Chapter Award Winners

The Society recognizes those chapters whose efforts and achievements have conferred distinction upon themselves and Sigma Tau Delta. The winners for many of the awards are announed each year at the Sigma Tau Delta International Convention.


Elaine W. Hughes Outstanding Sponsor Award
Outstanding Regional Sponsor Awards
Outstanding Chapter Awards
Outstanding Literary Arts Journal Awards
Project Grants

2013-2014 Winners

Elaine W. Hughes Outstanding Sponsor Award (plaque and $500)

AmiJo Comeford
Dixie State University (FW)
Alpha Pi Epsilon Chapter

Outstanding Regional Sponsor Awards (plaque)

Danielle Glassmeyer
Bradley University (MW)
Beta Lambda Chapter

Outstanding Chapter Awards ($500 each + $350/travel)

The College of New Jersey (E)
Alpha Epsilon Alpha Chapter

University of North Carolina, Wilmington (S)
Alpha Alpha Upsilon Chapter

Outstanding Literary Arts Journal Awards

Harbinger - Stephens CollegeFirst Place ($500)
Stephens College (MW)
Alpha Epsilon Eta Chapter



What Oft Was Thought - Barry UniversitySecond Place ($400)
Barry University (S)
Alpha Alpha Xi Chapter
What Oft Was Thought




Tobeco - Clarion UniversityThird Place ($350)
Clarion University (E)
Rho Iota Chapter



Shale - University of KentuckyHonorable Mention ($100)
University of Kentucky (S)
Delta Epsilon Upsilon Chapter



Project Grants (up to $500 each)

Illinois State University (MW)
Lambda Delta Chapter
"English Studies at Large Conference"

Shippensburg University (E)
Phi Psi Chapter
"AuthorShip! Writing Contest"

University of Louisiana-Monroe (S)
Beta Zeta Chapter
"Writing Contest for Local High Schools"