Faculty Associates

Learn more about Faculty Associate status and how to become an associate of our center.

Name Associate
Type
Department Email/Phone Research
Christina Abreu CSWGS Center for Latino and Latin American Studies

cabreu@niu.edu
815-753-1531

The role of race, nationalism, and migration in the Cuban and Spanish Caribbean diasporic communities of the U.S. with a particular emphasis on popular culture
Scott Balcerzak LGBT English

sbalcerzak@niu.edu 
815-753-6642

Film and literature; feminst and queer theory; sexuality and popular culture; gender and performance; the history of sexuality; and digital studies.
Sinclair Bell LGBT/WGST Art History

Sinclair.bell@niu.edu
815-753-1473

Etruscan and Roman material culture and art, especially its social history; Renaissance reception and contemporary theorization; gender and ancient art.
Alexandra Bennett WGST English

abennet1@niu.edu
815-753-6639

16th and 17th century drama; writings of and about early modern women; Shakespeare; modern theater and drama by women.
Georgia Brown WGST Computer Science

gbrown@niu.edu
815-753-3836

Game programming.
Kate Cady WGST Communication

kcady@niu.edu
815-753-7011

Public representations of working women, postindustrial economics, and feminism in the late 20th century U.S.; contemporary rhetorical theory and criticism; cultural studies.
Randy Caspersen LGBT Communication

rcaspersen@niu.edu
815-753-7104

Film and video work with gay sensibilities; media studies; film, television and video production; screenwriting.
Cassandra Crawford CSWGS Sociology

ccrawford@niu.edu
815-753-1657

The modernization of amputation; historical (psychological and medical) and contemporary (biomedical) constructions of phantom limb syndrome; prosthetic technologies; the sociology of pain; contemporary theories of embodiment; qualitative research methods; gender/women’s/feminist/masculinities studies; and critical race studies.
Suzanne E. Degges-White WGST Counseling, Adult and Higher Education (Chair)

sdeggeswhite@niu.edu
815-753-1448

Women's development throughout the lifespan; women's wellness; ways women deal with life transitions and aging.
Chris Einolf CSWGS Nonprofit and NGO Studies

ceinolf@niu.edu
815-753-4410

Aaron Spencer Fogleman WGST History

aaronfogleman@niu.edu
815-753-6824

The Atlantic World, 1492-1860's; French Swiss and German couple traveling from Europe to the Americas from the 1720's to the 1770's.
Reva Freedman WGST Computer Science

rfreedman@niu.edu
815-753-6944

AI and computational linguistics, including discourse and dialogue planning; shallow (but not superficial) text generation; mixed-initiative and multi-modal systems; knowledge representation for tutoring and causal reasoning; declarative formalisms; dialogue annotation and analysis; and Linguistics, including romance and semitic linguistics.
Courtney Gallaher CSWGS Center for the Study of Women, Gender and Sexuality/Geography

cgallaher@niu.edu
815-753-0631

Food security; crop and soil science; urban agriculture; environmental risks.
Valerie Garver WGST History

vgarver@niu.edu
815-753-6823

Cultural, social and religious history of the Carolingian Empire, particularly the history of women, family, gender and material culture.
LaVerne Gyant WGST Counseling, Adult and Higher Education

lgyant@niu.edu
815-753-7608

African American women in business and hospitality industry; development as sisters; adult participation in and contributions to adult education.
Janet Hathaway WGST Music

jhathaway@niu.edu
815-753-7970

Devotional music in public ceremonies in 17th-century Madrid, and music and identity in early modern Spanish convents.
Rebecca Hunt CSWGS Educational Technology, Research and Assessment

rhunt@niu.edu
815-753-9021

Diversity in technology; diversity in teaching; educational technology; library science.
Katy Jaekel CSWGS Counseling, Adult and Higher Education

kjaekel@niu.edu
815-753-0788

First-year student experience, LGBTQ students experience in the classroom, and novice postsecondary educators’ preparation, training, and development.
Joanna Kot WGST Foreign Languages and Literatures (Russian)

jkot@niu.edu
815-753-6460

Experimental modernist drama, early 20th -century feminist drama, and theories of modernity.
Melissa Lenczewski WGST Environmental Studies (Director), Geology

lenczewski@niu.edu
815-753-7937

Biodegration and sorption of MTBE and Ethanol in fine-grain materials from northern Illinois and Mexico; Lacustrine clays from Chalco Basin, Mexico; vegetation and microbial community changes from Maquis to Rainforest, New Caledonia; spatial distribution microorganism associated with biodgreadtion of TCE; microbial ecology of prairie grass soils.
Amy K. Levin CSWGS (Emeritus) English alevin@niu.edu Literature by women, especially British and African-American women; museums, narratives, and culture.
Amanda Littauer CSWGS Center for the Study of Women, Gender and Sexuality/History

alittauer@niu.edu
815-753-8049

Women, girls and non-marital sexuality between 1941-1962.
Lichuan Liu WGST Electrical Engineering

liu@niu.edu
815-753-9937

Wireless communications, wireless sensor networks, and inter-vehicle.
Margo Milano WGST Family and Child Studies

msutorius@niu.edu
815-753-1543

Beth Miller WGST Family and Child Studies

jem@niu.edu
815-753-6339

Feminist teaching; work and family issues; faculty development.
Kirk Miller CSWGS Sociology (Chair)

kmiller7@niu.edu
815-753-1194

Questions of social control as process and outcome, with special attention to the criminal justice system as a focus for race, class, and gender inequalities.
Nina Mounts WGST Psychology

nmounts@niu.edu
815-753-6968

Children’s social development from childhood through adolescence; parent-child and peer relationships; peer influence processes during adolescence.
Kristen Myers CSWGS Center for the Study of Women, Gender and Sexuality, Director; and Sociology, Presidential Teaching Professor

kmyers@niu.edu
815-753-1055

The ways that Black and white women work to overcome racism; the ways that gay and lesbian police officers negotiate gender expectations at work; the ways that people talk about race in private; the ways that positionality affects qualitative research; how to teach inequality.
Helen Nagata WGST Art History

hnagata@niu.edu
815-753-7863

Japanese art, including images of women, female visual artists and authors, and the world of pleasure quarters as depicted (or not) in Edo-period woodblock prints and paintings.
Brad Peters LGBT English

bpeters@niu.edu
815-753-6601

Writing across curriculum; writing program administration; history of rhetoric; medieval English mystics.
Robert Ridinger LGBT University Libraries

rridinger@niu.edu
815-753-1367

Retrieval of local gay and lesbian history; the growth and development of the leather/levi subculture; uses of language made as part of the LGBT movement.
Linda Saborio WGST Foreign Languages and Literature (Spanish)

lsaborio@niu.edu
815-753-6465

Latina/o and Mexican theater, culture studies, film, and performance studies; Latina/o and Mexican transborder plays and the performance of race in works by playwrights like Milcha Sanchez-Scott, Rascon Banda, Cherrie Moraga, and Coco Fusco; and theater by Elena Garro, Sabina Berman, and Lisa Loomer as well as some earlier works by Mexican playwrights.
Brad Sagarin LGBT Psychology bsagarin@niu.edu Attitude change; resistance to persuasion; deception, jealousy, and infidelity; evolutionary psychology; human sexuality; statistical approaches to missing data and non-compliance.
Brian Sandberg WGST History/CLAS Associate Dean for Research

bsandberg@niu.edu
815-753-6813

Intersections of religion, violence, and political culture in early modern history, especially during the European wars of religion; religious violence, gender, and noble culture during the French Wars of Religion.
Kryssi Staikidis WGST Art Education

kstaididis@niu.edu
815-753-8388

Indigenous pedagogy; art studio practice as a site for research; and visual culture/critical pedagogy in the classroom.
Sharon Sytsma CSWGS(Emeritus) Philosophy

ssytsma@niu.edu
815-753-6411

Ethical theory (especially Kant's ethics and theories of moral motivation); biomedical ethics; intersexuality.
Tharaphi Than WGS Foreign Languages and Literatures (Burmese)

tthan@niu.edu
815-753-6453

Women of Burma and Southeast Asia, print media and migration.
Laura Vazquez WGST Communication

lvazquez@niu.edu
815-753-7132

Gender and media; documentary video production; autobiographical film and video; web design.
Carol Walther CSWGS Sociology

cwalther@niu.edu
815-753-6428

The influence of the state upon how people interact with governmental forms; the influence of religion on settlement patterns of same-gender couples.
Corrine Wickens CSWGS Literacy Education

cwickens@niu.edu
815-753-8556

Intersections of sexuality and schooling, adolescent literacy, and young adult literature.
Kerith Woodyard WGST Communication

kwoodyard@niu.edu
815-753-7101

Rhetorical Theory and Criticism; Women's Rhetorical History.

Contact Us

Center for the Study of Women, Gender and Sexuality
Reavis Hall, Room 103
DeKalb, IL 60115
wgs@niu.edu
815-753-1038

Follow Us


      

Membership

National Women's Studies Association