2018-19 Committees of the University

Campus Security and Environmental Quality Committee
(Bylaws, Article 17.3)

Membership of Campus Security & Environmental Quality Committee

17.3 Campus Security and Environmental Quality Committee

17.3.1 Composition The committee shall have the following members:

(A) The executive vice president and provost; the vice president for administration and finance; the associate vice president for student affairs; and the vice president for enrollment management, marketing and communications, or their designees;

The chair of the Faculty Senate-University Council Committee on Resources, Space, and Budgets; the associate vice president of facilities planning and operations; the chief of police; the director of parking services; the director of environmental health and safety; and the campus planning coordinator, or their designees;

Two faculty appointed to serve two-year staggered terms by the Faculty Senate from nominees submitted by the college councils, the Library Council, and the faculty of the College of Law; two operating staff appointed to serve two-year staggered terms by the Operating Staff Council; and two Supportive Professional Staff appointed to serve two-year staggered terms by the Supportive Professional Staff Council;

Four students appointed to serve one-year terms, including one resident undergraduate student, selected by the Residence Hall Association; one graduate student, selected by the Graduate Council; one Greek Community student selected by the president of the Student Association; and one commuting student, selected by the president of the Student Association;

A representative of the City of DeKalb, appointed by the City Manager. 

17.3.2 Duties The Campus Security and Environmental Quality Committee shall meet on a regular basis and shall advise the president, or his/her designee, on matters involving the security (including personal and property security) of the university community and protecting and enhancing the interior and exterior quality and security of the campus environment. Membership on the committee shall assure broad and balanced representation of the university community and it geographic regions (e.g., Greek row, residence halls, parking areas, classrooms). The chair of the committee shall be appointed by the president from its membership.

Campus Security and Environmental Quality Committee

The CSEQC meets on the third Wednesday of the month, 10:30-11:30 a.m., Lowden Hall 304.

Executive Vice President and Provost or designee
Tim Condon
Vice President for Administration and Finance or designee
John Heckmann
Associate Vice President for Student Affairs or designee
Genesis Rue
Vice President for Enrollment Management, Marketing and Communications or designee
Jennice O'Brien
Chair of FS-UC Committee on Resources, Space & Budgets or designee
Fall-Hamid Bateni
Spring-Jim Millhorn
Associate Vice President of Facilities Planning and Operations or designee
John Heckmann
Chief of Police or designee
*Sgt. Alan Smith
Director of Parking Services or designee
Sue Bidstrup
Director of Environmental Health and Safety or designee
Dave Scharenberg
Campus Planning Coordinator or designee
James Murphy
Faculty member (by FACULTY SENATE)
Abbey Thompson
Vicki Collins Vicki Collins
Faculty member (by FACULTY SENATE)
Laura Beamer
Laura Beamer
SPS representative
David Dosier
SPS representative
Melanie Costello
Melanie Costello
OS representative
OS representative
Carlos Raices for Liberty-Baczek
Resident Undergraduate Student (by Residence Hall Association)
Graduate Student (by Graduate Council)
Raymond Jenkins
Commuting student (by Student Association)
Stephanie Torres
Greek Community student representative (by Student Association)
Ben McCarty
City of DeKalb representative (by City Manager)
Deputy Police Chief John Petragallo

* Chair