Skip navigation

Faculty Associates

Learn more about Faculty Associate status and how to become an associate of our center.

Scott Balcerzak (LGBT Associate)
English
753-6642
sbalcerzak@niu.edu  

Research: Film and literature; feminst and queer theory; sexuality and popular culture; gender and performance; the history of sexuality; and digital studies.

Larissa (Lacie) Barber (WGST Associate)
Psychology
753-0740
lbarber@niu.edu
Research: Workplace flexibility and work-home boundary management (work-life balance); workplace stress and health behaviors (specifically sleep), self-regulation/self-control; counterproductive work behaviors; work engagement and burnout; emotional labor (emotion regulation at work); personality in the workplace.

Sinclair Bell (LGBT and WGST Associate)
Art History
753-1473
Sinclair.bell@niu.edu
Research: Etruscan and Roman material culture and art, especially its social history; Renaissance reception and contemporary theorization; gender and ancient art.

Alexandra Bennett (WGST Associate)
English 
753-6639 
abennet1@niu.edu 
Research: 16th and 17th century drama; writings of and about early modern women; Shakespeare; modern theater and drama by women.

Georgia Brown (WGST Associate)
Computer Science
753-3836
gbrown@niu.edu 
Research: Game programming.

Kate Cady (WGST Associate)
Communication
753-7011
kcady@niu.edu
Research: Public representations of working women, postindustrial economics, and feminism in the late 20th century U.S.; contemporary rhetorical theory and criticism; cultural studies.

Randy Caspersen (LGBT Associate)
Communication
753-7104
rcaspersen@niu.edu
Research: Film and video work with gay sensibilities; media studies; film, television and video production; screenwriting.

Cassandra Crawford (CSWGS Associate)
Sociology
753-1657
ccrawford@niu.edu
Research: The modernization of amputation; historical (psychological and medical) and contemporary (biomedical) constructions of phantom limb syndrome; prosthetic technologies; the sociology of pain; contemporary theories of embodiment; qualitative research methods; gender/women’s/feminist/masculinities studies; and critical race studies.

Suzanne E. Degges-White (WGST Associate)
Counseling, Adult and Higher Education (Chair)
753-1448
sdeggeswhite@niu.edu
Research: women's development throughout the lifespan; women's wellness; ways women deal with life transitions and aging.

Aaron Spencer Fogleman (WGST Associate)
History
753-6824
aaronfogleman@niu.edu
Research: The Atlantic World, 1492-1860's; French Swiss and German couple traveling from Europe to the Americas from the 1720's to the 1770's.

Reva Freedman (WGST Associate)
Computer Science
753-6944
rfreedman@niu.edu
Research: AI and computational linguistics, including discourse and dialogue planning; shallow (but not superficial) text generation; mixed-initiative and multi-modal systems; knowledge representation for tutoring and causal reasoning; declarative formalisms; dialogue annotation and analysis; and Linguistics, including romance and semitic linguistics.

Courtney Gallaher (Joint Appointment with CSWGS and Geography)
Center for the Study of Women, Gender and Sexuality/Geography
753-0631
cgallaher@niu.edu 
Research:Food security; crop and soil science; urban agriculture; environmental risks.

Valerie Garver (WGST Associate)
History
753-6823
vgarver@niu.edu
Research: Cultural, social and religious history of the Carolingian Empire, particularly the history of women, family, gender and material culture.

LaVerne Gyant (WGST Associate)
Counseling, Adult and Higher Education
753-7608
lgyant@niu.edu
Research: African American women in business and hospitality industry; development as sisters; adult participation in and contributions to adult education.

Janet Hathaway (WGST Associate)
Music
753-7970
jhathaway@niu.edu
Research: Devotional music in public ceremonies in 17th-century Madrid, and music and identity in early modern Spanish convents.

Becqui Hunt (CSWGS Associate)
Educational Technology, Research and Assessment
753-9021
rhunt@niu.edu 
Research: Diversity in technology; diversity in teaching; educational technology; library science.

