2013-14 Committees of the University

Chemical Safety Committee

Membership of Chemical Safety Committee

The Chemical Safety Committee is charged with fostering a culture of chemical safety on campus and striving to meet federal and state standards regarding the use, storage, and disposal of chemicals in academic settings for academic purposes.

A.  The Chemical Safety Committee shall consist of 12 members: 8 representing departments or academic units possessing facilities that store or utilize hazardous chemicals to the extent that a chemical hygiene plan is required, 1 representing the chemical hygiene officers (CHO), the director of Environmental Health and Safety (ex officio), the associate dean of research from one of the colleges with a CHO (ex officio), and the associate vice president for research (ex officio). Departmental and CHO representatives are recommended by the relevant department/unit, with approval from the college or appropriate administrative office, to the vice president for research and innovation partnerships, who is responsible for appointing or removing the committee members. The chair is the associate vice president for research. The committee is directly responsible to the vice president for research and innovation partnerships. Length of terms of committee members is 3 years (renewable) for non-specified members.

B.  Duties and resopnsibilities of the committee are:

1.  Develop and promulgate policies and procedures regarding chemical safety and chemical safety training within the university;

2.  Outline and keep current the duties of the chemical hygiene officers within each of the academic units that store or utilize hazardous chemicals to the extent that a chemical hygiene plan is required;

3.  Work to ensure that state and federal requirements and standards are met regarding chemical usage and storage, as appropriate, using OSHA standards as a guideline.

4.  Review annual reports from the chemical hygiene officers or other individuals with delegated responsibilities for health and safety practices of the university involving chemicals. These reports will include, but are not limited to, Standard Operating Procedures, Appropriate Use of PPE, Chemical Hygiene Plans, and personnel safety training logs.

5.  Investigate accidents and alleged infractions of safety rules or improper use of chemicals brought to its attention and recommend remedial action to the vice president for research and innovation partnerships.

Chemical Safety Committee

The CPC meets three times per semester; additional meetings are scheduled as necessary.

MEMBERSHIP 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015 2015-2016
Geography David Goldblum David Goldblum David Goldblum
Biological Sciences Sherine Elsawa Sherine Elsawa Sherine Elsawa
Chemistry and Biochemistry Jim Horn Jim Horn Jim Horn
Physics Omar Chmaissem Omar Chmaissem Omar Chmaissem
Art Lee Sido Lee Sido Lee Sido
Medical Laboratory Sciences Ellen Olsen Ellen Olsen Ellen Olsen
College of Engineering & Engineering Technology Gregg Westberg Gregg Westberg Gregg Westberg


CHO Representative (CLAS) Andy Small Andy Small Andy Small
Director of Environmental Health & Safety (ex officio) Scott Mooberry
Associate Dean of Research
(ex officio)
Lesley Rigg
Associate Vice President for Research (ex officio, chair) David Stone