

The First Circle





Pat Metheny and Lyle Mays

Arr. Bob Curnow

Ensemble Recital Series NIU JAZZ ENSEMBLE

Rodrigo Villanueva, director

Tuesday, April 23, 2024 7:00 PM Boutell Memorial Concert Hall

PROGRAM

Driftin' Herbie Hancock Arr. Mike Conrad **On Green Dolphin Street** Ned Washington and Bronislau Kaper Arr. Michaele Abene Aha! **Bob Mintzer** Airegin Sonny Rollins Arr. Bill Holman **Memphis Blues** W.C. Handy Arr. Duke Ellington and Billy Strayhorn Cedar Walton Mosaic Arr. Don Sicler







PERSONNEL

SAXOPHONES

Mikayla Chin: alto and soprano saxophones

Jared Schultz: alto saxophone

Jack Watson: tenor saxophone

Ryan Bills: tenor saxophone

Louis Wahlgren: bari saxophone

TRUMPETS

Andrew Clark: lead trumpet Jaron Holder: second trumpet Miles Macklin: third trumpet Jazzmyn Bell: fourth trumpet

TROMBONES

Aiden Ledbetter: lead trombone Sean Hamilton: second trombone

Zaire Burks: third trombone

Rosemary McClure: bass trombone

RHYTHM SECTION

Juan López: guitar

Owen Garcia: vibraphone

Malcom Lile: acoustic and electric basses

Colin Dorion: drums

Greg Beyer: director of percussion studies,

guest percussionist