Trude Jacobsen (LGBT Associate)
History/Center for Southeast Asian Studies
753-8822
tjacobsen1@niu.edu
Research: Sexual exploitation and sex trafficking in Southeast Asia; processes of justice and reconciliation in non-western contexts; historical anthropology; mental health in colonial contexts in Asia; the role of material culture in constructing or reconstructing identities.

Katy Jaekel (CSWGS Associate)
Counseling, Adult and Higher Education
753-0788
kjaekel@niu.edu 
Research: First-year student experience, LGBTQ students experience in the classroom, and novice postsecondary educators’ preparation, training, and development.

Joanna Kot (WGST Associate)
Foreign Languages and Literatures (Russian)
753-6460
jkot@niu.edu 
Research: Experimental modernist drama, early 20th -century feminist drama, and theories of modernity. 

Melissa Lenczewski (WGST Associate)
Environmental Studies (Director), Geology
753-7937
lenczewski@niu.edu
Research: Biodegration and sorption of MTBE and Ethanol in fine-grain materials from northern Illinois and Mexico; Lacustrine clays from Chalco Basin, Mexico; vegetation and microbial community changes from Maquis to Rainforest, New Caledonia; spatial distribution microorganism associated with biodgreadtion of TCE; microbial ecology of prairie grass soils.

Amy K. Levin (CSWGS Associate, Emeritus)
English
alevin@niu.edu
Research: Literature by women, especially British and African-American women; museums, narratives, and culture.

Amanda Littauer (Joint appointment with CSWGS and History)
Center for the Study of Women, Gender and Sexuality/History
753-8049
alittauer@niu.edu
Research: Women, girls and non-marital sexuality between 1941-1962.

Lichuan Liu (WGST Associate)
Electrical Engineering
753-9937
liu@niu.edu
Research: Wireless communications, wireless sensor networks, and inter-vehicle.

Jimmie Manning (LGBT Associate)
Communication
753-7107
jman@niu.edu
Research: Meaning-making in and about relationships; relational discourses; constitutive pragmatism; new media and computer-mediated communication.

Margo Milano (WGST Associate)
Family and Child Studies
753-1543
msutorius@niu.edu
Research: Check back.

Beth Miller (WGST Associate)
Family and Child Studies
753-6339
jem@niu.edu 
Research: Feminist teaching; work and family issues; faculty development.

Kirk Miller (CSWGS Associate)
Sociology (Chair)
753-1194
kmiller7@niu.edu
Research: Questions of social control as process and outcome, with special attention to the criminal justice system as a focus for race, class, and gender inequalities. 

Nina Mounts (WGST Associate)
Psychology
753-6968
nmounts@niu.edu
Research: Children’s social development from childhood through adolescence; parent-child and peer relationships; peer influence processes during adolescence.

Kristen Myers (Director of CSWGS)
Center for the Study of Women, Gender and Sexuality, Director; and Sociology, Presidential Teaching Professor
753-1055
kmyers@niu.edu 
Research: The ways that Black and white women work to overcome racism; the ways that gay and lesbian police officers negotiate gender expectations at work; the ways that people talk about race in private; the ways that positionality affects qualitative research; how to teach inequality.

Helen Nagata (WGST Associate)
Art History
753-7863
hnagata@niu.edu
Research: Japanese art, including images of women, female visual artists and authors, and the world of pleasure quarters as depicted (or not) in Edo-period woodblock prints and paintings.

Z Nicolazzo (CSWGS Associate)
Higher Education and Student Affairs
753-9373
znicolazzo@niu.edu 
Research: Mapping gender across collegiate contexts; gender in higher education, particularly the experiences of trans* collegians; college student activism; and intersectionality, particularly students’ experiences of the intersections of race, disability, and gender identity. 

Brad Peters (LGBT Associate)
English
753-6601
bpeters@niu.edu
Research: Writing across curriculum; writing program administration; history of rhetoric; medieval English mystics.

Jane Rheineck (LGBT Associate)
Counseling, Adult and Higher Education
753-8722
jrheineck@niu.edu
Research: Lesbian's career development; the implications of counseling lesbian and gay individuals; youth at risk; gender identity and expression in lesbians; career transition for women in midlife.

