2018-19 Committees of the University

Athletic Board

(Bylaws, Article 17.1)

Membership of Athletic Board

17.1 Athletic Board

17.1.1 Composition The Athletic Board is directly responsible to the president of the university. It shall consist of the following members: 

One faculty member from the College of Law to be selected by the faculty of that college and one faculty member from each of the other degree-granting colleges selected by the respective college councils; 

One member of the University Library faculty selected by that faculty; 

Two students selected by the Student Association with two colleges represented; 

Two student athletes, when possible from a female and male team, selected by the Student Athlete Advisory Council (SAAC); 

One member of the Alumni Association selected by the Alumni Association; 

One member of the operating staff selected by the Operating Staff Council; 

One member of the supportive professional staff selected by the Supportive Professional Staff Council; 

One nonvoting member from the Huskie Athletic Fund selected by the Huskie Athletic Fund.

In addition, the associate vice president/director of athletics and the university general counsel shall be ex officio, nonvoting members. 

With the exception of student representatives, members shall serve three-year staggered terms. Student members shall be appointed annually, although they may be replaced midsemester if class conflicts occur. All members shall be eligible for reappointment.

The Faculty Athletics Representative shall serve as the chair of the Athletic Board, ex officio, voting.

Administration and/or faculty members shall constitute at least a majority of the board.

17.1.2 Duties The board shall assume responsibility for directing the policies through which intercollegiate athletics, both men's and women's programs, shall function as a university activity. In performing this responsibility, the board shall develop and implement procedures for the periodic review of athletic programs in terms of their quality and their consistency with the institution's academic mission. The board shall assure equity between men's and women's intercollegiate athletic programs. The areas in which the board provides oversight are related to diversity/inclusion, finance/facilities, staff/student services, and external affairs. The specific responsibilities of the board are articulated in the board's policies and procedures manual. Minutes shall be kept of all board meetings. The board shall distribute minutes and reports to University Council members. Substantive changes in policy shall be submitted to the University Council for approval. Approved minutes shall be deposited in the university archives. 

17.1.3 Executive Committee The Athletic Board shall appoint an executive committee comprised of the chair, liaisons to the working groups, and such other persons as the board shall determine. The executive committee shall be chaired by the chair of the board. The committee shall advise the chair between meetings of the board, develop the agenda for board meetings, serve as an advisory body to the intercollegiate athletic department, and perform such other duties as may be assigned to it by the board.

Athletic Board

The AB meets typically on the third Wednesday of the month at 1 p.m.

MEMBERSHIP 2017-2018 2018-2019 2019-2020 2020-2021
Faculty Athletics Representative/Athletic Board Chair *Mark Groza              
Business Brian McCormick for Groza Brian McCormick for Groza
Education Sarah Johnston-Rodriguez Erick Pinter Erika Pinter Erika Pinter
Engineering & Engineering Technology Joe Bittorf Joe Bittorf Joe Bittorf Joe Bittorf
Health and Human Sciences Josephine Umoren Josephine Umoren
Law Yolanda King Michael Oswalt for King
Liberal Arts & Sciences Bill Cassidy Mike Konen Mike Konen Mike Konen
University Libraries  Mary Burns Abbey Thompson Abbey Thompson Abbey Thompson
Visual & Performing Arts Thomas Bough Thomas Bough Thomas Bough
Student Athlete (from a male team if possible) Quinton Rosser              
Student Athlete (from a female team if possible) Aubrie Purtell              
Alumni Association Pete Garrity  
^ Huskie Athletic Fund Glenn Roby
Operating Staff Vicky Nay Vicky Nay Vicky Nay
Supportive Professional Staff Jeffrey Salmon for Napientek  
+ Associate Vice President/Director of Athletics Sean Frazier Sean Frazier              
+ University General Counsel or designee Laura Sala              
SA Student Aurora Walker              
SA Student Devin Halicki

* chair, ex officio, voting
+ ex officio, nonvoting
^ nonvoting