Skip navigation

Hope Moller Scholarship Award for the Study of Tort Law

Established in 2007, the Hope Moller Scholarship Award for the Study of Tort Law is named in memory of Hope Moller, a victim of medical negligence whose parents were clients of Kenneth C. Chessick.  This award came about as a result of Chessick’s successful litigation in a medical malpractice suit filed on behalf of Ms. Moller, who died at the age of 36 as a result of metastatic breast cancer. At the trial, the jury determined that Moller’s death was the result of negligent failure to diagnose and treat an early stage of breast cancer; the verdict was upheld on appeal.

Therefore this $1,000 scholarship is awarded to a second-year NIU Law student who has excelled in the first-year Tort courses, an area of law that seeks to provide remedies to parties injured as a result of a civil wrong, and is able to articulate the importance of that area of law.

Below are the past recipients of this prestigious award:

2015 Christine Beaderstadt

2014 Michael Mehlick

2013 Ashley Hinkle

2012 Bailey D. Standish

2011 Steven P. Varel

2010 Bryan Thompson     

2009 Jon Braden      

2008 Alexis Costello

2007 Karli Wiseman

Return to Chessick Scholarship Index

Contact Us


Apply Now!


Phone: 815-753-8595
Swen Parson Hall 151

General Information

Admissions Information: 815-753-8595
Swen Parson Hall 151

Other Questions: 815-753-1068
Swen Parson Hall 270

Request Information

Give to the College of Law

Law Library

Like, Join, and Follow us on

Facebook   Facebook Groups   Twitter  LinkedIn