Past Award Recipients


2019-2020 Outstanding Graduate Student Awards

  • M.A.- Alex Lundberg
  • Ph.D.- JoAnn LoSavio

2019-20 Dissertation Completion Award

  • Justin Iverson

Graduate Student Awards for Excellence in Teaching

  • Justin Iverson, Emma Lloyd, JoAnn Losavio, Megan VanGorder

Hugh Jameson Graduate Essay Prize

  • Alex Lundberg

James R. Shirley Graduate Article Prize

  • Heeyoung Choi

Hayter Young Research Award

  • Matilda Ansah, Alex Craver, Alex Sosenko, Megan VanGorder

Large Grant

  • Alex Craver, Alex Sosenko, Megan Van Gorder, and Elizabeth Unruh


2018-2019 Outstanding Graduate Student Awards

  • M.A.- Thommy Brown
  • Ph.D.- Kevin Luginbill

2019 Undergraduate Awards, Scholarships and Prize Winners

Phi Alpha Theta National History Honor Society:
  • Kiera Donnamario
  • Mark Raupp
CLAS Dean’s Award:
  • Gabriel Sonntag
Outstanding History Student:
  • Kassidy Babler
  • Sandra Puebla
Jeannie Hainds Scholarship:
  • Lucy Johnson
  • Brandon Trupp
Marvin Rosen Scholarship
  • Timothy Fine
Oscar Matasar Scholarship
  • Raúl Arroyo
James P. and Mary Clare Sczepaniak Scholarship
  • Ashley Boyer
  • Andrew Collier
Anita M. Andrew Memorial Scholarship
  • Annie Hodal
David L. Wagner Medieval Studies Scholarship
  • Lucy Johnson
J. Patrick White History Education:
  • Mark Del Real
  • Christopher Donaldson
  • Laura Gray
  • Jennifer Hernandez
  • Benjamin Holliday
  • Erin Krienke
  • Jonathan Litewski
  • Jonathon Molchin
  • Andrew Nelson
  • Michael Pondel
  • Leann Schaffni
  • Joshua Shaw
  • Brianna Stallter
HIST 495 Research Paper Prize:
  • Kassidy Babler, “Protestant German Christian Theologians’ Interpretation of Martin Luther, 1933-1939.” Fall 2018 (Professor Emma Kuby)
  • Gabriel Sonntag, “The Beginning of Gay Liberation at NIU: Lesbian and Gay Huskies in the 1970s and 1980s.” Fall 2018 (Professor Amanda H. Littauer)
James Shirley Award in Asian History: 
  • Liam McCown: Essay title: “Greek Hysteria and the Wandering Womb: 300 Wandering Theories and the Trojan Horse of Enlightenment.” (Professor Trude Jacobsen)
James Shirley Essay Prize:
  • Claire Spahn: Essay title: “Unworthy Handmaids, Worthy Authors: Agency and Authorship in the Letters of Eighth- Century Nuns.”
David L. Wagner Medieval Studies Capstone Prize:
  • Claire Spahn, “From Dish to DISH: Evidence for a Practical Diet in Late Medieval British Monks


CLAS Dean’s Award: Claire Spahn
Outstanding History Student:
• Gabriel Sonntag
• Ronan Kaiser

Marvin Rosen Scholarship: Aaron Bluestein
Oscar Matasar Scholarship: Jarell Blakey
James P. and Mary Clare Sczepaniak Scholarship:

• Gariecia Rose
• Justin Zerbe

HIST 495 Research Paper Prize:

  • Rachel Jacob. Essay title, “Policy Making: The Family and Medical Leave Act.” Submitted for fall 2017.
  • Benjamin Holliday. Essay title, “Big Brother, Little Brother: The Personal Diplomacy of U.S. President Richard M. Nixon and South Vietnamese President Nguyê ̃n Văn Thiêu, 1969-1974.” Submitted for fall 2017.
James Shirley Award in Asian History:
  • James Ewing, Essay title: “The Russo-Japanese War: A Difference in Perception,” submitted for HIST 444 (Prof. Taylor Atkins), Fall 2017.
James Shirley Essay Prize:
  • Jared Connors, Essay title: “Cherokee Motivations in the Civil War,” submitted for HIST 464 (Prof. Natalie Joy), Fall 2017.


Contact Us

Northern Illinois University
Department of History
Zulauf 715
DeKalb, IL 60115
Faculty and Staff Directory
Advising Staff