Skip navigation

Biology Scholarships


David R. Layman Scholarship Fund

Established in 1997 by David R. Layman. This award is designed to support outstanding students in the Biology Educator Licensure Program.

Charles E. Montgomery Award

Established to honor the memory of Dr. Charles Montgomery, who came to Northern Illinois State Normal School in 1917 and served as head of the Biology Department from 1921 until his retirement in 1952. This award is presented to biology majors in the Educator Licensure Program who demonstrate excellence in scholarship and who possess qualities that suggest that they will become outstanding teachers.

Jerrold H. Zar Endowed Scholarship in Science Education

Established by Dr. Zar to provide scholarship support for a full-time student admitted to an initial teacher certification program in biological or physical science at NIU.

Contact Us

Photo of Paul Fix

Paul Fix, Asst. Director
Secondary Science Educator Licensure
326 Faraday
Northern Illinois University
DeKalb, IL 60115
(815) 753-6819