Faculty Associates

Learn more about faculty associate status and how to become an associate of our center.

Current Faculty Associates

Name Department Email/Phone Research
Christina Abreu Center for Latino and Latin American Studies

cabreu@niu.edu
815-753-1531

The role of race, nationalism, and migration in the Cuban and Spanish Caribbean diasporic communities of the U.S. with a particular emphasis on popular culture
Melissa Adams-Campbell English

madamscampbell@niu.edu

Colonial and nineteenth-century American literature, transnational and transatlantic approaches to literature, Native American studies, gender and sexuality studies, multi-ethnic literatures
Scott Balcerzak English

sbalcerzak@niu.edu 
815-753-6642

Film and literature; feminst and queer theory; sexuality and popular culture; gender and performance; the history of sexuality; and digital studies.
Sinclair Bell Art History

Sinclair.bell@niu.edu
815-753-1473

Etruscan and Roman material culture and art, especially its social history; Renaissance reception and contemporary theorization; gender and ancient art.
Alexandra Bennett English

abennet1@niu.edu
815-753-6639

16th and 17th century drama; writings of and about early modern women; Shakespeare; modern theater and drama by women.
Kate Cady Communication

kcady@niu.edu
815-753-7011

Public representations of working women, postindustrial economics, and feminism in the late 20th century U.S.; contemporary rhetorical theory and criticism; cultural studies.
Adam Carter Counseling and Higher Education

adamcarter@niu.edu
815-753-8045

Preschool grief reactions, using play therapy with diverse populations, LGBTQ issues in counseling and clinical supervision, trauma-informed counseling, multicultural counseling
Bill Cassidy Communication

bcassidy@niu.edu 

Media sociology, online journalism, sports journalism, coverage of gay and lesbian athletes
Randy Caspersen Communication

rcaspersen@niu.edu
815-753-7104

Film and video work with gay sensibilities; media studies; film, television and video production; screenwriting.
Cassandra Crawford Sociology

ccrawford@niu.edu
815-753-1657

The modernization of amputation; historical (psychological and medical) and contemporary (biomedical) constructions of phantom limb syndrome; prosthetic technologies; the sociology of pain; contemporary theories of embodiment; qualitative research methods; gender/women’s/feminist/masculinities studies; and critical race studies.
Suzanne E. Degges-White Counseling and Higher Education (Chair)

sdeggeswhite@niu.edu
815-753-1448

Women's development throughout the lifespan; women's wellness; ways women deal with life transitions and aging.
Chris Einolf Sociology

ceinolf@niu.edu
815-753-4410

Alicia Finch Philosophy

afinch@niu.edu 

Metaphysics, Ancient Greek Philosophy, Philosophy of Religion, Feminist Philosophy
Aaron Spencer Fogleman History

aaronfogleman@niu.edu
815-753-6824

The Atlantic World, 1492-1860's; French Swiss and German couple traveling from Europe to the Americas from the 1720's to the 1770's.
Reva Freedman Computer Science

rfreedman@niu.edu
815-753-6944

AI and computational linguistics, including discourse and dialogue planning; shallow (but not superficial) text generation; mixed-initiative and multi-modal systems; knowledge representation for tutoring and causal reasoning; declarative formalisms; dialogue annotation and analysis; and Linguistics, including romance and semitic linguistics.
Courtney Gallaher Center for the Study of Women, Gender and Sexuality/Geography

cgallaher@niu.edu
815-753-0631

Food security; crop and soil science; urban agriculture; environmental risks.
Valerie Garver History

vgarver@niu.edu
815-753-6823

Cultural, social and religious history of the Carolingian Empire, particularly the history of women, family, gender and material culture.
LaVerne Gyant Counseling and Higher Education

lgyant@niu.edu
815-753-7608

African American women in business and hospitality industry; development as sisters; adult participation in and contributions to adult education.
Rebecca Houze Art and Design

rhouze@niu.edu 
815-753-1473

Women artists and designers, Central European women designers in the late nineteenth and twentieth centuries, feminist art and design criticism.
Rebecca Hunt Educational Technology, Research and Assessment

rhunt@niu.edu
815-753-9021

Diversity in technology; diversity in teaching; educational technology; library science.
Trude Jacobsen History

tjacobsen1@niu.edu

Women, gender, and sexuality in contemporary and historical South and Southeast Asia; gender-based violence and violence against women and girls in global public health.
Katy Jaekel Counseling and Higher Education

kjaekel@niu.edu
815-753-0788

First-year student experience, LGBTQ students experience in the classroom, and novice postsecondary educators’ preparation, training, and development.
Joanna Kot Foreign Languages and Literatures (Russian)

