Presidential Teaching Professors

2018 Presidential Teaching Professor

walker ashley

Walker Ashley
Department of Geographic and Atmospheric Science

mylan engel

Mylan Engel Jr.

Department of Philosophy

The NIU Presidential Teaching Professorships were established in 1991 to recognize and support faculty who excel in the practice of teaching.

Recipients of this award have demonstrated their commitment to and success in the many activities associated with outstanding teaching. The recipients receive budgetary support and release time for the enhancement of their teaching skills.

After four years as a Presidential Teaching Professor, each of these eminent faculty members is designated a Distinguished Teaching Professor.