# OFFICIAL MINUTES BACCALAUREATE COUNCIL

#### First Meeting/Academic year 2022-23 September 8, 2022

Hybrid Meeting Format: Face-to-Face in University Suite, Holmes Student Union and Remote via Microsoft Teams

<u>Voting Members Present:</u> A. Ferguson (BUS), S. Ehsani (BUS), N. Andzik (EDU), E. Sebastio (CEDU), J. E. Strid (CEDU), I. Salehinia (CEET), A. Saravanan (CHHS), M. Shokrani (CHHS), K. Thepboriruk (CLAS), T. Jacobsen Gidaszewski (CLAS), A. Schatteman (CLAS), C. Kuja (CLAS Student), B. McGowan (University Libraries), M. Myles (Advising).

Voting Members Absent: R. Houze (CVPA), B. Hart (CVPA), M. Vaezi (CEET)

<u>Ex-Officio Non-Voting Members Present:</u> O. Ghrayeb (Senior Vice Provost), E. Armstrong (Student Affairs Designee), M. Lagunas (Admissions Director), K. Saalfeld (Transfer Center Coordinator), C. Garvey (Admissions), A. Hutchinson (Educational Services and Programs Representative), C. McFarland McKee (Curriculum Coordinator and Catalog Editor)

The Baccalaureate Council (BC) meeting was called to order at 12:32 p.m. by Chair Omar Ghrayeb, Senior Vice Provost, Academic Affairs

- I. **ADOPTION OF AGENDA** Ghrayeb called for a motion to approve the agenda for September 8, 2022. Ferguson so moved and this was seconded by Strid. The motion was **APPROVED unanimously**.
- II. **APPROVAL OF MINUTES** This is the first meeting of the 2022-2023 Academic, there are no minutes to approve.

#### III. ANNOUNCEMENTS

A. All members present introduced themselves. Ghrayeb welcomed new members to the Baccalaureate Council, especially Caroline Kuja, student member from CLAS, as he emphasized the importance of the voices of students on the Baccalaureate Council.

#### Members and New Members - Voting for 2022-2023

- CBUS: Amanda Ferguson is in year two of three-year term
- CBUS: Sina Ehsani will sit for a three-year term
- CEDU: Natalie Andzik is in year three of three-year term
- CEDU: Emerson Sebastiao is in year two of three-year term
- CEDU: John Evar Strid will sit for a three-year term (new in this role)
- CEET: Iman Salehinia will sit for a three-year term (new)
- CEET: Mahdi Vaezi is in year two of three-year term
- CHHS: Anitha Saravanan is in year two of three-year term

- CHHS: Masih Shokrani will sit for one year (remainder of Amanda McCarthy's term) (new)
- CLAS: Kanjana Thepboriruk will sit for a three-year term (new)
- CLAS: Trude Jacobsen Gidaszewski is in year two of a three-year term
- CLAS: Alicia Schatteman is in year three of three-year term
- CVPA: Rebecca Houze returns to year three of three-year term
- CVPA: Brian Hart is in year two of three-year term
- CLAS: Caroline Kuja will sit for a one-year term as a student member (new)
- University Libraries: Beth McGowan will sit for a three-year term (new)
- Advising: Margee Myles will continue to represent campus advisors

### Nonvoting Members for 2022-2023

- Student Affairs Designee: Eric Armstrong, Military and Veteran Services
- Director of Admissions: Mayra Lagunas
- Transfer Center Coordinator: Katy Saalfeld
- Educational Services and Programs Representative: Adriane Hutchinson, CHANCE (new)
- B. Ghrayeb provided an overview of the purpose of the Baccalaureate Council and the importance of the work done on the BC as a part of the shared governance process. He noted that there will be meetings this year with agendas very full of curricular proposals submitted from the colleges and other units on campus. Members were advised that the curriculum coordinator would be scheduling a new member orientation and training before the October meeting.
- C. Strid nominated Amanda Ferguson to sit as Assistant/Faculty Chair of the Baccalaureate Council. Ferguson was approved as Assistant/Faculty Chair **unanimously.**
- D. Schatteman, Strid, and Myles volunteered to serve as the three BC representatives to the General Education Committee. The BC unanimously approved Schatteman, Strid, and Myles to sit on the GEC. Jacobsen Gidaszewski volunteered to serve another term as the BC representative to the University Honors Committee. The BC unanimously approved Jacobsen Gidaszewski sit on the UHC.

# IV. DISCUSSION AGENDA

- A. Section A Ghrayeb called for a motion to discuss and vote on Section IV.A.1 of the agenda. Thepboriruk so moved and Ferguson seconded. The language of the proposed curricular items had been previously distributed to BC members and was also presented on Teams during the meeting. No concerns were raised for further discussion on these items. The vote was called and all items in IV.A.1 were APPROVED unanimously.
  - 1. College of Business

CBUS 14 (AY 2021-2022)

- Item CBUS21.22.14.01/NC MKTG 462 Artificial Intelligence Applications in Marketing Nonduplication statement in Teams
- Item CBUS21.22.14.02/OCC CBUS21.22.14.02/PR Adding MKTG 462 to Marketing B.S.
- Item CBUS21.22.14.03/PR Adding MKTG 462 to Marketing Minor
- Item CBUS21.22.14.04/PR Adding MKTG 462 to Digital Marketing Certificate

CBUS15 (AY 2021-2022)

• Item CBUS21.22.15.01 / Other Catalog Change – New Certificate of Undergraduate Study – Leading Individuals and Teams

# V. UNFINISHED BUSINESS - None

- VI. NEW BUSINESS A brief discussion was held regarding the removal of the expedited curricular items (formerly Section E) from the agenda. McFarland McKee noted that a documented list of these expedited actions was distributed to BC members prior to the meeting, along with the agenda and Section A attachment, for their review. Ghrayeb noted that since these curricular items were expedited, they had likely already been entered into the catalog, so there was no action for the BC to take on them. After some discussion, BC sentiment was for the curriculum coordinator to continue to distribute the listed of expedited curricular items to BC membership for their review, and to not include the expedited items on the agenda.
- VII. **ADJOURNMENT** Ghrayeb called for a motion to adjourn. Myles so moved and Sebastio seconded. The first meeting of the Baccalaureate Council for the academic year 2022-2023 was adjourned at 1:32 p.m. The next meeting of the Baccalaureate Council will be held at University Suite and virtually on Teams on October 13, 2022.

Respectfully submitted,

Carol McFarland McKee Curriculum Coordinator / Catalog Editor