Robert Ridinger (LGBT Associate)
University Libraries
753-1367
rridinger@niu.edu
Research: Retrieval of local gay and lesbian history; the growth and development of the leather/levi subculture; uses of language made as part of the LGBT movement.

Mark Rosenbaum (LGBT Associate)
Marketing
753-7931
mrosenbaum@niu.edu
Research: Consumer behavior in service settings; social marketing; health-related marketing; LGBTIQ consumer behavior.

Linda Saborio (WGST Associate)
Foreign Languages and Literature (Spanish)
753-6465
lsaborio@niu.edu
Research: Latina/o and Mexican theater, culture studies, film, and performance studies; Latina/o and Mexican transborder plays and the performance of race in works by playwrights like Milcha Sanchez-Scott, Rascon Banda, Cherrie Moraga, and Coco Fusco; and theater by Elena Garro, Sabina Berman, and Lisa Loomer as well as some earlier works by Mexican playwrights.

Brad Sagarin (LGBT Associate)
Psychology
753-
bsagarin@niu.edu
Research: Attitude change; resistance to persuasion; deception, jealousy, and infidelity; evolutionary psychology; human sexuality; statistical approaches to missing data and non-compliance.

Brian Sandberg (WGST Associate)
History/CLAS Associate Dean for Research
753-6813
bsandberg@niu.edu
Research: Intersections of religion, violence, and political culture in early modern history, especially during the European wars of religion; religious violence, gender, and noble culture during the French Wars of Religion.

Kryssi Staikidis (WGST Associate)
Art Education
753-8388
kstaididis@niu.edu
Research: Indigenous pedagogy; art studio practice as a site for research; and visual culture/critical pedagogy in the classroom.

Diana Swanson (Joint appointment with CSWGS and English)
Center for the Study of Women, Gender and Sexuality/English
753-6611
dswanson@niu.edu
Research: Virgina Woolf; British women novelists; lesbian writers; feminist criticism and theory; history of sexuality; literature and play; literary genre and the social construction of self; gender and sexuality; eco-feminism.

Sharon Sytsma (CSWGS Associate, Emeritus)
Philosophy
753-6411
ssytsma@niu.edu
Research: Ethical theory (especially Kant's ethics and theories of moral motivation); biomedical ethics; intersexuality.

Tharaphi Than (WGS Associate)
Foreign Languages and Literatures (Burmese)
753-6453
tthan@niu.edu
Research: Women of Burma and Southeast Asia, print media and migration.

Toni Tollerud (LGBT Associate, Emeritus)
Counseling, Adult and Higher Education
tollerud@niu.edu
Research: Counseling LGBT people; LGBT youth; spirituality issues; supervision; retirement issudes for LGBT people. 

Miriam van Mersbergen (WGST Associate)
Speech and Language Pathology
753-8385
mvanmersbergen@niu.edu
Research: The interaction between voice and emotion, specifically how emotional states, temperament, and regulation affect vocal output in healthy adults and in adults with behavioral voice disorders.

Laura Vazquez (WGST Associate)
Communication
753-7132
lvazquez@niu.edu
Research: Gender and media; documentary video production; autobiographical film and video; web design.

Carol Walther (CSWGS Associate)
Sociology
753-6428
cwalther@niu.edu
Research: The influence of the state upon how people interact with governmental forms; the influence of religion on settlement patterns of same-gender couples.

Corrine Wickens (CSWGS Associate)
Literacy Education
753-8556
cwickens@niu.edu
Research: Intersections of sexuality and schooling, adolescent literacy, and young adult literature.

Kerith Woodyard (WGST Associate)
Communication
753-7101
kwoodyard@niu.edu
Research: Rhetorical Theory and Criticism; Women's Rhetorical History.

Contact Us

Center for the Study of Women, Gender and Sexuality
Reavis Hall, Room 103
DeKalb, IL 60115
wgs@niu.edu
815-753-1038

Follow Us


      

Membership

National Women's Studies Association