jkot@niu.edu
815-753-6460

Experimental modernist drama, early 20th -century feminist drama, and theories of modernity.
Melissa Lenczewski Environmental Studies (Director), Geology

lenczewski@niu.edu
815-753-7937

Biodegration and sorption of MTBE and Ethanol in fine-grain materials from northern Illinois and Mexico; Lacustrine clays from Chalco Basin, Mexico; vegetation and microbial community changes from Maquis to Rainforest, New Caledonia; spatial distribution microorganism associated with biodgreadtion of TCE; microbial ecology of prairie grass soils.
Amanda Littauer Center for the Study of Women, Gender and Sexuality/History

alittauer@niu.edu
815-753-8049

Women, girls and non-marital sexuality between 1941-1962.
Lichuan Liu Electrical Engineering

liu@niu.edu
815-753-9937

Wireless communications, wireless sensor networks, and inter-vehicle.
Margo Milano Family and Child Studies

msutorius@niu.edu
815-753-1543

Beth Miller Family and Child Studies

jem@niu.edu
815-753-6339

Feminist teaching; work and family issues; faculty development.
Nina Mounts Psychology

nmounts@niu.edu
815-753-6968

Children’s social development from childhood through adolescence; parent-child and peer relationships; peer influence processes during adolescence.
Helen Nagata Art History

hnagata@niu.edu
815-753-7863

Japanese art, including images of women, female visual artists and authors, and the world of pleasure quarters as depicted (or not) in Edo-period woodblock prints and paintings.
Brad Peters English

bpeters@niu.edu
815-753-6601

Writing across curriculum; writing program administration; history of rhetoric; medieval English mystics.
Jessica Reyman English

jreyman@niu.edu

Digital rhetoric, media, and culture; online aggression; feminist rhetorical studies
Robert Ridinger University Libraries

rridinger@niu.edu
815-753-1367

Retrieval of local gay and lesbian history; the growth and development of the leather/levi subculture; uses of language made as part of the LGBT movement.
Linda Saborio Foreign Languages and Literature (Spanish)

lsaborio@niu.edu
815-753-6465

Latina/o and Mexican theater, culture studies, film, and performance studies; Latina/o and Mexican transborder plays and the performance of race in works by playwrights like Milcha Sanchez-Scott, Rascon Banda, Cherrie Moraga, and Coco Fusco; and theater by Elena Garro, Sabina Berman, and Lisa Loomer as well as some earlier works by Mexican playwrights.
Brad Sagarin Psychology bsagarin@niu.edu Attitude change; resistance to persuasion; deception, jealousy, and infidelity; evolutionary psychology; human sexuality; statistical approaches to missing data and non-compliance.
Brian Sandberg History/CLAS Associate Dean for Research

bsandberg@niu.edu
815-753-6813

Intersections of religion, violence, and political culture in early modern history, especially during the European wars of religion; religious violence, gender, and noble culture during the French Wars of Religion.
Kryssi Staikidis Art Education

kstaididis@niu.edu
815-753-8388

Indigenous pedagogy; art studio practice as a site for research; and visual culture/critical pedagogy in the classroom.
Sharon Sytsma Philosophy

ssytsma@niu.edu
815-753-6411

Ethical theory (especially Kant's ethics and theories of moral motivation); biomedical ethics; intersexuality.
Tharaphi Than Foreign Languages and Literatures (Burmese)

tthan@niu.edu
815-753-6453

Women of Burma and Southeast Asia, print media and migration.
Laura Vazquez Communication

lvazquez@niu.edu
815-753-7132

Gender and media; documentary video production; autobiographical film and video; web design.
Carol Walther Sociology

cwalther@niu.edu
815-753-6428

The influence of the state upon how people interact with governmental forms; the influence of religion on settlement patterns of same-gender couples.
Corrine Wickens Literacy Education

cwickens@niu.edu
815-753-8556

Intersections of sexuality and schooling, adolescent literacy, and young adult literature.
Kerith Woodyard Communication

kwoodyard@niu.edu
815-753-7101

Rhetorical Theory and Criticism; Women's Rhetorical History.

Retired and Emeritus Associates

Name Department
Georgia Brown Computer Science
Janet Hathaway Music
Amy Levin English
Diana Swanson English

Contact Us

Center for the Study of Women, Gender and Sexuality
Reavis Hall, Room 103
DeKalb, IL 60115
wgs@niu.edu
815-753-1038

Follow Us


      

Membership

National Women's Studies Association