC EXPERIENCE

8th Meeting (First meeting of 2017-2018)

Monday, September 11, 2017

MINUTES

APPROVED

- Present: Sheila Barrett (HHS); Dhiman Chakraborty (CLAS); Brianno Coller(CEET); Kerry Freedman (CVPA); Elisa Fredericks (COB); Trude Jacobsen (CLAS); Ed Klonoski (Associate Vice Provost, Ex-officio)
- Absent: Pat Anderson (Alumni Association-Ex-officio); Todd Gilson (Honors Director, Ex-officio); Sarah Holmes (ULIB); Angela Kaminski (VP SAEM designee-Ex-officio); Jennifer Manning (HOUS-Exofficio)

I. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

A motion was made by K. Freedman to approve the agenda, seconded by S. Barrett. **Motion passed unanimously.**

II. INTRODUCTIONS

Committee members introduced themselves.

III. ELECTION OF COMMITTEE CHAIR

After a brief discussion, K. Freedman nominated S. Barrett to serve as chair of the committee, seconded by E. Fredericks. **The committee voted unanimously to approve the nomination**.

IV. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

A motion by E. Fredericks was made to approve the May 1, 2017 minutes, seconded by T. Jacobsen. **Motion pass unanimously.**

D. Chakraborty asked about the follow-up on whether other EUIA/EUTA applications were overlooked last year. E. Klonoski said the CVPA were the only ones overlooked. The EUTA applicant from last year will be allowed to update their application if desired and would be reviewed in addition to any submission that CVPA may submit this year.

V. ANNOUNCEMENTS

The committee reviewed their bylaws and discussed their duties and expectations. The to-do list and schedule created at the last meeting was reviewed. There was discussion about the committee's relationship with First- and Second-Year Experience. K. Freedman mentioned it had been discussed last year but a decision was not made about what the relationship would be. E. Klonoski suggested inviting the Associate Director, Lauren Napolitano, to the next meeting to inquire how the committee can assist/support FSYE. K. Freedman suggested that a representative from FSYE be invited to the second hour of the first meeting of each semester.

S. Barrett talked about faculty members encouraging students within their department or college to get involved with the committee. T. Jacobsen volunteered to write a brief, student-friendly statement of the committee's duties to be able to distribute to encourage student participation.

There was discussion of how the committee obtains information on topics of interest/importance to the students. Last year student association representatives were invited to share their thoughts on topics they felt were important. D. Dugas developed a survey that was sent to student organizations to solicit information. T. Jacobsen said that she would be willing to create a survey for students this year.

E. Klonoski reminded the committee of their textbook discussion from last year. He talked about the deadlines for add/drop and the generous timeline the university currently has. He reminded the members the impact that has on the students' ability to receive their financial aid, and how some students don't get their books until week three of the semester. He said there would be discussion about withdrawals as well later in the semester. There seems to be interest in making a change to the time allowed for withdrawals. Currently it is at week 8, there has been discussion among advising directors to possible extend that to week 10.

VI. OLD BUSINESS

There was discussion of the Excellence in Undergraduate Instruction and Teaching award applications. K. Freedman believes that the changes made to the rubric were not reflected in the corresponding sections of the application. It was agreed that committee members would review these documents as well as the David Raymond Technology in Teaching applications online, making edits/comments as by September 25, 2017. There can be a final review at the next meeting.

VII. NEW BUSINESS

N/A

VIII. ADJOURNMENT

K. Freedman made a motion to adjourn at 2:25 p.m., seconded by E. Fredericks. **Motion passed unanimously.**

Respectfully submitted, Jeanne Ratfield Administrative Assistant to the Vice Provost for Undergraduate Academic Affairs Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost