Directory

Full-Time Faculty

Ferald Bryan, (Ph.D., University of Missouri)

Associate Professor, Rhetoric and Public Communication

Specialties: history of American public address, presidential rhetoric, and rhetorical criticism

fbryan@niu.edu 

Kathryn Cady, (Ph.D., University of Iowa)

Associate Professor, Rhetoric and Public Communication

Specialties: contemporary rhetorical theory and criticism, cultural studies, feminist and labor politics

kcady@niu.edu 

Randy Caspersen, (M.F.A., Columbia College Chicago)

Assistant Professor, Media Studies

Specialties: film and video production

rcaspersen@niu.edu

Bill Cassidy(Ph.D., University of Oregon)

Associate Professor, Journalism

Specialties: media sociology, online journalism, news media coverage of aids, various forms of print journalism, including sports journalism

bcassidy@niu.edu

David Gunkel(Ph.D., DePaul University)

Distinguished Teaching Professor, Media Studies

Specialties: information and communication technology (ICT), new media, philosophy of technology, web design and programming

dgunkel@niu.edu

Andrea L. Guzman, (Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago)

Assistant Professor, Journalism

Specialties: human-machine communication, automated journalism, intersection of artificial intelligence and communication, media framing of technology

alguzman@niu.edu 

Janice Hamlet(Ph.D., Ohio State University)

Associate Professor, Rhetoric and Public Communication

Specialties: cultural studies, rhetorical studies, womanist epistemology and methodology, communication and spirituality, African American rhetoric, pedagogy, autoethnography

jhamlet@niu.edu

David Henningsen, (Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, J.D. University of Wisconsin)

Professor, Organizational / Corporate Communication

Specialties: group decision making, interpersonal communication, social influence

dhennin1@niu.edu 

Mary Lynn Henningsen(Ph.D., University of Wisconsin)

Professor, Organizational / Corporate Communication

Specialties: social influence in interpersonal communication, decision making, education contexts

henningsen@niu.edu 

Richard Holt, (Ph.D., University of Illinois)

Professor, Organizational / Corporate Communication

richholt@niu.edu 

Betty H. La France(Ph.D., Michigan State University)

Professor, Organizational / Corporate Communication

Specialties: quantitative research methods, social influence during interpersonal interactions, including sexual interactions

blafrance@niu.edu 

Jimmie Manning, (Ph.D., University of Kansas)

Associate Professor, Organizational / Corporate Communication

jman@niu.edu 

Joe Scudder, (Ph.D., Indiana University)

Distinguished Teaching Professor, Organizational / Corporate Communication

jscudder@niu.edu 

Mehdi Semati(Ph.D., University of Missouri)

Professor, Journalism

Specialties: international communication and global media, cultural studies of news media and journalism, Iranian media and culture, race and ethnicity and media

msemati@niu.edu 

Kathleen Valde(Ph.D., University of Iowa)

Associate Professor, Organizational / Corporate Communication

Specialties: organizational communication, communication theory, and qualitative methods

kvalde@niu.edu 

Laura Vazquez(Ph.D., Northwestern University)

Board of Trustees Professor, Media Studies

Specialties: documentary video production, gender and media

lvazquez@niu.edu

Karen Whedbee, (Ph.D., University of Wisconsin)

Associate Professor, Media Studies

Specialties: freedom of speech, history of the public forum, material culture and memory studies, communication ethics, history of rhetoric, historical and critical methods

kwhedbee@niu.edu 

Kerith Woodyard(Ph.D., University of Utah)

Associate Professor, Rhetoric and Public Communication

Specialties: rhetorical theory and criticism, women's rhetorical history, religion and American public argument

kwoodyard@niu.edu 

Shupei Yuan(Ph.D., Michigan State University) 

Assistant Professor, Journalism

Specialties: science communication, strategic science communication training, public relations for science, persuasion

syuan@niu.edu 

Instructors

Name Email Office
Jason Akst jakst@niu.edu  RH 114
Madelyn Anderson mkanderson1@niu.edu WH 230
Aimee Barrows abarrows@niu.edu  WH 231
Jessica Ebert jebert@niu.edu  WH 231
Kim Gatz kgatz@niu.edu  WH 231
Antwan Hampton ahampton@niu.edu  WH 230
Jennifer Likeum jlikeum1@niu.edu  DU 259
Dave Simon dsimon@niu.edu  WH 232
Helena Sivits hsivits@niu.edu  WH 232
Maria Stefenel mstefenel1@niu.edu WH 210
Matt Swan mswan@niu.edu  WH 231

Staff

Name Phone Email Office
Beni Enas 815-753-8886 benas@niu.edu  TV 110
Derick Lalowski 815-753-1563 dlalowski@niu.edu  WH 211
Mary Ann Lalowski 815-753-1564 mlalowski@niu.edu  WH 210
Jennifer Meier 815-753-1925 jennifermeier@niu.edu RH 107
Kevin Oakes 815-752-6800 koakes@niu.edu  CV
Ryan Pumroy 815-753-5354 pumroy@niu.edu WH 217
Nathan Rice 815-753-1712 nrice1@niu.edu WH 209

Emeritus

Name Email
Carol Allen
Avi Bass abass@niu.edu 
Gretchen Bisplinghoff gbisplin@niu.edu 
Don Brod donbrod@att.net 
Gary Burns gburns@niu.edu 
Jeffrey Chown jchown@niu.edu 
Roderick Deihl
Russell Elder raelder@yahoo.com 
Philip Gray gray10gv@cox.net 
Richard Johannesen rjohannesen@niu.edu 
Robert LaConto
Charles Larson cularson@niu.edu
Mary Strom Larson mlarson@niu.edu
Robert Miller robertm@niu.edu 
Orayb Najjar oanajjar@outlook.com 
Jon Powell
Anthony Scantlen
Lois Self lself1@niu.edu 
Charles Tucker charlestucker@verizon.net 
Diane Wilson wilsonrprd@aol.com 

Contact Us

Department of Communication
Northern Illinois University
Watson Hall 210
DeKalb, IL 60115
Phone: 815-753-1563
Fax: 815-753-7109

Acting Department Chair

Mehdi Semati
Phone: 815-753-7028
Email: msemati@niu.edu